We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tonawanda, New York, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for a conference being held at the convention center. It is about 1 mile away and a easy walk. Most conventions provide shuttle service anyway. The hotel is in an ideal location to visit downtown NOLA (New Orleans Louisiana). It is half a block off Canal Street which is one of the main drags and the boundary of the French Quarter. One block up and you are at the infamous Bourbon Street.

Every staff person here greeted me each time I passed them. When I needed help, there were usually at least 2 people offering the help. My room was neat and very clean. The maid even folded a flower out of the TP, instead of just the standard point. Nice touch.

The rooms are a bit on the small size, not surprising for a big city. The one thing I didn't like was that the only window in most rooms is back into the hallway because of the layout and location of the building. I know it provides a bit more light, but I kept the curtains drawn all four days I was there.

If you are going to NOLA to work, eat, shop or just party, this is a good choice. The friendly staff put them over the top. I didn't mind the small room because I was only in it to sleep, and plan my conference schedule for the next day. I didn't need a car, or any other form of transportation to get many fine meals and entertainment. I walked everywhere from here and loved it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Greetings!


Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Near the French Quarter on your most recent visit to New Orleans!
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    230
    77
    22
    17
See reviews for
99
165
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown,PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice and clean rooms. Location is perfect if staying here during Mardi Gras for the parade passes right in front of the hotel. Walking distance to Bourbon St., Cafe Dumonde, French Market and Jackson Square. Shops and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Greetings!


Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Near the French Quarter on your most recent visit to New Orleans!
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great location right near Canal and Bourbon street, you don't need a car - can walk everywhere. Desk staff not super friendly, but the rest of house were nice enough. Room were 'okay'. They all face towards an indoor 'courtyard' which means no outside windows or views. However in NOLA this can be a good thing because it can get noisy at night... stayed at the Royal Sonesta once and didn't sleep a wink due to all the partying below. So if you want quiet when it's time to be quiet - this hotel works. Very clean, serviceable and centrally located. Would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Greetings! Thanks for staying at the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown. We appreciate your comments. I can assure you that immediate actions have been taken to improve the service level. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. It is rewarding to hear that you were able to find comfort and quietness in our spacious guestrooms. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Friendliest staff I have encountered in any hotel in the US. Location is good - a block from the action of the French Quarter - but far enough away to escape the noise. A few iconic (but basic) restaurants are adjacent. Avoid the queues on Bourbon Street!

Room Tip: This is one of three Courtyards and many Marriott's in New Orleans. Don't go to the wrong on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerykAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Greetings! I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. Our associates, at the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, pride ourselves in delivering excellent service and keeping our hotel clean. Whenever you are in the Big Easy again, please allow us the opportuntity to service you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a long due review of a business trip I did last may to the Big Easy, the hotel location is very good, very close to the French Quarters, rooms are well appointed and spotless clean, and the staff is outstanding I should say. They where very helpful with tips, and orientation about do's and don'ts on the city, and local restaurants, and they really care about your needs.

The hotel has great Starbuck's coffee on their cafeteria, so in one sentence: They pretty much have everything set for a nice stay, the only thing was the gym, I went for a morning run on the treadmill because it was raining badly outside, and one of the machines was out of order, the other one was not working properly, and the walls of the place had humidity stain spots, so I did some spinning on the stationary bike, on the end of my workout....no water..the machine was broken.

Hopefully by now the gym has been revamped, so if it has... the hotel has got its act together and ready for a great stay, for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us.

At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service.

As an update, the gym renovation was completed in September 2013. We have expanded the area and more workout equipments were acquired to that enable guests to maintain their healthy lifestyle. Again, thank you for chossing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcbenz34
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel because it was a great place to chill and get away from the hustle of New Orleans. No airport shuttle ($33 flat rate to the airport), no free breakfast (nice place inside the hotel and a PJ's coffee across the street), but helpful, friendly staff. Across from the St. Charles street car, and less than 5 minutes to walk to Bourbon Street. Rooms were clean, wifi was free and reliable, and the bathrooms seemed to be recently remodeled. Enjoy NO!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kcbenz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Couryard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. We truly appreciate the wondeful feedback mentioned to improve our service. All of our associates value your continued loyalty and partnership with Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location just off Canal Street and right in front of the St. Charles Ave. streetcar stop. Staff is extremely friendly, bed was comfortable, room was big, and hotel was clean. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Greetings! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your most recent trip to New Orleans! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Big Easy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#56 of 161 in New Orleans
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
3,297 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing