We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly bakery items, delicious food”
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
Ranked #4 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly bakery items, delicious food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While visiting Tulane we came to this small cafe for breakfast. My daughter and I both had the Costa Rican breakfast. My friend had the salmon salad and her son had the tilapia and eggs dish. The meals were beautiful to look at and were so fresh and delicious. We had heard about the cupcakes, so we decided to treat ourselves. My daughter and I split a white cake cupcake with vanilla coconut frosting and a wedding cake cupcake- white cake with an almond vanilla frosting. Our friends also tried the wedding cake cupcake. The cupcakes were beyond delicious. We joked that the cafe should take videos of customers eating their cupcakes for the first time and run them on a loop in the window to entice potential customers passing by. They deliver from NOLA to NY so I expect we will be ordering some for delivery!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peacellonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    127
    18
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ate here twice on my recent trip to NOLA. Had the raisin bread french toast the first visit and it was excellent as was the chicory coffee. Next visit just had the cinnamon roll with coffee. Excellent breakfast and lunch menu and its all made right there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garyhjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast and baked goods”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great last minute breakfast before heading off on a cruise. Super nice wait staff, delicious cupcakes and fun outside seating with great people watching.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect brunch place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This little cafe was a wonderful find and the perfect place to have our last meal in NOLA - it was a short walk from the Frenchman's Inn where we were staying and definitely seems to be a local favorite. The food was wonderful - my partner is from Costa Rica and so we were super excited to find the special that day was a "gallo pinto" (rice and beans) breakfast. We also tried some of the sweet and savory pastry items - all in all everything was delicious. We were there sans kid but it looks like a very family friendly place - i wish there was a place like this down the street from our home because we would probably be there every weekend with our kiddo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nidal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Obviously, a labor of love”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautiful desserts, a heaping of NO super-hospitality, a fine old building that has been left just derelict enough too feel "real". It's a tight list of musts in New Orleans with so many great choices, but this is a place I'll drop into anytime I am in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing