We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #98 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This Courtyard is fine for the money. I agree with others the rooms are small and need the Marriott update burt it was clean and the staff was very accomodating. The breakfast was typical Courtyard. The Breakfast attendant was super nice and very eager to please. You are less than a block from Royal Street and are on the St Charles Street Car line.
All in all for the price I say thumbs up

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 4ddawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 606 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2008

My husband surprised me for an overnight trip to New Orleans. We live a little over 2 hrs away, so I have been to NO several times and stayed at some of the best hotels (Royal Sonesta, Chateau Sonesta, etc).

For the price you can not beat the location. You are 1 block over from what is considered the french quarter. You cross canal and you are on Royal, which the quarter is known for the Bourbon and Royal streets.

The hotel is ok, I wouldn't give it negative reviews, for an economical traveler looking for a decent room and location without paying $300 a night this is your place.

Just some things to note: Hotel bar isn't open on weekends only Mon - Thurs (which I thought was odd). They do have a market pantry where you can purchase beer, cokes, chips, medicine, etc. Would not recommend a 1st floor room facing street, we did and got very little sleep. Also they do have a computer you can use with internet in the lobby/bar area. One last thing, beds are super hard so if your used to a soft bed, you might wake up with a back ache.

Again as mentioned this hotel is not a luxury hotel by any means, just a good price and location for an inexpensive getaway!

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank tleray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

The Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles has a couple things going for it. First is its location, splitting the distance between the business district and bourbon street. It is right next to the J.W. Marriott and on the St Charles Streetcar line.

The hotel is clean and quiet. My room faced an interior courtyard so I didn't hear any street noise. The room was dated though seeming to come right out of 1995. There was no wireless internet access and the TV was small (probably a 19"). The bathroom was dark and the shower had some bizarre controls. The decor was corporate Marriott and didn't have much to tell me I was in New Orleans.

That said it was a clean room, the staff was very helpful. At checkin they called me by my name and the bell man was always quick to get a taxi. The morning buffet was $12.95 and was very good. The hotel was very close to bourbon street and the French quarter so the nights were never boring.

I will probably stay there again if just for the location and the staff, but Marriott (or whoever owns the hotel) needs to update the interior to match 2008 New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tempejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Just completed a nice 3-day stay. Location is great, with an easy walk to the French Quarter. It is as good or better than the many Marriott Courtyards that I have stayed at. I had a nice corner room 415 which faced the street and not the inner courtyard. The corner room was much bigger than my co-workers regular room, so ask for a corner room if you want a little extra space.

I had a little trouble sleeping due the street car passing by. Not that it was particularily noisy, I just seemed to wake up to that sound for some reason.

If you are used to staying at Marriott Courtyards, this hotel will meet your expectations. I paid $98 per night which seemed pretty reasonable for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bizztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

This hotel has a good location for the French Quarter, RiverWalk and French Market. The rooms are not huge. There was a daily breakfast buffet for $9.95. I didn't eat it, but it seemed pretty cheap. There is a hotel bar, but it rarely had anyone in it. Overall, I was happy with the stay for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cato16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

This was a wonderful no frillies hotel room. We were lucky enough to get the best room in the house with a awesome balcony. It is just the right distance from the action.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

This hotel has a great location. It is one block from Canal and Bourbon St. the rooms are a little small and they are a little loud because they all face inward (with a window facing the inside of the hotel) to a 6 or 7 story atrium. Two of the three nights I woke up to loud talking or yelling???? from the atrium.
I still rate the hotel above average because it is very clean and it has a great location. The staff was also very nice...... laid-back, casual..... but nice. I am not a very demanding traveler. I just want a clean room in a safe convenient location, and this fit the bill.
If you are downtown for a conference, YOU MUST GO OUT AND SEE THE 9TH WARD!!!!!!!! Downtown is totally put back together, but you are not getting remotely the whole story of the city till you see outside the downtown area!!!!!! I was at a conference but took a break to tour the 9th ward and it was one of the best things I did on the trip. I was much more patient with the hotel staff knowing what many of them are going through!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank planningzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
3,647 reviews
Central Business District
MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $155 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality service and comfort come together at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. Nested in the heart of the city, our hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. With a St. Charles Streetcar stop right outside our doors, we make it easy to access renowned sights including Audubon Nature Institute, home to a widely popular zoo and aquarium. Feel immersed in the city with the locally inspired decor featured in all rooms and suites. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs help you feel at home in The Big Easy. A scenic backdrop and private balcony are available in select accommodations. Visit The Bistro for breakfast and energizing Starbucks® drinks, then stop by in the evening for dinner and handcrafted cocktails. During downtime, work out in our fitness center. Jazz up travel plans and discover Cajun culture while at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing