We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Some important gaps in service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some important gaps in service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

As others have said, great location and a nice lobby area, albeit pricey. The area is noisy, but that is perhaps to be expected given the location. However, I have two experiences that should give others some heed about this property. First, I needed a 5am cab to the airport. The desk clerk (the day before) said, "no problem, just come down and we'll get you one." That seemed a bit too loose for my taste and I asked that evening that a cab be reserved for me at 5am which was done (written down, etc). The next morning, no cab. The desk clerk indicated that it was unlikely he could get a me a cab...he made a phone call and said there were no cabs. His lack of concern and complete absence of effort to help me was unlike anything I've ever seen. I went outside (I might add in the middle of a thunderstorm) and hailed a cab myself. The second issue is that housekeeping is sub par. The remote was sticky, two conditioners (no shampoo) and a dirty spot on the floor that was not cleaned over the course of three days. Marriott, you can do better with this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moxiefe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    223
    72
    21
    14
See reviews for
89
157
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff was very friendly.....Will definitely stay there again on my next vacation to NOLA whenever that may be! They are about a block from Canal Street and 2 blocks from Bourbon Street.....every thing is in walking distance or you can take the trolley........They also have computers and a printer for you to use.....They also serve Starbucks in the Lobby......:Loved this place the beds and pillows were very comfortable, they also had a gym and a indoor jacuzzi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfkeep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is a bargain. It is close to everything and at a price that's 30% less than the others in the area. The small drawback is that there is no breakfast included. There is a McDonald's across the street for a cheap breakfast if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: The handicapped rooms are inside (no window) and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The room was clean, comfortable and fairly quiet. Just across Canal st. From Royal and Bourbon st, the location is ideal. The staff is very friendly and the Bistro restaurant is good for an inexpensive breakfast although there was some kind of construction going on. We found the wifi very strong and reliable. The fitness center is very limited and the whirlpool was out of order. Altogether, for the price and location I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moncurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent the night here with a couple kids in tow. Overall was very pleased. Fast and easy check in. Professional staff and typical courtyard rooms (modern and very functional). Enjoyed accessibility to French quarter. If I did again I would have paid the $26 for valet. Messed around and parked in garage down the street for $30!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cybersoupnazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, quit new, amazing location and pretty small rooms. Everything ok except the noise that you can constantly hear in the rooms. The walls are like paper and you can actually hear everything from next door. Also, hotel keepers are very loud and have no respect with the doors. Don't expect to get any sleep after 8 am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oriol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting New Orleans for spring break with the family. Check in was quick and easy. We bought the breakfast package and its sooo worth the extra money. Big savings if you have a family like we did. It is conveniently located just off Canal on St. Charles. Everything is within walking distance. Rooms were very roomy and beds were very comfortable, we had a king room and a double. Staff was very helpful and courteous. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again if we return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing