We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel le marais is centraly located in the french quarter. I was afraid that i would be noisy but my room overlooking the patio was very quiet. The patio is a very nice place where you can enjoy your coffee and bagel in the morning. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the staff was very nice , especially Daniela at the front desk. I recommend this adress that is discreet and allow you to go many place downtown by walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear BrusselsCrew,
\
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,870 - 2,876 of 3,313 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed twice at Le Marais. Both times we paid extra for a room with a balcony. I went on a girl's weekend trip last year and shared a room with two doubles with a friend. We had a small balcony and enjoyed coming back to the room and sitting out on the balcony people watching. Believe me, there was a lot to see every night, considering Bourbon street is right around the corner. I went with my husband on my second visit. I was expecting the same type of balcony that I had last year, however I was unpleasantly surprised to find it is a shared balcony, It is EXTREMELY startling to step outside in the early morning or late night and have a complete stranger standing there in the dark. I would never have paid the extra for this room had I known this. Aside from the balcony situation, the hotel is nice, it is in a good location and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is an absolutely brilliant hotel. We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children - aged 4 & 12) and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is ideal for family but we can also see the attraction to couples.

The room was great - spacious, very clean, well equipped and very modern. Pretty courtyard garden with small pool - all very attractive. The hotel is well located - close enough to the action but still felt like a quiet oasis.

All round great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard (which is probably most rooms) are probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed two nights with my 15 year old daughter. Was a little concerned given it seemed more like a couples hotel and perhaps a bit too noisy with a lot of nightlife. In fact it was a wonderfully quiet hotel. Very upscale and modern, trendy boutique hotel (just 66 rooms). The beds were very comfortable although not quite as firm as I like. The room had a safe, coffee maker, excellent flat screen TV, plenty of outlets for recharging electronics, bright, free WiFi. Bathroom had a large modern shower stall (no bath) plenty of towels, shampoo, soap, conditioner, etc. Great complimentary breakfast with a couple of hot dishes and the standard continental fare. The service was excellent - wonderful suggestions on restaurants, etc.

"Swam" in the pool, which is really too small to swim but it was clean and refreshing to splash around. The courtyard is so quiet even though Bourbon St. Is just around the corner. A nice place to sit and relax after a long hot day of sightseeing. Overall, a nearly perfect experience.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank TravelsFarAndWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear WorldTraveller-A1,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great service, great location...never had a question they couldn't answer. Located a block off of Bourbon Street and just a few off of Canal. Easy access (less than 10 minute walk to French Market and Cafe Du Monde), competitive rates and much more friendly than others in the area. Would go back again and recommend it to everyone. Family friendly as well!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Le Marais for 4 nights, checking in on a Tuesday and checking out on a Saturday. The hotel was extremely stylish, the room was very nice, and the bed was very comfortable. It was pretty much everything that we'd expect from a hotel in this price point EXCEPT one thing - the parking.

First of all, they charge $35 per day for valet parking. The $35 wouldn't be a problem, but the valet service was TERRIBLE! Apparently, the valet doesn't actually work for Hotel Le Marais, but instead for a hotel across the street. So, anytime you need to park, you have to find a spot on the street and park yourself (and it's nearly impossible to find a legal parking spot that isn't occupied in this part of town.) Then you have to go inside the hotel and ask the front desk clerk to call the valet. Then you wait, and wait, and wait. On several occasions, we waited 10+ minutes for the valet, and on one occasion we waited so long that the front desk clerk finally came out and told us that he'd just hold our keys until the valet finally arrived (all the while, we're illegally parked out front.)

Retrieving your car from the valet isn't much better either. We'd call the front desk before coming downstairs to ask them to go ahead and call the valet. However, on every occasion, we'd still end up waiting in front of the hotel for 5 - 10 minutes before our car would arrive.

We checked out other comparable hotels in the French Quarter, and noticed that almost all of them had better parking arrangements than Hotel Le Marais. For our next trip, we'll likely try one of those.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I were contemplating staying here or at the Royal Sonesata. It was for my birthday and he wanted to make it perfect so he actually booked both places until we did further research and recommendations amongst friends and most particularly trip advisor, and cancelled the Sonesta. So in the end, we choose Le Marais, and it was one of the best decisions we've ever made!!!

1. Stay...Boutique hotel.....one needs to understand what that means. In short laymen's terms...it's small and chic. What I like to call clean and crisp. Modern and sleek. This hotel defines that. Loved the newness about it and the non oldness of New Orleans feel while being in the heart of New Orleans. The bed was beyond comfortable and the overall feel was amazing. We checked out the Royal Sonesata and there is no comparison. The Royal Sonesta hotel is very nice and ornate, but it felt VERY OLD and not the newness that we love being part of. The pool at Le Marais although very small, very appropriate. We stayed for a week and had it all to ourselves with the exception of a couple couples in the pool which we actually enjoyed engaging with.

2. Perfect location....Our hotel was in the heart of it all! 1 block off Bourbon, and in the best proximity to royal street and everywhere we wanted to explore

3. Service...the staff treated us with the utmost respect and accommodation. We made frequent requests and its was so admirable that the front desk would not even accept a tip from us even though we tried to make them take it. We also had another mishap where we left our luggage for a very late checkout and the staff broke one of our bottles of wine and not only offered to repay us with the wine but also to pay to replace everything in our bag on top of the dry cleaning bill. It was not necessary but the level of service they provided to even accommodate that made us feel so appreciated.

2 recommendations we would make is:
1, Have chairs on their balconies. It's a beautiful seating area, make it worthwhile to be there
2. Bar food. The hotel is extremely accomidating with having food by poolside, but it would be really nice to not have to order in and have them supply "bar food"

No matter what, I would not stay anywhere else and would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits there. you will not be dissappointed!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in a balcony room facing poolside...we stayed in the best room of the place...409
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzieQtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear SuzieQtee,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais! We are thrilled that were able to enjoy your stay with us during your visit to the Big Easy! We do hope to be of service to you again in the very near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,588 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,704 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,368 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,926 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $168 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing