We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the Quarter”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in the Quarter”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Friends and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nites in various rooms. The hotel/front desk was very accomodating in extending our stay and changing rooms for us as we were a bit disorganized. We had originally reserved a 4th floor room with a balcony that turned out to be unavailable but overall, that did not put a damper on our experience. I would recommend springing for the largest possible room. The hotel property and rooms are extremely clean and well maintained, with comfortable beds, a great breakfast and of course, location, location, location. Kudos to Jamal and great bartenders Megan and JT and everyone who helped make our stay thoroughly enjoyable. Hopefully our next trip the weather will permit us to make more use of the lovely courtyard and pool area.

Room Tip: Get the largest room you can afford as they run small and on the third flook, 315 and 316 are the ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    789
    154
    34
    28
See reviews for
481
1,530
94
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Le Marais for 5 nights including the last two nights of Mardi Gras. The hotel is in a very good location on Conti very close to Bourbon Street but noise was not a problem. The rooms are clean and tidy but quite small. We were able to walk to the Mississippi River, Frenchmans street for the jazz and to the farmers market so location is a major selling point. Breakfast provided is simple but adequate however front desk service was abysmal. As an example, we left a wet pair of trousers at the front desk to be laundered and was told we could pick it up the next day. When we went to collect it, they had no idea where it was. We went back two days later, only to hear that it had been sitting for two days on the floor behind a bench. And not even an apology. I certainly would not let one incident taint my view but given the price paid for the accommodation and several other examples of poor service, the family felt that a poor review was appropriate despite being one of the few I have ever written.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise, choose a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_J_S_MELBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Hotel le marais and sharing your most recent experience. We are very sorry that we weren't able to provide you with the quality of service we strive to provide our guests at all times and we would like to apologize for not meeting your needs. Your comments have been shared with all the team and we have fixed this particular problem and I assure you that if you give Hotel le marais another chance, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all the location was perfect if you want to be in the center of all the action!! We had outside room that was very small, however very clean. Noise on the outside was minimal, but noise on the inside was loud!! Doors slamming, drunk girls coming in the middle of the night sounded like they were in your room! Beds were comfy, bathroom ok, no problems with the shower. The bar staff were friendly. The front desk staff was helpful and Jamal the Bell man was great and a history buff! I think the whole stay was a bit pricey for what you get!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryanandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
There is nothing better than to spend your first visit in New Orleans in the heart of the French Quarter as it is Hotel le marais where you are close to many great restaurants and many festivities that you can be part of and enjoy by just walking a few steps. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and other amenities that our hotel had to offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we can't wait to have a chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February 2013. We were lucky enough to get one of the 4 rooms on the 2nd floor with a balcony looking into the courtyard (Note- these are only available on the 2nd and 4th floors). This was very nice, as the rooms are so tiny that you may get a little claustrophobic, so opening the French doors to the balcony made the rooms seem and feel airier.

I arrived at 11 pm on a Sunday night after a long day filled with flight delays and missed connections (I was supposed to arrive at 3:30 pm). The girl working the front desk was extremely unhelpful. The airlines had lost my luggage and I needed to find somewhere (anywhere!) where I could buy a toothbrush and other necessities. She informed me that I'd have to cab 15 to 20 minutes to find anything open that time of night (which I found out the next afternoon was not true). I then told her I was starving having not eaten a real meal since 10 am, and asked if there was room service. She told me that there was not, but that if I walked around the neighborhood, there were a couple of places that served food til 1 am. Mind you, my husband was not able to get the same connection as me and didn't arrive until 1 am into New Orleans, so walking around by myself at night trying to locate food seemed a little scary to me. I walked out the door and found out that the Copper Monkey right next door was still serving food (not good food, but food, nonetheless). So, all's well that ends well, I guess.

The following night, the Airlines located our luggage and delivered it to the hotel at 12:30 am. We had called it a night early because of our exhausting day before, so were already in bed. The front desk (a man this time) called us to let us know it was there. We asked if he would bring it up, and he stated that he would not. So, my husband got dressed and went downstairs. When he got there, the front desk clerk was no where to be seen, so my husband walked in and just took our luggage and bought it upstairs. ANYONE could have taken our luggage. It was sitting in plain site in the lobby with no one around to watch it and the clerk never even called us to ask us if we got it. I guess we got lucky.

Pros:
- Fantastic Location
- Daytime staff is generally helpful and friendly
- Great Location
- Bar on site
- 2 nice bathrobes provided
- Did I mention the location?


Cons:
- TINY rooms
- Nighttime staff is surly at best and VERY unhelpful
- "Free" breakfast is - "You get what you pay for" - Boiled Eggs, (very sugary) yogurt, cereal, make your own toast/bagels, and warmed up frozen sausages
- Badly designed bathrooms with no shower door and no matter how you point the shower head, the floor gets soaked (which is dangerous on the marble tiled floors!)
- Our "message" light stayed on our phone the entire 4 days and they seemed to be at a loss as to how to make it turn off and stop blinking (even though we never had a message)

The bottom line - for $30 more a night you can stay around the corner at the Hotel Monteleone where customer service is a priority and the rooms are bigger and they have a restaurant and no request goes unanswered. So, why wouldn't you?

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 4th floor room with a balcony looking into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorriKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am deeply sorry that we weren't able to provide you with the highest quality of service for which our hotel is known. The service you received is unaceptable and it should have never happened. For that I apologize. When I read your review, my heart dropped. I would really love to speak with you further regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact me at (504) 200-3154 or daffne.ruglas@interstatehotels.com. I hope that this incident doesn't keep you from giving Hotel le marais another chance to meet and exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Daffne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great hotel. Close to everything, was quiet, nice work out room, comfortable beds!! They leave waters in your room everyday. This is the 3 rd year in a row that we meet friends in NOLA and we all agreed it was an excellent choice for hotel. I would request a courtyard room though. One of the couples faced the street and said it was noisy, but the hotel moved her to another room the next day, so all was good!!! Also great breakfast every morning. Only draw back was no restaurant or even a set up to buy snack foods.... But no biggie really as the location is so good, there is food everywhere outside of hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni_cTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A surprise new favorite hotel! We won't be staying anywhere else in NO from now on. I was surprised how well I slept in the heart of the French Quarter. Our room on the 4th floor was extremely comfortable and quiet. Vive was one of our favorite places to have a drink. The fitness room was well appointed. Complimentary breakfast was a bonus. Friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: Book a courtyard room for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaaabse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 18, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Based on other TA's reviews, we stayed at The Hotel Le Marais for our first visit to New Orleans. From the minute we pulled up to the hotel, everyone went out of their way to welcome us to NO & wanted to know how they could assist us...from suggestions for sightseeing, where to have lunch & even made our dinner reservations at 2 great restaurants.

The hotel is modern, well appointed rooms, fantastic location but more importantly, the staff makes this hotel special. Take advantage of the “welcome drinks” from the lounge & the “understated” breakfast offered each morning>

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWD-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 21, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,377 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,984 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing