We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
Ranked #4 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Granite City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great eggs and grits and the french roast coffee was top notch. A perfect Big Beautiful Biscuit ( thats its real name and rightfully so) With homemade jelly...mmm mmm mmm

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    127
    18
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find in the heart of the Bywater, and not just the food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The brunch, I will call it was superb and creative. The poached salmon was perfect, along side 2 poached eggs. We also had a fried to perfection a tilapia sandwich with some of the best french onion soup I have had in years. They have fresh juices, as in beet/orange, a combo not seen too often. The service was great as was the atmosphere. We also loaded up on pastries. I know why some complain of having to wait. There is a reason, especially given the number of choices in NOLA. The Cake Cafe is worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in NOLA”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had breakfast with family on Wednesday. We had a large party to it was a little challenging with seating, etc. Food is very good. Don't miss the cup cakes. Everyone left satisfied and full.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlvatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Good Food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The service is pretty good. All the sandwiches are big! I like the Club. Add any of the delicious cupcakes to your lunch. You won't leave hungry.

However, there are just a few tables and the place is usually jammed packed. I suggest eating there after 1 pm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoss013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Deep South
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery with Local Flair”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been here many times for breakfast and a few for lunch as well. This restaurant excels at baked goods: cakes, pastries, and cupcakes. During Mardi Gras, you can get beautiful homemade king cakes from Cake Cafe. I love the atmosphere and the location, but the breakfasts sometimes aren't as good as I hope they'll be. The portions are large, but sometimes the eggs are dry and quality is sacrificed for quantity. That said, the lunches don't disappoint, and I've had some crazy killer brie and pear pastries. Coffee is also good, and this is a classic New Orleans neighborhood eating spot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBovary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing