We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #98 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose to stay here as part of our round-trip Amtrak trip. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased. We got in on Amtrak about 9:30 PM and caught a cab to this Courtyard Marriott just a block from Bourbon Street.

We had a great lady to check us in and when we mentioned my husband's damaged knee, she upgraded us to an accessible room which was right around the corner from the desk. We got the AAA rate which included breakfast which was a very good deal. Coffee was available in this area and also water so we felt very well taken care of.

The lobby furniture was clean and comfortable and laid out in an attractive pattern so we felt we were in a much more expensive hotel. What a deal! I hope they are running the same deal when we return to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - you *are* in New Orleans and expect some noise from partying neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brahmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week over Halloween. First let me say that the location of the hotel was perfect. It was just off of Canal, and 2 blocks away from Bourbon. It was close to the French Quarter without having to deal with all of the noise that can come with staying in the FQ. The room was a great size with plenty of space for all of our bags. The bathroom was a little small and it was hard for the 2 of us to be in there at the same time, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The front desk was very helpful in recommending places to eat, as well as setting up our tours and what not. I would definitely recommend staying her, and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shannb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this hotel as a last resort when most other hotels in the area were booked for a conference, but we're extremely glad we did. It had clean rooms, courteous staff, and easy access to walk to the French Quarter or bus to the Garden District. It was just close enough to the hot spots of New Orleans to make for easy trips, but far enough away that we could get some rest when we headed back to our room. Absolutely perfect for location.

If I could improve one thing, it would be the curtains. The window looks directly into the bed and the courtyard style meant the windows were looking in from the hallways and other rooms. The curtains worked fine for privacy, but never quite closed all the way, leaving a small gap. I had to prop them closed with my laptop bag to make sure a gust of the air conditioning didn't expose us in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SporkyReeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just spent a week here and the hotel staff is very friendly, always saying hello and the door greeter always says, 'Welcome Back' when you return to the hotel. The room was clean, but the pillows on the bed were small, not the larger pillows found at most Marriott's. The front desk staff wore football t-shirts instead of Marriott outfits, which I found unprofessional and frankly, weird, but they were friendly and helpful. The hotel is 1 block from Bourbon street, making the location nearly perfect. A short walk to the casino and just down from beautiful Royal Street. This isn't the best Marriott I have stayed at, but it is in the top 5 overall and with its perfect location...I will definitely stay here again when I head back to the Big Easy..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richardr285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised. Although the room is not huge, it is decent size and there was plenty of room for my sister and me. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
We never made it to the breakfast that was available but the staff was accomodating in allowing us to get a yogurt at no cost.
The location is great - it is a very easy walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Harrah's, Superdome, etc. We did not take public transportation at all during our stay here as we were able to walk everywhere.
There was a city wide water treatment problem where you were advised to not use the water to wash your face and brush your teeth. It lasted about 24 hours and the hotel provided plenty of bottled water.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDRivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 4 day visit to New Orleans for a wedding. We were very happy with our hotel choice - it made getting around a dream as it really is right in the middle of everything a visitor could wish for. The hotel is a wonderful surprise as it looks like not much from the outside, amazing on the inside. Very spacious lobby area with a wonderful fireside living room for catching up with friends. Great breakfast dining area that was always filled with guests. The staff was friendly, the advice and help with getting around, doing tours etc was top notch. Our room was comfortable, bed was great, pillows got a gold star. However, I recommend requesting a room on the second floor. We were on the ground floor & our room was on a parking lot with cars pulled up right against our window which was a bit disconcerting. Otherwise, great value in a great city!

Room Tip: Definitely request second floor and up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrynjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed three nights at this Courtyard on St. Charles just blocks from the French Quarter and on the Canal and St. Charles Streetcar lines. We had a beautiful corner room and it was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a JW Marriott right next door that charges over a $100 more a night, at least. St. Charles St. become Royal Street in the French Quarter. The hotel is near some of the best restaurants within Walking distance. It is not far to walk to Jackson Square or the Harrah's Casino. One can catch the Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus at Harrah's and also the Riverside Streetcar line. We enjoyed our stay here very much. Dennis of the door staff was very helpful all week.

Room Tip: Parking is valet and it is worth the cost to just leave one's car for the duration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CptCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $115 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality service and comfort come together at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. Nested in the heart of the city, our hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. With a St. Charles Streetcar stop right outside our doors, we make it easy to access renowned sights including Audubon Nature Institute, home to a widely popular zoo and aquarium. Feel immersed in the city with the locally inspired decor featured in all rooms and suites. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs help you feel at home in The Big Easy. A scenic backdrop and private balcony are available in select accommodations. Visit The Bistro for breakfast and energizing Starbucks® drinks, then stop by in the evening for dinner and handcrafted cocktails. During downtime, work out in our fitness center. Jazz up travel plans and discover Cajun culture while at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing