We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #146 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A nightmare since we stepped into this hotel! Still can't understand how is this business even allowed to run?? Isn't there ANY governing body for inspecting the bare minimum standard n hygiene for the hotel business at all???? With the danger of the TV above the bed about to fall in our heads, non-working A/C dangling out of the wall, insects crawling out of the cracked walls of bathroom, pubic hair in bed sheets n towels, water flooding the bathroom through leaked sink, mattress of the bed covered in bedbug protection plastic sheet which felt so uncomfortable sleeping over the plastic. These descriptions doesn't do enough justice to the actual condition of this hotel!! You will see prostitutes and cracks walking around the corridors. To add to all, in the middle of night a lady runs up n down the corridor that her money is stolen from her room n warning everybody else!!!! Still the management in the front desk says she cant do anything about it!!WTF!!!

We have seen the management is very cunningly clever in trapping their customers. Few people came in the night for booking and being cautious about the hotel they wanted to check the room before booking. However the management refused to show them any room prior to booking, which according to me is a clear trap to hide their dirty filthy business!!

But alas, we had to bear this torture for 3 nights since we did prior online booking with all payment done. We booked this hotel as it was only affordable hotel in prime location of French Quarter at $70 a night during the new year rush. WORST n most unforgettable HOTEL experience ever!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank foodie_delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    34
    29
    133
See reviews for
17
66
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A dump. Indifferent to rude staff. Notices about crime posted everywhere don't inspire confidence. Ran into a biker in Marigny who warned me to stay below Saint Claude Avenue, which is a grimy urban boulevard, if I wanted to stay safe. Guess where this is. For almost the same price, you can get an night at the Ellis, a boutique hotel in downtown Atlanta. No places to eat in the immediate area.

Used the password for the WiFi but it didn't work. The television was a tube set mounted to the ceiling with a remote that didn't work, which means you had to stand on the bed to change the channels. That's OK. The walls were so thin so that you could listen to the people next door for entertainment.

The bedspread had cigarette burns. Roach motels in the bathroom. No cups with the coffee served on the balcony in the morning and it ran out after four persons used it. The couple I talked to had slept previously in a cemetery, which might have been a downgrade. The free soap was miniscule. The only redeeming quality is that the vending machines on the second floor only charge a dollar.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, but if you have to, second floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannibal_Chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to in my life. I normally don't give reviews on hotels but I feel compelled to do it for whomever is reading. The room is probably 100 square feet. It's ghetto nasty and filthy. The bed feels like you are sleeping on the floor. There is no fridge or microwave in the room. And you have to pay for ice. Also they gave us one towel for two people in a three day stay. Oh yeah they also have ROACHES. I know it's cheep but pay the extra money please! DO Not stay here it will be a huge mistake that you will be angry about. Believe me this hotel is a f- way to much. They will try to make you feel like you should book before they fill up. I feel that this is just a strategy because you would never come here again......

Room Tip: Don't ever rent here it is nasty ghetto and well below sub standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

.Gross,rotten floor,blood spatter from junkies needles on walls,hookers,trannys,drug dealers,rude staff,and a rude cruel owner Joan Brooks has no compassion for humans. Only money. She has to pay the inspectors off to keep this barely habitable place in what they call buisiness. 0 STARS. The Empress Hotel is evil.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank turkeynoodlesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was great as far as location was concerned. The staff was excellent, very helpfull. The people that stayed there were very friendly and helpfull in finding the good places to eat- mom and pop joints. The surrounding area looks a bit rough but there were no problems in going to and from the Quarter. It is an old hotel so all and all it matches the rest of New Orleans. The city has great history. Loved my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BNER5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Having left booking accommodation in New Orleans to the last moment and having an Airbnb possibility fall through the Empress was one of the only places within walking distance of the French Quarter with rooms within our budget. Even so we still paid over $70 per night which is well over the amount many other reviewers are reporting. We were however very heartened to see a rainbow flag flying from the balcony.
The positive points about this Hotel are:
- a sensational location - within walking distance of the French quarter, Louis Armstrong Park and fantastic cultural areas of interest within Treme if you want to go looking (we even walked down to City Park which was a bit further than expected but still okay for two old girls)
- 24 hour reception
- we always felt safe walking home from the French Quarter at night
- when the coffee was available in the morning it was really good
- wifi was free as well as fast and strong
- one particular staff member was incredibly friendly and helpful - she helped us with a range of things from finding a good hairdresser to show
- our room was kept clean
- taxi service was extremely prompt

The areas that could be improved are:
- the only public area for use of the wifi (it didn't work in our room) was on the upstairs balcony which was also the area where all the guests and staff used as their smoking area. It is also the area where people eat (there is a microwave on this balcony also) and get coffee in the mornings so it was pretty unpleasant as it seemed that EVERYONE smoked......endlessly.
- plastic mattress covers make the beds very uncomfortable as the sheets are placed directly on top of these.
- staff helpfulness and politeness was a hit and miss affair - as mentioned above there was one particular staff member who was a stand out and the rest ranged from outright hostile to mildly disinterested.
- while the rooms are kept clean they are very shabby with peeling paint on walls and ceiling, floorboards in the bathroom are clearly disintegrating as soft spots are evident under the vinyl covering, cigarette burns adorn the vinyl floor covering in the bathroom and the bathtub paint job from many, many years ago is peeling away bit by bit.
- TV picture was displaying in negative colours (Room 211)
- there is nowhere close to get breakfast or breakfast supplies (we did ask for directions but the staff member on duty that morning shrugged and couldn't tell us)

Having said all that we had a fantastic 7 days in NO and our experience of the immediate neighboured was a good one - locals we met while walking around we're very friendly, the houses were beautiful with,Amy in the process of being renovated and with Halloween approaching the decorations were fabulous.

Room Tip: If you get a room close to the front of the building the wifi is more likely to work in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We could not even stay here because of the amount of prostitutes. When we arrived here, there were hookers in the parking lot and the hotel lobby. The receptionists would not touch anything without wearing surgical gloves which is disgusting. The kids were terrified to even get out of the car when we pulled up. When we got back to the car, there were x-rated adult things going on in the car next to us that nobody needed to see.
We could not get hold of the hotel manager for our entire stay in New Orleans. When you leave the hotel, you have to leave your key at the front desk which seems to be shady.
This hotel is located in an unsafe neighborhood. We were being yelled at constantly walking from the parking lot to the hotel. This is highly inappropriate and was not appreciated.
This hotel is one of the worst hotels I've ever pulled up to, let alone attempted to stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE! It is very unsafe all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#106 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#134 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#114 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing