We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
BATON ROUGE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My Family & I stayed here over the weekend, this is a wonderful hotel. The cleanliness, location, & the Staff where amazing. I really love how they upgraded the hotel itself & the rooms. The showers in the bathrooms are so gorgeous, the location is perfect your only a block from Canal St. I will most def be returning to lodge here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMMEBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    244
    83
    22
    17
See reviews for
103
176
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for couple nights on Mardi Gras and the location was perfect as it was right on main parade route, and only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter where all the fun chaos goes down. We had bigger rooms with 2 double beds and fridge, which we used as gathering place before hitting streets. Another couple with us got the smaller room with one king bed and no fridge, but the room was great for them two. Beds and pillows were comfortable, appearance was nice and contemporary.. can't really think of any negatives. I can't speak of room service since we were not there for that, but staff was very friendly and accommodating. We got lucky and got a great rare deal for the dates we stayed, but regular price is more than justified as this hotel feels more like 4 star rather than its 3 star rating. We would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for Mardi Gras!

Room Tip: If you really need a fridge and big room, request the 2 double bed room.. though the king bed room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Basilio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Perfect for our Mardi Gras visit! Our room was clean and nicely decorated. In fact, the lobby area also seems to have had a nice face lift recently. Breakfast staff was friendly and patient. Our family (me and husband, 2 daughters) all stayed in one room but housekeeping kept leaving us 3 bath towels so each day we had to ask for more towels. They brought them to us very quickly though. Had trouble with room phone which they quickly replaced. Location is perfect for watching parades, shopping downtown, exploring French Quarter.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bocatherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in July on my first trip to New Orleans. The staff was very friendly and my room was clean although not overly nice (it could use an updating). The main negative was that I did not feel safe in that neighborhood. I was on a work trip and when I did need to be out on my own I did not feel very comfortable (to be fair New Orleans in general seems a bit scary, I am not sure if this street/area was actually bad or that was just the whole city). Also, the one night when I was there the smoke alarms and hotel evacuation system went off. Thankfully there wasn't a fire and I guess I should be glad that their systems work but it was pretty scary and caused a panic with myself and other guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma CIty
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed one Saturday night Jan 2012. We booked two rooms, one king for 2 and one double for 4 through marriott's website and rates were approx 220 and 260 per night including breakfast. Parking is valet and was approx 30 night.

Check in was fairly painless but tried to give us two kings so had to remind them that needed a double. No mention that my package that was preshipped had arrived. The staff member was having several different conversations with several different people while trying to help me.

Went to the rooms. The double was fine. The king was the smallest room I have ever stayed in (smaller than rooms in europe). I went down to inquire about my package and asked about the size of the room. The clerk responded that I must be in a room ending in 14 and that they were the smallest in the hotel as the are really just an adjoining bedroom to the corner suites. No offer to change room. (Not to be snobby but why would you put one of your elite members in the smallest rooms in your hotel? So much for inspiring brand loyalty)
During this conversation, the clerk was having other conversations that she initiated with other staff members and other guests walking by.

Late that evening, I decided to go for a walk and eralized that I left my jacket im my car in valet. I went downstairs and the lobby was empty except for 4-6 staff members in the lobby joking around. I had to ask who the valet was. After explaining what I needed, they went back to joking around. Finally, about 5 minutes later, another valet went and got my jacket.

Rooms were nice and comfortable. There was toothpaste on the door jam in our room. It was a nice clear green color that was easily noticeable about 3 1/2 feet up from floor next to the sink. Did not hear any noise. The king room was in the backside of a little hallway which was block by maid cart. Although the maid saw us lifting or luggage up and carrying sideways to get through, she made no effort or offer to miove it.

Breakfast was included in our rate so we went down for breakfast. The breakfast is in the lobby where you order at the counter. You basically get your choice from the menu which is somewhat limited. The food was decent. Service was horrible. we were not sure we were in the right place and waited at the counter to ask. The girl working the counter does not talk to you or recognize you until she is ready to. Not even a hello or be right with you. She looked like she needed more help behind the counter as she was preparing some of the breakfast items as well as drinks herseld while waiting on the counter. She only did one thing at a time and would not talk to youuntil wshe was finished with what she was doing. When she did help us, she was not friendly and left us to figure out how to get our drinks ...ie, take prepackage milk cartons from the cooler or would they bring out with the meal.

At check out time, valet brought car around and disappeared. No offer to help with luggage or directions.

I rated this hotel average because the facility is nice and as a general rule, service is poor
in New Orleans. However, I expect more from marriott brands and they did not live up to that expectation. The Comfort Suites by Carlson located several blocks away is a far better value and service is much better.

Location wise, it is very close to Bourbon.

Room Tip: Do not take a room with number ending ending in 14 as the are the smallest in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okcJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard for two nights the first week in January. The hotel has just completed a full renovation, so it feels brand new. Our room was standard, but very clean, updated and surprisingly quiet. The location was perfect and within walking distance to the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, and the Superdome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The lobby and the restaurant are beautiful. It's updated and looks exactly like what a property in a major city should look like. We stayed over the Christmas holiday weekend and the hotel was pretty quiet overall. Speaking of quiet, the room we were in faced a side street and we didn't hear any street noise at all during our two-night stay.

The staff was phenomenal. We were there Chistmas morning and the hotel had closed down the breakfast restuarant early because no one seemed to be eating there--well, until my husband and I showed up. Even though they were already closed, the Marriott employee who was just about ready to leave and go home to her family made sure we didn't go hungry and actually found breakfast sandwiches for us, heated them up, gave us fruit, yogurt and juices. Oh, and she didn't charge us for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,360 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing