We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't miss the Movie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Insectarium

Audubon Insectarium
Book In Advance
$12*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #25 of 318 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a place for children - and adults - to get a great feel for insects. The displays are amazing and a little scary. The highlight was the Terminex movie - a must see for the special effects.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    284
    86
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The insectarium was brilliant. The best bit was the cinema .... you sit down to watch a show about insects but the seats move and shake and I was like a little girl screaming. It was soooo cool.

I'm not squeamish so I really liked seeing the spiders although the highlight has to be the butterflies. You can go into an area with huge butterflies, at one point there was one that landed on my sister-in-law so I was able to take great up-close photos.

The insectarium is well set out for children AND adults!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small but Fun for Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Insectarium is a little facitily located on Canal Street in the US Customs Building. I think admission is now up to over $15 so I'd suggest the better value of $44 for the Aquarium, Insectarium, and Zoo combined, you at least save a couple dollars.

They have several stations set up with employees to tell you about specific bugs and allow you to touch them if you want, so that's informative - don't be afraid to ask questions! The butterfly exhibit is nice if you haven't been to the one in Key West (which is unbelievably amazing)...I also think it depends on how many butterflies they're able to keep at once. The lifespan of a butterfly is about two weeks so I imagine the population in there fluctuates a lot..there just weren't many when we went this weekend.

There's a fun little movie, too.

It's definitely worth it to go if you go ahead and get it with the zoo and aquarium package.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My 6 year old and I loved this museum. Who knew insects were so interesting? The cockroach exhibit was a little disturbing, but the rest was great, particularly the room of pinned butterflies in every color of the rainbow. Absolutely beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a lot of fun here looking at all the cool inverts they had on display. The highlight was definitely the edible insect demo, we ate some of the bugs and they were pretty tasty! The butterfly section is also pretty cool, you can see butterflies coming out of their chrysalis' and the free flying butterfly room was pretty neat! If you're lucky a butterfly might perch on you if you stand in just the right place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spike85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing