We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Savvy Native
from $35.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
75
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
75
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews literary tour guide david great storyteller st louis cemetery nola history excellent tour walking tour french quarter milton neighborhood information stories fun
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

This tour was very unique and a great experience to add, in a visit to New Orleans. David was a great, informative guide and shows you many details about the scene and feel of the towns history. Definitely recommend!!

Thank dannyn30522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavvyNative, Owner at The Savvy Native, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending The Savvy Native’s Mafia, Murder, Sex And All That Jazz Tour. We greatly appreciate the time you took to leave us a great review. Our goal is a “Historically Accurate, Entertaining and Memorable” tour and it sounds like David accomplished just that. Thanks again for taking a walk with The Savvy Native. See you when you get back...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2019

Great tour with highly knowledgeable guide who was friendly, professional and made everything personal

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank ther_sam2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavvyNative, Owner at The Savvy Native, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

Thank you Theresa for your great review of The Savvy Native’s Destined To Be Different: Garden District & Lafayette Cemetery Tour and noting your guide’s knowledge, friendliness, and professionalism. Our guides work hard to personalize every guest’s experience and we greatly appreciate that you noticed. We look forward to showing you more of what’s “uniquely ours” the next time you’re in New Orleans…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

David is an excellent guide and has extensive knowledge of New Orleans and its connections to the events surrounding the JFK assassination. I came into this with a pretty deep well of knowledge but I still learned some things. Seeing all the places where the plots (yes, plural) came to life within a few blocks of each other is fascinating. Bannister's office, the Federal buildings, the Reilly Coffee Company, you name it. Highly recommended to anyone interested in Oswald and his life.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank banderson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavvyNative, Owner at The Savvy Native, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2019

Thank you for your great review and recommendation of The Savvy Native’s Lee Harvey Oswald and the JFK Conspiracy: Assassin Or Patsy? Tour and recognizing David as an “excellent” guide. David commented on how much he enjoyed the time spent together, your keen insight and excellent questions. Your validation of the research and dedication we put into our Oswald Tour is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

What a waste of two hours and $115! Billed as a walking tour of achitecture and advanced photography, we were taken to spots any tourist could have stumpled upon and any prepared tourist would have already read about in a brochure of the city. The guide said he taught photography but I am not sure where that could be because he was not knowledgable about the cameras our members carried nor did he offer any technical advice for the speciifc locations. He actually placed his hands on my husband's shoulders and arms to move him to where he thought he should stand despite the fact that my husband is an experienced photographer and has won awards at several photo competitions and told the guide he was wanting certain shots. So disappointed and perturbed!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavvyNative, Owner at The Savvy Native, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to define expectations for our New Orleans PhotoWalks French Quarter Advanced Tour. Our French Quarter Advanced Tour is for experienced photographers. We also offer a French Quarter Beginners Tour for beginners and a Cemetery PhotoWalks Tour suitable for both beginners and advanced. While our tour stops are primarily driven by lighting we believe every photograph taken in the French Quarter and our Cemeteries is a unique opportunity. You want to be a better photographer “stand in front of more interesting stuff”. Our goal is to combine the history behind the shot as well as match instruction to skill level. Our guide, an Adjunct Professor at Delgado Community College whose course offerings consistently receive high reviews, focuses a lot on balance, symmetry and composition skills during the advanced tours. We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment but based on other’s reviews of our PhotoWalks Tours you may have enjoyed and benefited more from one of our other photography offerings. We have fully refunded your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019 via mobile

If you are interested in learning why and how the French Quarter became such a culturally diverse, politically historical and intriguingly entertaining place, this tour is a must. Our tour guide, David, knew all the facts and answered questions along the way. My husband and I were very impressed with David!

Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavvyNative, Owner at The Savvy Native, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2019

Thank you Dana for the excellent review of The Savvy Native’s Mafia, Murder, Sex and All That Jazz Tour and identifying your guide David as “impressive”. We get very excited when are guests describe our tours better than we can because we know they had a great time. Thank you for taking a walk with The Savvy Native and we hope to see you again the next time you’re in-town…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews