We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Southern Charm”

Victorian Lounge at The Columns Hotel
Ranked #585 of 1,939 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Experience true southern charm at the original Grand Dame herself, the Columns Hotel. No trip to New Orleans is complete without sipping a Bloody Mary, Mint Julep or Sazerac on the fabulous columned porch of this historic Antebellum mansion. Be sure to take a peek inside, where you may recognize the elegant interior as the brothel from the movie, "Pretty Baby." Daily happy hour from 5-7pm.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Historic Southern Charm”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and i stumbled upon this southern jem during a rain storm. It was the amazing front porch of the mansion that drew us in. Even though there were no tables available on the grand front porch, we went inside and found a cozy table for 2 in the parlor bar. Since the drinks were very tasy, we decided to order some food. OMG - their shimp po'boy and pene crawfish pasta were delicious!! The entire experience exudes old south wealth and charm. Love this place and will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Varucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sit on the patio to watch life on St. Charles. Stroll through the garden while you're there.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our third trip to New Orleans, but our first time at the Columns. It's one of those places every guidebook tells you about, of course. And now I can tell you: it's a worthwhile experience. We sat on the patio, and while I assumed this was a touristy spot, everyone else on the patio seemed to be locals conducting business (it was about 6 p.m. when we stopped). We each ordered a drink: 1 Irish coffee, 1 brandy old-fashioned. And the white chocolate bread pudding, which was outstanding--not too sweet or sticky, but perfectly moist and redolent of spices. Definitely worth the $6. Oh, and we were dressed casually--we'd been wandering around Audubon Park all afternoon--but no one blinked an eye. Actually, the crowd in the bar was much more casual than the crowd on the patio (still in their work clothes).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NatureGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Indulgence surrounded by old south splendor”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Sunday brunch was not a cheap indulgence, but the leisure, service, food and ambience make for a splendid sample of the old south's wealth and charm.

Worn red velvet bankettes and dark stained wood give the indoors a lush feeling. White shirt and black tie service, with knowledgeable and kind staff. The front porch is the place to sit, with its huge white columns and overhanging trees. The only interruption to the lovely sound of the breeze is the occasional drumbeat of passing streetcars.

Bottomless mimosas kept the brunch lively. I had the shaved endive salad, which was strong but uniquely good. The steak and eggs was very rich, and done perfectly I was stuffed for desert. Friends who had the creme brulee were most pleased. I had the peach cobbler which was very sweet, and had no crust.

Give yourself a few hours to walk it off.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a lovely time with good food”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Columns Hotel - Sunday brunch

The Columns Hotel is a landmark in New Orleans. It has been depicted in many movies and it is a very genteel place to have a drink in its porch while you see the trolley, framed by glorious oak trees, passing by, or you can eat inside as we did. The Sunday brunch has different choices but I will comment on what we had. The seafood gumbo was very nice, the turtle soup not so much. The fried prosciutto in the arugula salad was too salty. Instead of the drum fish with a half soft shell crab, I asked the chef to give me a whole one without the fish. What an epicurian treat. It was the best part of the meal, large, meaty, juicy and in the lightest of batters with the meniere sauce under it, not to make it saggy. It alone was worth the price of the meal, which, by the way, was reasonable. The dessert - bread pudding or pie a la mode - was good. There was the ubiquitous complimentary mimosa and an excellent guitarist who took requests and made the whole affair memorable. We had a lovely time. We recommend it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjhicks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Jazz Brunch - Don't Miss it!”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Now understand, it was a perfect day. No humidity and in the Mid-70's. Now picture sitting on the large porch of a Southern Mansion over looking huge Oak Trees, a beautiful Southern Garden and the Street Cars passing down St. Charles Ave. Now add a Jazz Guitarist and a fabulous waiter. I couldn't think of a better way to spend a Sunday Morning.

The food was fabulous, our waiter was generous with the Mimosas and coffee!

Don't miss it when you are in New Orleans on a Sunday Morning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMarshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Lounge at The Columns Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Lounge at The Columns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing