We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The butterflies were gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium

Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #26 of 340 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, located in the U.S. Custom House on Canal Street, encourages you to use all five senses as you explore North America’s largest museum devoted to insects and their relatives. You’ll discover why insects are the building blocks of all life on our planet and along the way, you’ll be shrunk to bug size; wander through a mysterious Louisiana swamp; join the active audience of an awards show for bugs, by bugs; and be captivated by thousands of butterflies in an Asian garden. Voted A top museum for you and your kids by CNN, 2009.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The butterflies were gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went around Christmas 2012 and it was really fun. Our kids really enjoyed looking at all of the different insects and thought the buggy cuisine was interesting too! It was very clean and not too crowded. The butterfly garden was amazing! We really had a great time!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacaymomma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    320
    96
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groves, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lots of fun, lots of good picture-taking opportunity. The exhibits were interesting, interactive and educational. The 4D movie was fun. I went with another adult and we had a good time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
465 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were there for 3 hours and could have stayed longer if we had not needed to head back home. Kids 12 and 10 loved it, especially the cooking demo. A must for families.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fun for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I took my daughter who is 8 and she loved it. We saw lots of bugs and in the back you can eat chocolate covered crickets. they are tims and taste like a sunflower seed but she loved it. Very cool considering she is usually a complete princess. The butterfly exhibit was cool too. great spot to take the kids on a sunday afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texansfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a really cool place to visit. Very close to the Aquarium and the the iMax. Easy to walk to from those places. Very educational and they even have a kitchen where you can participate in some crazy edibles. Fun! My favorite was the butterfly garden. Beautiful photo ops as the butterfly's and pretty birds fly around you. This was wonderful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing