We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the bug show”

Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$23.64*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #24 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, located in the U.S. Custom House on Canal Street, encourages you to use all five senses as you explore North America’s largest museum devoted to insects and their relatives. You’ll discover why insects are the building blocks of all life on our planet and along the way, you’ll be shrunk to bug size; wander through a mysterious Louisiana swamp; join the active audience of an awards show for bugs, by bugs; and be captivated by thousands of butterflies in an Asian garden. Voted A top museum for you and your kids by CNN, 2009.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't miss the bug show”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

There's not a whole lot to see here. But there's a 4D show that's cute. The seats move & you get poked & wind blown etc. There are also some beautifully irridescent beetles on display. Kids could maybe spend quite a bit of time here but adults will buzz thru quickly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    335
    98
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A small but great place to go in New Orleans!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The cook show and the butterfly garden are amazing. Don't be fooled by its appearance. Give this place a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yen-Jung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and unqiue”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had expected the insectarium to be a little large and house more bugs, frankly, but it was nonetheless a nice little visit. The exhibits were well-maintained and the supplemental info was well done. Interesting to learn a little more about the yellow fever epidemics and the termite troubles. Kids would likely enjoy this visit. The butterfly garden was jam-packed with butterflies and quite pretty, but again, rather small compared to what I've seen elsewhere. The cooking show was very very basic, but it was pretty fun to try some edible bugs (wax worms, crickets, meal worms). Worth it if you have the time and definitely kid-friendly, bu not as exceptional as some of the other reviews implied.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Beautifully done”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Insectarium. The exhibits were very well done. It would be a fantastic place to take an interested child or group of children. Adults will also find things to interest them. The butterfly section was particularly good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabi, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Insectarium with New Orleans Flare”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love the new orleans hall with the jazz music. We did not care for the cooking show and left before they served the bugs. We loved the butterfly exhibit. Since we are from New Orleans we found the info on our local bugs interesting. The bug movie was fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing