We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Oysters and Grits”
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
Ranked #4 of 64 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fried Oysters and Grits”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

So, I typically go one a oyster bing when I visit NOLA and they are in season. This past trip was no exception. I have some great oysters, but the ones at the Cake Cafe were the best of the trip. Yes, the best fried oysters I had were at a bakery/bfast joint. I ordered the fried oysters and grits with eggs over easy. The oysters were big, hot and juicy, and went perfectly with a bite of the creamy, organic grits. And then there was the biscuit; big, fluffy, hot and perfect. One of the best restaurant biscuits I've ever eaten. I left with a $1 sweet potatoe cupcake for later.........yum! Go, relax, and enjoy a great bfast in one of the greatest cities in the world.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWebb1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    127
    18
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
“Excellent brunch in a fun neighborhood”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had the eggs benedict, biscuits & gravy, and the red velvet cupcake. All were phenomenal! The downside was the long wait (which was well worth it in the end). Also liked the locally-inspired art on the walls.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wangs1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood option”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if it quite ranks as a top NOLA food experience, but appears to be a reliable and good one. The challah bread on my crab sandwich was burned, the sandwich was otherwise OK, but seemed a bit ordinary for a claimed specialty in the city of po boys and muffulettas. My partners salmon salad was basic in presentation, the salad leaves and tomatoes a bit bland but the piece of salmon was perfectly poached and tasty, and the wasabi vinaigrette was very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smithfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The other reviewers are correct. The food and pastries are great. This neighborhood cafe has a large local following so when we went on Sunday morning there was a line. However the line moved quickly and the staff manage the tables and crowd well. Within a few minutes we reached the counter, placed our order and had a table. Cheese Danish was one of best eaten. Boudin sausage, grits and eggs with homemade biscuit was well done. Breakfast sandwich was huge. We had to skip lunch we were so full. Worth the trip out to the neighborhood. We took the trolley to French Market and easy walk in a nice neighborhood

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wood1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta ga.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are in the area, you must go here! Friendly service, great atmosphere, plenty of locals. Where else can you get a meat omelet with at least 4 whole slices of thick perfectly cooked bacon, 4 slices of ham, and chunks of andouie sausage piled inside? Café au lait with an inch thick layer of foamy milk, house made berry jam, perfect biscuits as big as a man's fist. Cupcakes only $1 each with a meal. Don't pass up this opportunity! We ordered them to go, and they were the absolute BEST we ever had! No frills, no fancy decorations, just a perfect texture and flavor cake topped with just the right amount of creamy, not-too-sweet frosting. Go here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandycshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing