We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #90 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends Memorial Day weekend. Most hotels were packed but got a satisfactory deal on a hotel with a balcony on St. Charles St. Not much to see, but it's nice to be able to step out of the room. The streetcars run up and down St. Charles all the time and can get very noisy. I could see how it could become annoying after a while. It's just a quick walk across Canal to the French Quarter, but far enough away that crazy groups of partiers aren't a problem. The staff was really friendly. The room was a good size and the bathroom seemed new. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 575 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Actually, I really good hotel. Perfect location to walk to everything, a very clean room and affordable. Only downside is these is not a pool. You can however use the hotel next door on the roof. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAIS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are pleased that we meet your expectations. We also appreciate your comments with regards to our location. We will also be expanding our gym and adding more amazing additional features. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is quite good, being very close to Canal Street and Bourbon St. However, most of the rooms don't have outside windows. Instead, they have windows that overlook an inner corridor.....in my case I arrived there at 6 pm and left the following day at 7 am, so this didn't bother me much. However, if I would have stayed a couple of days, the absence of sunshine/light would have made me want to switch to another place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capodicapi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The rooms are very nice. The beds are quite comfortable. They have a guest laundry which makes it very handy for travellers who have been on the road for a while. The staff are so polite and more than happy to help you. However we booked for three adults and included breakfast in our package, but when it came to ordering breakfast we were only allowed to order two adult meals and one for the childs menu. It was very close to Canal Street, and the street cars ran up the street just out side and for only a few $'s a day it was inexpensive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Recently remodeled and nice but pretty pricey. I would have expected a much nicer view for what I paid for this place. As a matter of fact I had no view. The room was nice, clean, and well kept. The bed was hard. Nice lobby area and they serve a light breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok, so I travel a ton and always at a Marriott. Pretty much every week for the last 9 years. 1,100+ nights with Marriott. Starting to do some of these reviews to help others out.

First things first, New Orleans is a great city and you wanna stay in the French Quarter. I stay here at this hotel at least once a year, and sometimes several times a year. You have other options - the full service Marriott and JW are on Canal St. and are nice, but more expensive. This hotel is cheaper and is right in the Quarter as well and a block off of Bourbon. You can stay here, have the valet park your car (not cheap - like $20-$28 per day or something) and never need your car again. Actually, I'd advise AGAINST you even getting a car and just take a cab from the airport and have them drop you off here.

The hotel is fine. Its a Courtyard. Its in a great location. Not as luxury as a Marriott, but not run down. Will get the job done. Its on the other side of Canal so you cross Canal, walk a block to your left, and boom - you have Bourbon St. Casino is 10-minute walk to your right once you hit Canal. Best bang for your buck as far as Marriotts go in the Quarter, and a great location. My 2nd choice in "bang for your buck" with a good location is actually the Holiday Inn Express right off of Canal. My 3rd choice is the full-service Marriott right on Canal - less than a block from Bourbon St.

Enjoy. Here's a few places to go if you like bars and restaurants: Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop (oldest free standing bar in New Orleans), Port of Call (a long walk but worth it. get there early for dinner), the "Peanut Butter Bacon Burger" at Yo Mama's is memorable - you love it or ya hate it. Old Absinthe House. French Market. Cafe Du Monde. New Orleans Cigar Factory on Decatur St. ( you see them rolling cigars in there... feels straight from Cuba). Jackson Square. Harrah's Casino. Brunch at Antoine's. lots of other spots... all walking distance... too many to name here. just go. you'll love New Orleans. you'll like the Courtyard. Nothing flashy, but it gets the job done. Consistent. Get a hand grenade drink while you're there too. Maybe a gin fizz. Definitely get some blackened redfish, jambalaya, crawfish boil if in season, gumbo, etc... as your food options. The bloody mary at the open air restaurant at the French Market is splendid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gumbywes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a family vacation to New Orleans. The hotel is near the French quarter, bourbon st, harrahs and the streetcars. The valet parking was expensive, but worth the convenience. The staff was very helpful out whole stay and even held our bags for us on the day of our departure so we wouldn't have to carry them around. There is a little bar for breakfast and late snacks. My only complaint our whole trip was that the beds were pretty uncomfortable. However, even with that, I think we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetoroadtrip82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 167 in New Orleans
1,451 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 167 in New Orleans
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 167 in New Orleans
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $122 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality service and comfort come together at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. Nested in the heart of the city, our hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. With a St. Charles Streetcar stop right outside our doors, we make it easy to access renowned sights including Audubon Nature Institute, home to a widely popular zoo and aquarium. Feel immersed in the city with the locally inspired decor featured in all rooms and suites. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs help you feel at home in The Big Easy. A scenic backdrop and private balcony are available in select accommodations. Visit The Bistro for breakfast and energizing Starbucks® drinks, then stop by in the evening for dinner and handcrafted cocktails. During downtime, work out in our fitness center. Jazz up travel plans and discover Cajun culture while at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing