We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for outside facing room with balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #96 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

grest location,but get a room faacing out with balcony, not an inside room. some noise from traffic but its nola. heat and ac were tough to regulate. helpful staff, esp Justin. Tell them Marcnjerrri sent you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcnjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 580 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Location to Bourbon Street is ideal. It is a very short walk across Canal Street. The rooms are adequate and the staff is quite helpful. The rooms tend to have thin interior walls. However, the exterior walls permit no outside noise. Housekeeping is excellent. I suggest a little more shampoo and conditioner be provided. Those little bottles are hardly sufficient for one. In conclusion, the rooms are ordinary, the staff is excellent and the location is great.

Room Tip: Rooms the look onto St Charles may have a more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This Courtyard is right on St Charles. Across the street is the streetcar stop which will take you all over New Orleans. A short block to Canal St. One block over is Bourbon St and all the nightlife that entails. Within a few blocks down Canal is the only land based casino in Louisiana.
Across Canal is Royal St. with antique shops, art galleries and eclectic stores. Easy walk to the French Market and banks of the Mississippi River. Parking is valet and not inexpensive, but has unlimited in and out during your stay. When I come I don't rent a car and just take a shuttle from the airport to the hotel. Friendly staff. This is a small hotel and if you stay for a few days the staff will recognize you and greet you as you come and go. For a hotel this size the fitness center is well equipped.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We celebrated a very special surprise 50th birthday for my husband with a trip to the French Quarter in New Orleans Thanksgiving weekend. Family and close friends joined us and I selected this hotel for everyone. The hotel is in a great location...a few blocks from the noise and craziness of Bourbon Street but close enough so that we did not have to take taxis! No help with baggage as we arrived at the hotel. If I had not known that check in was on the second floor, we would have been confused. The room was as expected, typical of Courtyards, which was great. But the front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. They did not greet us in a positive manner. They acted like we were interrupting them when we tried to check in. Later when we asked for advice on directions, they could not help us. When we checked out, their service was worse...and a manager was standing there. Now it was a busy weekend. However, I was really disappointed that I did not get the usual higher level of service that I am used to at Marriott properties. I travel at least once or twice a month and have been choosing to stay at the Marriott properties due to their service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCT1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying at one of our Marriott properties in New Orleans. Unfortunately, our front desk is located on the first floor immediately to the right as you enter not on the second floor as mention. Perhaps, you stayed at a different location but we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your Marriott experience. If you are ever in the area again, please make Marriott your primary lodging preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here recently attending a Nat Geo photo course and had hoped for the typical Marriot quality hotel. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. Rooms were small (understandable) but the noise from adjoining rooms was incredible. IN room 218 and when the neighboring room used the shower/tub - it was so loud we thought they were in our room. And they took very long showers/baths in the middle of the night 2 am. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly and the price was good - just would not stay here again - especially since our photo assignments were at sunrise necessitating awakening at 530 am.

Room Tip: Don't use room 218 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. We understand that you experience noise during your stay and truly apologize for the inconvenience. Our walls have been built accordingly to standards. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This visit was for business, but I went with my husband just for relaxation! The parking is quite pricey (valet only), the room was perfect! It didn't face St. Charles street (no street noise) and it was nice and dark! The room was in good shape and the lobby was nice and clean. Overall a good hotel that is close to everything!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank grayfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

One block off Canal this hotel is very close to the Quarter and all it has to offer which is a good thing as you probably wont be spending much time in your room! Average is a good description of the room, bed bathroom and TV, kind of what I would expect of Motel 6. Clean lobby but our room had an old toothbrush sticking behind the mirror so it made me wonder about the beds? Very nice front desk staff but the valet parking was lacking as there was very little space to pull off the street and the lot was blocks away so the wait for your car was very long and at $34.00 a day not cheap. There is a Starbucks in the lobby so don't expect any free coffee in the morning on your way out. Also a funny thing, our phones in the room had no info plate to let you know what button to push for Valet, front desk, service, etc. If you need a room and every other Marriott property is booked than this will do.

Room Tip: No suites of any kind and the rooms are all small and don't expect a view, we were on the 6th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We have noted your concerns and have address them accordingly. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $114 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality service and comfort come together at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. Nested in the heart of the city, our hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. With a St. Charles Streetcar stop right outside our doors, we make it easy to access renowned sights including Audubon Nature Institute, home to a widely popular zoo and aquarium. Feel immersed in the city with the locally inspired decor featured in all rooms and suites. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs help you feel at home in The Big Easy. A scenic backdrop and private balcony are available in select accommodations. Visit The Bistro for breakfast and energizing Starbucks® drinks, then stop by in the evening for dinner and handcrafted cocktails. During downtime, work out in our fitness center. Jazz up travel plans and discover Cajun culture while at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing