We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for kids !”

Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #26 of 348 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, located in the U.S. Custom House on Canal Street, encourages you to use all five senses as you explore North America’s largest museum devoted to insects and their relatives. You’ll discover why insects are the building blocks of all life on our planet and along the way, you’ll be shrunk to bug size; wander through a mysterious Louisiana swamp; join the active audience of an awards show for bugs, by bugs; and be captivated by thousands of butterflies in an Asian garden. Voted A top museum for you and your kids by CNN, 2009.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Bridgeport
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fun for kids !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We bought the package and this place was the first on our list. The kids loved the exhibits - especially the big tastings ! We all also really enjoyed the 4d movie that they showed . Max time in this place probably 2 hours- it isn't that big. But full of fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpsunshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    323
    97
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We ate bugs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Kids uner 10 years old will Love this place! Lots of hands on experiences and 4D movie. We also got to try some bugs which my kids loved!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momof2travelerTXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Atlanta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun, buggy fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Brought the family for a fun, buggy exploration. We are used to zoos, aquariums, etc, but this is something different. Enjoyed the exhibits, especially the edible bugs. Remember that this is in a federal building- my husband had a small utility knife on him, and he had to take it back to the hotel (they didn't have the facilities to "check" it.) Kids are 12, 10, and 9- probably the target audience. Grandparents enjoyed this one, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

No kids along, we enjoyed the exhibits here. The displays are well done, and some are amazing in their color and complexity. It's a nice, quiet, educational way to spend an hour or so in the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank deltatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most creeptastic place you can spend a couple hours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

After purchasing our family Audubon membership, we were able to visit all the Audubon attractions in New Orleans. The Insectarium was very fun for my teenage kids, and very creepy to me, seeing as I do not like insects! Lots of information makes it educational, but in a fun way! They have a cute, funny 4D movie, that you have to see. The butterfly exhibit was also wonderful! Fun for kids of all ages!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing