We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in the French Quarter!”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in the French Quarter!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This property wowed me immediately. Coming from Florida, I was instantly struck by how upscale South Beach it is and very beautiful and well-maintained. It is literally this gorgeous property in the heart of the French Quarter with breathtaking rooms and the softest bed I have ever slept in along with the most gorgeous HDTV you can find these days. The lobby has a very modern Alice In Wonderland feel to it and it is very welcoming and beautiful. We even extended our stay because we were so impressed by the quality of this hotel and the proximity to all the fun to be had in New Orleans. The complimentary breakfast was large and impressive and included bacon, sausage, muffins, breads, cereals, eggs, and everything you want to start a nice day. They have PPV in the rooms with very new movies which we used at the end of a long day and I appreciated. The one and only drawback is the daily $34 valet parking which did include in and out privileges but we ended up just paying $40 a day and leaving our car there in the garage across the street because everything is in walking distance and it was very safe and well monitored. I did expect to pay for parking in New Orleans just due to the city's nature but it seemed like alot. The hotel experience did make up for it however because it was just that fantastic.

Room Tip: The high floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your great review about your recent stay at the Hotel le marais. We are extremely grateful that you have chosen our hotel out of 149 other choices in New Orleans. It is great to hear that we made a great first impression upon your arrival. It is very important to us to keep our hotel well maintained and clean. Your flattering words regarding our beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and television means a lot to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful and welcoming lobby as well. We also appreciate your decision to extend your stay with us to further enjoy our hotel and the city of New Orleans. We are definitely glad to learn that you got to enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast, which includes a wide variety of food options, and our in room movie system. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel le marais. We are looking forward to serving you again on your next trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    825
    164
    37
    33
See reviews for
539
1,600
98
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived a little early but they already had a room for us ready which was greatly appreciated as we were visiting about 9 hours away so we were really looking for a nice nap before exploring the city. We ordered a couple of complimentary drinks at the bar later in the day and the bartender was excellent! Super friendly and her drinks were really good as well. She's a really nice asset to the hotel staff. Too bad I don't recall her name to give her the praise. Something that really stood out to me that you don't get at really any other hotel was the next morning from the time we left the room to go downstairs to get some breakfast, EVERY hotel staff member greeted us with a good morning. The room is really nice, and a very spacious bed and comfy too! One thing I did not like whatsoever was the shower. My biggest per peeve is a wet bathroom floor but because the shower has no door or curtain you can't help but get water on the floor and even when you put towels on the floor they're soaked because of this. The bathroom is really tiny so I get why it's designed this way but I personally just cannot stand wet floors in the bathroom. One more complaint i have was the elevator and the way the morning front desk guy handled it. the elevator shut the door on the boyfriend. The bag was stuck in the door and it started going down. now elevators break here and there of course but when i told the front desk guy who was checking us out, he didnt apologize and told some other guy to check out the elevator and that guy was asking exactly what happened and seemed alot more concerned about this than the first guy. now again, these things happen but what if it would have been a child who got stuck in this door that shut super fast even when you were holding it open and pushing the door open button? the child could have been injured. we were lucky that nothing happened but the front desk guy should have showed a little more compassion. but this is nothing that would make me reconsider my stay, maybe we'll take the stairs next time :P I would definitely stay again if I'm ever in New Orleans. The location is amazing you can't get better than that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley900812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel in the French Quarter during our trip to New Orleans for the Final Four (collegiate basketball tournament) this year. It was very well situated and had a lovely, inner courtyard pool. There was ample,comfortable seating in the courtyard but two negatives, parents who don't monitor their children, letting them crawl all over and jump around on the over-stuffed outdoor furniture and smokers in the courtyard area (mostly talking loudly on phones).

Our room was more than adequate, with a comfortable bed and seating around the room. The bathroom was a small with little to no waist level counter space which meant storing items under the table holding the sink. Water pressure was good and there was never any shortage of comfortable water for showering. We always go green when we stay more than a night so I can't talk about the room servicing but I can tell you there is only one elevator in the hotel and the laundry must be on the second or third floor because during the day the elevator is consumed by employees w/ big plastic bags of laundry stuffed into the elevator. This tends to tie up the arrival of the elevator when you are trying to get up-stairs to your room quickly and since we were there for five days it became tiresome.

The property is in a prime locale, with easy access to all of the French Quarter. It was pretty clean, had an appropriately stocked bar w/ nice variety and a friendly bar keeper. We would go back for another stay if the ocassion arises.

Room Tip: Request courtyard window or non-street window for more serene evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything about the La Marais is lovely. The service was outstanding, the rooms so fresh and clean and very comfortable. Bed was luxurious and the shower had perfect temp and pressure. The pool was refreshing. Check in and check out, a breeze. Breakfast had many delicious options, the coffee is wonderful. Walking is easy to most points of interest. Even with Bourbon Street steps away, the hotel is quiet and cool. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms over courtyard are quiet. Ask for room away from elevator and ice machine. Rooms overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugaree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Wow! It has been a delight to read such a wonderful review for Hotel le marais which is located right in the heart of the French Quarter. We deeply appreciate your lovely words about our outstanding service, very comfortable and clean rooms, luxurious beds, and the convenience of checking and checkout process. Our pool provides a refreshing atmosphere after a long day of visiting the great attractions in new orleans. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel le marais and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice boutique hotel situated off of Bourbon. Hip, modern design and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi, continental breakfast & complimentary cocktails at check-in. Valet parking slightly problematic BUT still ok.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Hotel le marais. We appreciate your kind words regarding the design of the hotel and our comfortable beds. You are right; we do offer free Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast and welcome drinks at VIVE! However, we do like to apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding out valet service. We would definitely like to serve you again in the future. Once again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I am so glad I booked this hotel for our first trip to New Orleans. It was perfect for our special getaway without the kids! The courtyard is beautiful and a very serene spot in the heart of all the action. The bar is pretty cool too and the drinks are good. I ordered a Vodka Gimlet (yes, I know it's an old drink!) It was perfect--not too much lime and just the right amount of vodka.

Like others have said, it's location is perfect--just steps off Bourbon. I was worried about the noise, but our room was VERY quiet. We were on the second floor, facing the courtyard and a good bit away from the elevator.

The decor is also really nice to look at. My only "complaint" is that we were only there for one night. I'm ready to go back and I know where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for your great review about the Hotel le marais. We are definitely glad to hear that you stayed with us during your first visit to the Big Easy. You are right about how our courtyard is a serene spot amid the action of the French Quarter. Also, the location of the Hotel le marais is a very short distance from Bourbon St. It is nice that you got to enjoy VIVE! bar with a perfect drink, Vodka Gimlet. We are very appreciative of your kind words regarding our hotels decor. Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hotel le marais. We are looking forward to your visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife was very taken with the decor of the entire facility and also the room and bathroom. Probably the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at. It had been recommended by a friend. Service was excellent. We enjoyed afternoon cocktails at the pleasant bar and courtyard with pool. The morning continental breakfast included a changing variety daily from egg preparation to most other breakfast choices. Overall, Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handyman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel le marais. We are very pleased to hear that you like the decor of the hotel. We work very hard to make sure that the hotel is kept very clean for our guests. We appreciate your kind words about our excellent service, pleasant bar, and courtyard with heated saltwater pool. It is great to learn that you enjoyed the selection we provide for our complimentary continental breakfast. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you in the future together with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,620 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,289 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing