We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near the action” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely, clean and quiet! This is a great little boutique hotel difficult to get taxis in front but can get one around the block. No restaurant on site, but fantastic cocktails at the bar. The breakfast is adequate but your not coming here to eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: No room refrigerators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jacquie39,

Hotel le marais in New Orleans thanks you for sharing your most recent experience with other travelers. Thank you for choosing us and we sure hope to see you again. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    754
    150
    33
    25
See reviews for
445
1,464
89
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are a couple in our 20's and 30's and have stayed in Vegas, and New York and have never had any problems with noise before. We were opposite the elevator and woken up about every hour to drunk people in the foyer coming back to their rooms. The hotel seems to attract a lot of young party goers due to its proximity to Bourbon St. This hotel must be very poorly sound proofed for the noise to be as disruptive as it was.

After the first night, we went downstairs and spoke to the front desk who said that they get this complaint a lot from people who choose a room with a "French Quarter view", despite us explaining that the noise problem was actually from inside the hotel. The "French Quarter view" room was simply of an adjacent lane way and parking garage (you really don’t see anything worth paying more for) so we opted to be moved to a non-view room that was away from the elevator and at the end of the hall. The view in this room was much the same anyway, and the room although still noisy was quieter than the last.

The room itself was very modern and tastefully decorated and the hotel bar great which we redeemed cocktails with our complementary vouchers. If it weren't for the noise we would have had a reasonably good stay.

In Summary – if you love to party, and sleep is not overly high on your list then this is the place for you. If you are opting for a more relaxed New Orleans experience, or a private and romantic stay then I would keep looking.

TIP: If Bourbon St. is not your scene, then you will love Frenchman St. as it is everything we thought New Orleans would be with great music and restaurants.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the elevator if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear TheAusCouple,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are sad to hear that you were not happy with your stay and we would love to invite you again and I am sure you will have a wonderful experience. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

These are my three priorities in accomodations. I want the bed comfortable, the room and floor location quiet and the place well-cared for. Well, this hotel hits all those and more.
Located in the prime French Quarter, I was esconced in my room one night when friends beckoned me out to Bourbon St. Once I exited the hotel on Conti I heard a rousing noice of partying! I slept well each night, woke to a very nicely put together continental breakfast of fresh fruit, toasts and bagels, coffee and juices, and one morning there was scrambled eggs. Each newcomer receives a free drink at the bar--a nice welcome. The bartenders are good and willing to offer reccomendations about town. Elbert Pierre at the front desk was exceptionally nice and friendly, helpful with booking reservations and cabs. A very pleasant stay in a very touristy town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 2, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at Hotel Le Marais, and chose mostly due to location and trip advisor reviews. We were very pleased with this great little boutique hotel. Everything is clean, updates and well appointed. Rooms are comfortable and staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was a nice way to start the day, plenty of fruit and healthy cereals. Located a half a block from Bourbon St, you are close to everything yet it was super quiet and peaceful. Our room was the last one at the end of the hallway which was great!

Only complaint which kept this from being a 5 star review- the smoking by the pool. It was very unpleasant and gross to try and sit by the pool or eat breakfast outside and be in a cloud of second hand smoke. The rest of the hotel is non smoking, would have been great if this area was as well.

If we find ourselves back in NOLA, we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway, you can't hear any noise from bourbon street or the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, January 8, 2016
Dear JLEinCT,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel was all it was advertised to be - small, intimate, contemporary and service-oriented. Each person on staff made sure to greet you and ask if they could assist you. The bar could be quiet or lively depending on the time of day. Loved the hotel location and it was easy to grab a cab or arrange for a larger van for groups. The only negative was that you could hear people in the hallways going to/from the elevator - but it is a small hotel so that was minimal. Our group had five rooms and everyone was pleased with the accomodations.

Room Tip: I think a room away from the elevators would be preferable next stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanRafael2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 2, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Can not fault this hotel. Travelled with 2 other families and we all thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. All the staff were courteous and friendly and most helpful. Rooms were very clean and just what we needed for our 2 night stay. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to most things.

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 and had a room with 2 queen beds that suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 21, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Cool, contemporary, such a respite from the overwhelming heat and excess of the French Quarter. Front desk staff and breakfast/bar staff were excellent. Room was well-appointed, quiet, cool. "Continental" breakfast included hard boiled eggs and breakfast meats during the week and scrambled eggs on the weekend. Free wi-fi. Very conveniently located for wandering around the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, January 8, 2016
Dear MDS41,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,813 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing