We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium

Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium
Book In Advance
$12.31*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #26 of 320 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, located in the U.S. Custom House on Canal Street, encourages you to use all five senses as you explore North America’s largest museum devoted to insects and their relatives. You’ll discover why insects are the building blocks of all life on our planet and along the way, you’ll be shrunk to bug size; wander through a mysterious Louisiana swamp; join the active audience of an awards show for bugs, by bugs; and be captivated by thousands of butterflies in an Asian garden. Voted A top museum for you and your kids by CNN, 2009.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stopped in here because it was included in our VisiTicket - was very cool. Creepy crawlies everywhere - and very informed staff. The butterfly room was amazing - butterflies everywhere fluttering around. Would be a fantastic stop for kiddos who are into bugs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    290
    88
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I liked the beetle and moth collections. They are arranged in beautiful patterns. There is a lot to learn about termites, and later I drove out of town and saw the termite tubes sticking up from their underground nests.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a place for children - and adults - to get a great feel for insects. The displays are amazing and a little scary. The highlight was the Terminex movie - a must see for the special effects.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The insectarium was brilliant. The best bit was the cinema .... you sit down to watch a show about insects but the seats move and shake and I was like a little girl screaming. It was soooo cool.

I'm not squeamish so I really liked seeing the spiders although the highlight has to be the butterflies. You can go into an area with huge butterflies, at one point there was one that landed on my sister-in-law so I was able to take great up-close photos.

The insectarium is well set out for children AND adults!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small but Fun for Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Insectarium is a little facitily located on Canal Street in the US Customs Building. I think admission is now up to over $15 so I'd suggest the better value of $44 for the Aquarium, Insectarium, and Zoo combined, you at least save a couple dollars.

They have several stations set up with employees to tell you about specific bugs and allow you to touch them if you want, so that's informative - don't be afraid to ask questions! The butterfly exhibit is nice if you haven't been to the one in Key West (which is unbelievably amazing)...I also think it depends on how many butterflies they're able to keep at once. The lifespan of a butterfly is about two weeks so I imagine the population in there fluctuates a lot..there just weren't many when we went this weekend.

There's a fun little movie, too.

It's definitely worth it to go if you go ahead and get it with the zoo and aquarium package.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing