We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved our stay. We had a room on the 4th floor facing out to Conti. The bed was quite high, I'm only 5 foot, so I had to climb up. Clean room, large bathroom with nice toiletries. Lots of TV channels. No one does cable quite like Americans, I would be up all night watching shows.

Free Wifi in the room, which is always handy. We found the walls thin and could hear other guests coughing etc next door.

Friendly staff, always smiling and greeted us as we left/arrived. I used the business centre too and it was set up like a little office, perfect!

The hotel is in a good location, right next to Bourbon St. We never felt unsafe at all. We had an early flight and the hotel arranged transport to airport and we had the nicest taxi driver ever. He really topped off our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Island085,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at Hotel le marais with other travelers. We deeply appreciate your compliments on our rooms, staff, and amenities. Thank you so much for choosing us and please comeback and see us. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    651
    130
    25
    23
See reviews for
376
1,259
71
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia NSW
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great boutique hotel in the French Quarter close to Bourbon street but an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the area. Rooms were lovely, Complimentary bottles of water daily, Free cocktail/drink on arrival. Lovely courtyard with heated pool, great to sit around after a busy day. Good continental breakfast in the morning, though sometimes hard to find a place to sit and eat it if hotel is busy. Staff were terrific, nothing a problem, helpful with information on the area. Housekeeping serviced our room everyday with fresh towels, toiletries etc. Loved the long walk in shower in the bathroom! Would definitely stay and again and have already recommended to others.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back over looking a courtyard - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Annie2540,

We deeply appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Knowing that you had such a fabulous stay make us very happy. Thank you for your kind words on our lovely rooms, complimentary bottle of water, free cocktails upon arrivals, our breakfast, staff, and housekeeping. We sure can't wait to serve you again in the future. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wedding in NOLA. The whole wedding stayed at this lovely hotel. Great location- between Royal and Bourbon Streets, walking distance to everything.The ambiance is upscale, relaxing, and fun. While rooms are on the smaller side, they are well appointed, nicely decorated, and the beds are really comfortable. Extra touches include bottled water, robes, coffee maker, hair dryer,etc. While the bath was small too, it was well done - black marble, large shower ( no tub) , lighted makeup mirror , and great towels. Downstairs the inner courtyard has a small ( don 't expect to do laps) heated , saltwater pool surrounded by lots of comfortable outdoor cushioned seating. I loved stopping there before going to my room just to soak my poor tired feet! There is breakfast every am which can be eaten in or out- certainly enough to tide you over till you can continue at all the incredible places in the French Quarter. The staff is friendly and helpful. They quickly fixed a broken makeup light in our room when asked. At checkin , you are given two free drink coupons to be used at the bar. Try the signature martini , the Vive( violet pear).
Within walking distance, The Monteleone carousel bar is a great stop.
Need a taxi? We have used the nicest man, Henry Lee Tennessee, on two trips now. He is prompt, courteous, and a delight to visit with . His late model , Armada, can take more than just two . 504-236-7294 we found taxis to be cheaper and direct when going to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly across from the elevator -potentially noisy if hotel full
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBtravels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 2, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife a I stayed several nights at the Hotel LeMarais during a recent visit to New Orleans. Overall, we had a good experience. However, the hotel did have a few shortcomings.

Positives:
Great location if you will be spending a lot of time in the French Quarter, as we did.
Room was very quiet at night (facing courtyard).
Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Cool bar area and adjacent courtyard.
Free breakfast included (but see below).
Complimentary bar drinks were great.

Negatives:
Bathroom was very small and not well designed.
Very small "closet" space in room.
Room decor was OK but rather uninspiring.
Breakfast selection was pretty basic and rather limited.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear FCBasel,

Hotel le marais thanks you for sharing your most recent experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words on our rooms, staff, bar, free breakfast, great location and many thanks for recommending our hotel. Also, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on things that we can always improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Fantastic hotel in great location and very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was well decorated, lovely pool area. The room was most comfortable and very clean. The complimentary bottle of water each day added a nice touch. The continental breakfast was delicious and there was a large variety to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozitis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, January 8, 2016
Dear Rozitis_10,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The Hotel is right next to the famous Bourbon Street in the French Quartier. So the Location is Top. The Rooms are Great too - however altough we stayed out for hours and had the Little green light on to indicate that the room should be made up, it hardly ever was done....except for the check out day - they would knock on the door even long bevore check out time. Annoying! In the evening the Bar aerea next to the Pool is lovely and so much more releaxing than Bourbon Street. A Little disturbing was the Rat , trying to empty the tabels...but thats New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine_search
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 21, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
260 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The reviews had really set up my expectations about this hotel, I was not let down in any way, a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location with fantastic staff.

Location Rue Conti is three minutes away from the bars and nightlife, ten minutes away from the river and right in the French Quarter.

The rooms are well kept and are a nice size (we had room 509) there is free wi fi throughout the hotel which is good, the TV in the room is a great size at 42i inches.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and seem proud of this very stylish hotel, the courtyard is lovely and a great place to relax.

The breakfast is also a great way to start the day it comes with all rooms and really sets you up for the day.

Overall a fantastic hotel great value excellent staff and made my wife happy!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 21, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,751 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,979 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing