We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth it”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We came for the last Saturday of Marti Gras. I booked the room a few weeks in advance and the price was steep through a booking engine, but when we checked in, the clerk gave me a GOV rate (as I am military) without any question. She also moved us to a bigger room so that my 3rd party would be included in the amenities with a wrist band as well. It was a nice gesture and getting a better rate made my day much more satisfying. The staff was kind and helpful, definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    804
    157
    35
    30
See reviews for
501
1,558
97
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

From arrival to departure, our experience with the hotel was outstanding. The look of the hotel is modern, and even though the rooms aren't huge (but good sized for a city hotel), they were very nicely appointed. The breakfast was better-that-average with bacon and eggs each morning as well as bagels, pastries, and fresh fruit. The vibe of the hotel is modern and chic, but not in an over-the-top way. We were there over Mardi Gras, and with the hotel just steps from Bourbon St, we were concerned about the noise level. We had a courtyard-facing room and didn't hear a sound. Nothing. Despite a deafening roar just a block away.
If there was a negative, it was the valet service. The front desk never could seem to raise them on their static-y radios and each time we needed the car, it took several phone calls and long waits to get it.
Otherwise, the staff was superior. Always smiling, energetic and asking about how our stay was going. A special shout out to Jamie at the front desk. A hospitality student working her first hotel job, she's an outstanding ambassador for the hotel and any hotel would be lucky to have her. She has a long and successful career ahead if she sticks with it. Great hire, guys! Kudos also to Elbert at the front desk, who also went out of his way to be friendly and accommodating. We'll be back to NOLA and when we do, we know where we'll stay.

Room Tip: If noise is a concern, be sure to get an interior-facing room. It overlooks a small courtyard and ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans and for taking the time to share your experience with the world through TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our enhanced complimentary continental breakfast, the proximity of our hotel to all the attractions, and your courtyard side room. Thank you very much for recognizing our Front Desk agents, Elbert and Jamie, who are great assets to our team. I would also like to thank you for letting us know your concern regarding our valet service, we take all guest feedback very seriously and we will definitely look into this to better our service. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
d when we do, we know where we'll stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean, spacious rooms and great breakfast buffet. Safe in room and free wifi works like a charm. All apps VoIP, VPN, FaceTime etc. worked. Friendly staff.
Very strict access control keeps non guests out.
Nice but small pool and shielded garden place where you can enjoy breakfast or a drink. At the back room 515, was noise proof even at Mardi Gras.
Will come back here!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Burt144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston mass
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights just before Mardi Gras. The location is great, and while right in the French Quarter, my room anyway, was well away from the street and so there was no noise problem. The bar is nice, the included breakfast was great, and theres a nice enclosed outdoor patio with a small pool. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pitosalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel le marais are truly appreciated. You are right, our hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter and just a few steps from the world famous Bourbon St. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our enhanced complimentary continental breakfast, lovely brick-floored courtyard with heated salt-water pool, and our bar, Vive! We are looking forward to your next stay with us and thank you for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Typically the hotels within the French Quarter are small and many times, a bit aged but full of charm. This hotel is modern and in the middle of the busy part of the French Quarter, nestled in between Bourbon and Royal Streets. The rates are very reasonable and the location is really ideal, especially for someone who has never been there. I will stay there again, for sure. Staff was friendly and very helpful in terms of recommendations or directions. Very European flavor to this place with just enough space to be comfortable. Nice bar right off of the lobby with breakfast served every morning, included with your stay. I was there for business but I will stay there for leisure too.

Room Tip: If you need your sleep, you need to get a room that does not face Conti Street. It can get loud at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This small boutique Hotel Le Marais has a wonderfully attentive staff, a great location and a salt water heated pool outside in a beautiful courtyard. We would love to come back! Perfect for couples or families wanting to stroll around in the French Quarter or take trips from here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ksfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel le marais with the world and our TripAdvisor community. It is great to hear that our staff was very attentive to all your needs during your stay with us. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our lovely brick-floored courtyard with heated salt-water pool. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed only one night, post-cruise but enjoyed it very much! Despite a close proximity to Bourbon, the public spaces, pool and room were all quiet retreats. The heated pool was wonderful-closer to a large hot tub.
We wandered across the street into Exchange Alley and discovered Vena, an artist with a great gallery, and Bevolo gas lamp with craftsmen at work. Both were welcoming and shared so much with us about their works. Pay them a visit!
Two negatives to report:
1) We arrived at 11am and were told that due to high turnover we would not get our room until 3pm. The room wasn't actually ready until 4:30pm, but the front desk staff gave us two extra free drinks on top of the two they already provide. Happy with that accommodation!
2) The hotel is right around the corner from Bourbon St, but on the seedier end. If you are traveling as a family, keep to Royal or walk the long way around the back side of the block to get to Bourbon and then head right.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,038 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing