We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ronnie and Jean make the initial ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ronnie and Jean make the initial ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Check in and customer
Service experience great! However, the a/c service in the room/halls of the hotel could use some work.. It was always HOT!! The desk staff was always lovely, but it would have been nice if there was outside seating to "people watch", etc..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarakkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We want to thank you for staying at the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed yourself at our property and look forward to you coming again. Our associates are happy that they could assist in your pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    223
    72
    21
    14
See reviews for
89
157
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The location of this hotel is ideal - right off the French Quarter, but in the downtown area away from the noise. We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to in the area. There are also two streetcar lines within a block, making it easy to get to the Garden District and other parts of the city.
The room was clean and tasteful, although on the small side. The bathroom was also small, but adequate - with a huge shower.
The window of our room faced onto a hallway overlooking the "courtyard." I was concerned about what the noise level might be overnight, but this turned out not to be an issue. However, it was a little disconcerting not to be able to look outside for views or confirmation of the weather. Next time, I would ask for an outside facing room.
The staff was very helpful.
The lobby is attractive, with lots of seating areas. The "bistro" was adequate, but nothing special; also, its hours of operations are limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRF131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to let us know what a great time you had at our property. Our goal is to make sure that every guest is satisfied and we hope that we met your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My girlfriend treated me to a quick getaway to nola and booked this hotel through priceline. Let me start by saying this hotel is in the perfect location with quick and easy access to the French quarter the casinos and all points of interest in the city. The room was on the smaller side but still well appointed with a comfortable bed and nice amenities and furnishings.
My one gripe with the hotel is that the customer service is absolutely horrible. The gentlemen that checked us in never once took the time to acknowledge us, he took my girlfriends id plopped it on the laptop screen typed on his computer with a I hate the world look on his face, We were off to or room without a enjoy your stay or welcome to New Orleans, After a night out on the town we called to ask for a late check out only to be quickly told that I would have to call back at seven am for a late check out, "most people who ask for a late checkout don't want to wake up at seven am to ask for a late check out only to go back to sleep" this gentlemen should have already known what the projected capacity was of the hotel and given me a simple yes or no answer. I did call the next day for a late check out at 9 30 am when I woke up and was told by the woman working the front desk "I already done given 20 late checkouts today cant give anymore". very rude and what angered me more was if she had given out 20 late checkouts then why did the person working the over night have the ability to give me one I will chalk that up to laziness. Such a same a hotel in a perfect location with such nice rooms can be spoiled by the customer service

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prdtpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to complete a survey. Please accept our apology for any opportunity for improvement that you have. Please be assured that each opportunity will be addressed. We invite you back to our property to see our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am a big fan of Marriott Hotels and this one is very nice and updated. The staff was very friendly and the hotel felt secure. The great part of this hotel is that it is walking distance to a lot of New Orleans sites. It is right across the street from Bourbon street. So after you have had a few you can just stumble on home. Will definitely come back here to party in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Get a high floor as the street noise and noise from the nightlife can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to post a comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and welcome you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We got two rooms with an outside view to St. Charles, one for the kids and another for my wife and me; the rooms are very clean, bright and have a modern feel to them, just like the Hotel pics available here.

The beds are great, the shower runs hot and strong and the air conditioner is very simple to use; these things are very important because you will walk a lot in the hot and humid July weather.

It is true what you read from other reviewers, the staff is very friendly and always available.

I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: There are rooms that do have an inner courtyard window; ask for rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beta1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and letting everyone know, what a great time you had staying with us. It's great that we could accommodate you and your family. We welcome you back. Consider, the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown near the French Quarter, your Big Easy, Home Away From Home!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Marriott properties typically provide consistency and good quality, but this room was really not great. All things considered, it was ok, but the only 'window' looked into the hallway, so we got zero sunlight. It had the effect of feeling like we were staying the the Courtyard's broom closet.

If you stay here, get an 'outside' room.

Room Tip: Get an 'outside' room (i.e. make sure you have a window to the outside world)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinTSh7529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Your concerns have been noted. Please let us know when you plan to come back to New Orleans and we can explore more room options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting New Orleans for our anniversary in July. We picked this hotel because of the Marriott points we had accrued and could use, and because of the location to the area we wanted to explore. The hotel was good enough for this purpose - we were planning to be out and about most of the time anyway. Found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful with good suggestions for food and other activities. An ongoing issue however was the musty smell upon returning to our room each time. Though the common areas smelled nice - some sort of fragrance - our room did not. Also, two times the housekeeping staff did not give us washcloths - the first time I just thought it was an oversight but then it happened again. Had to request some, which should not be the case. In addition, we got a wake-up call abruptly early one morning that we did not ask for (but once jolted awake we couldn't go back to sleep). And we asked for a late checkout, which we were accommodated with, but then we still got calls and knocks on the door anyway even though we had made this prearrangement. Still we had a great time and the walking and/or streetcar access to everything made the aforementioned issues worth our stay here. One tip while traveling in New Orleans: we are from the Pacific NW, so different climate and time zone. We found that doing early morning outings or excursions, then coming back midday to rest and clean up before going out again worked great. That way we could enjoy the local flavor till late and beat the daytime heat and humidity for the most part. Also, really enjoyed the jazz on Frenchman street.

Room Tip: My husband requested a room on the top floor away from the streetcar line so it would be quieter, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Karen thank you for staying with us and taking the time to complete a survey regarding your stay. Please be advised that each opportunity that was listed in your comment is being addressed immediately. We appreciate your honesty in your feedback and we hope that during your next stay you notice our progression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing