We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable,chic and safe”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable,chic and safe”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Spent six nights here with my sister. We booked a balcony room but where given one over the street and by the elevator. We asked to move immediately and they accommodated us in another room but no balcony. Truth is we would not have spent time on the balcony anyway so big deal.

The location is perfect - right in the quarter but quiet. Great desk staff and secure elevator access to the rooms. The hotel decor is very nice, bright and chic. The rooms were comfortable and clean.

Only two things that could have been better would be a choice of pillows. Too firm for my taste...and the shutters allowed more light in than a black out curtain would. Again, no big deal but when you wander the quarter until all hours, you may want to sleep in.

Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CabanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,110
    814
    162
    35
    31
See reviews for
522
1,580
97
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed here three nights in January because I had a conference in town. I chose the hotel based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews - it did not disappoint! Upon checking in, we received two drink coupons for the bar, which was very chic and had some unique cocktail choices (the snack mix they give you is also fantastic!). Our room was spacious and comfortable. We especially liked the free internet and breakfast. The breakfast consisted of both hot and cold items and was more than filling. We also used the gym during our stay and found it to be nice and well equipped.

Probably the biggest perk of the hotel was the awesome location right off of Bourbon St. Since it was just off Bourbon St., you could not hear all the outside noise, however, it was also right there so that we could walk to everything. We felt very safe and were impressed by how there were always multiple people working at the front desk and paying attention to exactly who was coming in/out of the hotel.

I honestly have nothing bad to say about this hotel. I would definitely recommend and would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosa beach, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is a little secret and a big gem in the French Quarter.

Great staff, clean rooms and wonderful location but a little pricey.

The ginger cookies are a nice little treat. As is the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mylesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its fab location slap bang in the heart if New Orleans. First impressions were not great as although the hotel looked lovely, the welcome by the reception staff was very poor, a smile and some polite chit chat wouldn't have gone amiss.
Our room was stylish, clean and comfortable.
The hotel bar had a great range of drinks, especially their cocktails but was lacking atmosphere to spend much time there. We enjoyed spending time sitting outside at the pool area which is stunning!
Overall, lovely hotel in great location, let down somewhat by a lacklustre staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the0thermrsgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Location is everything, but it comes with "cool" from the moment you enter. Easy going, helpful, fun staff. Look out for JT. Kick back in the bar, or in the courtyard by the sea water pool, with whatever drink you desire. Enjoy being in the "Big Easy" at a place which gives that little bit extra.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but our preference is a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel Le Marais is a very nice hotel with a great location. We had a King room overlooking the courtyard and it was beautiful. Very quiet room. The location is really good 1/2 block off Bourbon Street on Conti. The staff was very friendly and helpful at arranging tours. There is a great resturant right next door called Oceania..really good food. We will stay here again next time in NOLA!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

-Cons: valet parking is a little confusing and a bit pricey for the headache/a little noisy at times in the Street side (Conti) rooms.
-Pros: Our truck was safe and secure/patio rooms were very quiet considering what was behind us! (We stayed in rooms on both sides)
-Staff: bellhops were more than helpful, front desk staff all had great attitudes. There was a very cute curly brunette bartender who made an amazing bloody mary.
-Rooms: rooms were extremely clean, remodeled and very cool. A bit small for some people but know that you are in the french quarter!
-all around: hotel was great. After staying in many hotels in New Orleans, We will only be staying in this one from now on! Pool/patio was great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st_Jeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the world and the TripAdvisor community. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our lovely brick floored courtyard with heated salt water pool and our clean rooms. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We continue to work on our world class service and we are delighted that our staff has met your expectations, particularly our bellman, agents at the front desk, and Olga (our great bartender). We do hope that you choose Hotel le marais again when you make your way down to New Orleans. Once again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,298 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,540 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,688 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,099 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing