We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful retreat in the heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful retreat in the heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is right off of Bourbon St. but the moment you walk in, you feel like you're in a different world. The lobby is beautiful and the view of the courtyard and saltwater pool is breathtaking. Our room was right on the street but it was incredibly quiet. We were located right outside the elevator and that got a bit noisy at times but not too bad. The bathroom is nice and modern, but too small for the belongings of 2 people. And having no shower door is messy and strange. The see-through bathroom door was fine for my husband and I, but would be a bit strange for other folks who arent so familiar with each other. All in all a wonderful hotel at an extremely reasonable rate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request away from elevator. Our view of the street was fun, we could keep tabs on the activities, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had a delighted stay. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel, courtyard, and pool. Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    777
    150
    33
    28
See reviews for
469
1,502
90
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Being our first trip to New Orleans, we wanted to get a feel for the French Quarter, so this hotel had an excellent location, just a half block from Bourbon Street and all of the other attractions in the "Quarter". It has the boutique feel and is recently updated. It's a comfortable size to relax around the lobby or pool and bar and avoid the big hotel style. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and reasonable size. We asked for and got a mini fridge at no extra cost. The breakfast is excellent and more than adequate to tie you over to mid afternoon. All in all a very good choice for couples.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room on the street side rather than the back, which tends to overlook al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdmdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast, bar, pool, staff, and rooms. We definitely can't wait to serve you again.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at Hotel Le Marais during our vacation to New Orleans. The room was modern and clean. The free breakfast every morning was a substantial way to start the day (more than just cereal and yogurt - although they had that too). You also get a free cocktail at their bar Vive! as a welcome, delicious! The hotel is located in the heart of the french quarter within walking distance of everything. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had a delighted stay. Thank you for your kind words on our rooms, bar, and breakfast. Nothing make us happier than to hear that you loved your stay and that you will definitely recommend our hotel. Once again thank you for choosing us and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at Hotel Le Marais for a girls trip and we were very pleased. The hotel is located a block from Bourbon Street, which allowed us to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel staff was pleasant and welcoming. When our check in was delayed, they provided us with extra drink coupons for the hotel bar Vive, which according to my girlfriend has the best margaritas in New Orleans! Rooms were not huge but, big enough. The only suggestion I could make would be to put a mini fridge in the rooms. Also, do not use the transportation service that they suggest in their booking confirmation email. They overcharged and will have you waiting at the airport for a hour!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crucker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. Thank you for your kind words on our staff and bar. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and we can't wait to serve you again. Also, we have contacted the manager of the transportation services and they would like to assist you with overcharging you and have you wait too long. Here is what the transportation manager said:
"My phone number is 504-251-1716 and please let them know the owner would like the opportunity to address her if she likes" Once again thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Pillows were waaay too firm. We asked for softer ones and were told that all the pillows were the same. That's pretty lame considering even crap-hole hotels have some variation in pillow choices. The hard plump pillows made sleep extremely restless for my wife and I. We slept like crap and were exhausted and I developed pretty bad back pain. Other than this very fixable issue, hotel was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We will definitely get some variety of pillows. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Le Marais and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our fifth anniversary and to enjoy the French Quarter. This hotel is 1/2 block to Bourbon St., just off the beaten track to be quiet. It is close to everything within walking distance. Safe and clean. It is a little gem! Ask for a "courtyard" facing room, King bed. Very comfy bed and pillows! Best "Hurricane" drink found right at their bar. My only issue was a bump with our first night reservation being erased..we were accommodated well for that inconvenience. And the contemporary walk -in shower, with no closing door, sprayed water out onto the bathroom floor. Besides this the location and friendly staff make this a super place to stay right in the French Quarter. I'll be back!

Room Tip: To have a quiet stay, do not get a Conti St. room location. Ask in advance for a "courtyard&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. It was a great pleasure to have you stay at our hotel. At Hotel Le Marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it one more time, make us very happy. Thank you for choosing us and see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Le Marais and had a GREAT stay. Here is what you need to know: Get a room that faces the courtyard. The hotel is a block from Burboun and if you face Conti street I would imagine you might hear a lot of noise. We had a room on the 4th floor facing the courtyard and heard NOTHING! it was amazingly quiet for being so close to all the action. Also, the internet is painfully slow. Breakfast is great- there are eggs and bacon as well as bagels/toast and cereal/fruit. I was very impressed with the free breakfast and is an absolute perk of staying there.
the rooms could be cleaned better - but overall, I was very happy here and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast and we will definitely better those items that need to be corrected. Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Le Marais and we can't wait to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,007 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,909 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing