We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #63 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, quit new, amazing location and pretty small rooms. Everything ok except the noise that you can constantly hear in the rooms. The walls are like paper and you can actually hear everything from next door. Also, hotel keepers are very loud and have no respect with the doors. Don't expect to get any sleep after 8 am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oriol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    211
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
82
145
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting New Orleans for spring break with the family. Check in was quick and easy. We bought the breakfast package and its sooo worth the extra money. Big savings if you have a family like we did. It is conveniently located just off Canal on St. Charles. Everything is within walking distance. Rooms were very roomy and beds were very comfortable, we had a king room and a double. Staff was very helpful and courteous. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again if we return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estados unidos
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Met all my expectations. Modern, clean, compact. $29/day parking. Location on Saint Charles at Canal Street on two streetcar lines across from Serio's deli and the Pearl Oyster House. We arrived early with reservations and were able to check right in. All the staff was first rate. Walked to Jackson Square and the French Market in 15 minutes. The Ritz Carlton and a couple of other Marriott properties are nearby as well.

Room Tip: You can upgrade and get a balcony overlooking Saint Charles Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latefordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend because Marriott messed up my reservation at the JW Marriott next door. By the time I found out this Courtyard wa all they could book me in close to the French Quarter.

The hotel is modern and in a great location. The front desk was fast and friendly. Our room wasn't ready so we had lunch and came back. No problems. All they could give us was a small room with a Queen bed. I always get a king and as a Marriott gold member I expect it. Not here. The room was so small it was like a closet. The bathroom was as big as the bedroom. The bed wasn't very comfy and they was barely enough room to walk around or store a suitcase. On the other hand, the shower was huge which I enjoyed. I know they have bigger rooms there but this one shouldn't be near the same price. It looks like something from European Vacation rather than a Courtyard Marriott. I won't stay here again if I can help it. There is a brand new Courtyard a few blocks away next to the Ritz in a better location a block off Bourbon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sublimebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
329 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having stayed at quite a few other Courtyards around the country, this is a nice enough property compared to any others, with good location for both vacation and business activities. The only drawback was the cost for my one night stay was higher than other properties around the area.
Based on this cost/performance factor, I'd rate this an average stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay oin both the hotel and the city. The courtyard is ideally positioned for exploring New Orleans. It is across the road from the French quarter and next to the downtown trolley services. the waterfront attractions are a short walk away and advice was readily available for tours and visits from the very helpful receptionists.
The rooms are great value being large, well furnished and very clean and the only complaint was the restaurant was not up to scratch for a Marriott but there are endless possibilities just outside the door

Room Tip: ask for an outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The wife and booked a room for a get away. This was as the super bowl madness was ramping up. The front desk staff was top notch. Even with all the madness check in was quick and professional. The help we received with valet parking and our bags was exceptional. Our room was spotless. The location of this hotel is perfect, just off the quarter, close to everything. The bestro service is just what you need at the end of the day or first thing in the morning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EAN_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#67 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing