We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small but great place to go in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium

Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium
Book In Advance
$12.31*
and up
Audubon Nature Institute Museums Admission
Ranked #26 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium, located in the U.S. Custom House on Canal Street, encourages you to use all five senses as you explore North America’s largest museum devoted to insects and their relatives. You’ll discover why insects are the building blocks of all life on our planet and along the way, you’ll be shrunk to bug size; wander through a mysterious Louisiana swamp; join the active audience of an awards show for bugs, by bugs; and be captivated by thousands of butterflies in an Asian garden. Voted A top museum for you and your kids by CNN, 2009.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A small but great place to go in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The cook show and the butterfly garden are amazing. Don't be fooled by its appearance. Give this place a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yen-Jung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    300
    91
    19
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and unqiue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had expected the insectarium to be a little large and house more bugs, frankly, but it was nonetheless a nice little visit. The exhibits were well-maintained and the supplemental info was well done. Interesting to learn a little more about the yellow fever epidemics and the termite troubles. Kids would likely enjoy this visit. The butterfly garden was jam-packed with butterflies and quite pretty, but again, rather small compared to what I've seen elsewhere. The cooking show was very very basic, but it was pretty fun to try some edible bugs (wax worms, crickets, meal worms). Worth it if you have the time and definitely kid-friendly, bu not as exceptional as some of the other reviews implied.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Beautifully done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Insectarium. The exhibits were very well done. It would be a fantastic place to take an interested child or group of children. Adults will also find things to interest them. The butterfly section was particularly good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabi, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Insectarium with New Orleans Flare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love the new orleans hall with the jazz music. We did not care for the cooking show and left before they served the bugs. We loved the butterfly exhibit. Since we are from New Orleans we found the info on our local bugs interesting. The bug movie was fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“creepy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

didnt think I would like this but it was brilliant. the butterflies were amazing.. do go.. its way better than i thought it would be!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Butterfly Garden and Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing