We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empress Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$210
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$151
$117
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$130
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$197
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
26
38
35
31
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
38
35
31
149
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 279 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Walking in here was like walking into the reception of a mental hospital. The room was really gross, crappy small old bed, just manky and dirty looking. The other "guests" were more like long term mental patient boarders, because the whole place is more like a boarding house than a hotel. I would not call this a hotel. There is no phone in the room to call reception, it is expensive for how awful it is (even though its likely the cheapest), and we did not feel safe there whatsoever. I would not recommend staying here. The Olde Town Inn, however, is about the same price or less, and is AMAZING. Stay there instead!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We are an economy hotel and are the best deal in town. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling through New Orleans on our way to Florida. We found this nice little hotel while site seeing in Treme. They had off street parking which was a plus. Upon coming in the hotel it was very clean and the clerk was very friendly. While checking us in we asked her what are somethings we can do while in New Orleans and she set us up a tour for the next morning as well as places to eat for dinner and breakfast. The room was clean and it smelled nice. We had a lovely time overall. In fact we stayed an extra night because it was such a lovely place and New Orleans is as well. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadaturnerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come again :) We have more and different tours available now :)

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My friend booked this room for us to attend her wedding and we did not see or hear anything about the hotel before arriving there. It is in a horrible area and is one of the creepiest experiences I ever had. Literally stayed for 10 minutes and just lost our money spent on the room without argueing about it. Blood stain on the bed, no lock on the door, hotel has a curfew, bathroom was tiny and disgusting, tv is over the bed, weird desk clerk, ect. Don't even waste your time or money. Seriously would compare this place to a 1940's horror movie.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kimber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We would like to address some of these: First, we would have absolutely taken care of the bed situation if that happened. Second: The area is historic throughout history and lively and diverse. Third: All of our rooms lock and have locks. Fourth: Our rooms, and bathrooms, are small but clean and great price for the value. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you need a place to crash while you are out on Bourban street having fun then this place is suitable for your needs. If you are needing something more classy then don't go here. We paid for what they classified for a 'large' room and quite frankly it was small. My fiance laughed and called the place a prison but I thought it was fine. It was indeed small and only had a bed and a small chair in the bedroom. The bathroom was small with no amenities. Like I said we checked in super late and went straight out and came in late and were there for the one night. It fit our needs and it was cheap. Within walking distance to Bourban too if you aren't gonna get too intoxicated that is. . . and i have a feeling one can smoke in their room cause their were ashtrays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review :) Some of our rooms are smoking rooms and some are non-smoking. We are glad you had a good stay. Best deal in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

How Horrible. We only stayed here for two hours, and accidentally left a bag in the bathroom. Returned for the bag not 1 hour later only to find it had been thoroughly gone thru. My jewelry was stolen, and inconveniently my hairbrush and conditioner were gone. I have been repeatedly attempting to rectify matter with managment, but cannot seem to get a call back. Finally had to resort to police. The jewelry would not have been worth anything to anyone but me, as my mother in law, deceased, had owned it. There was one gold watch and then several silver with gold overlay items. I cannot believe that the state of the rooms were so bad we had to move to begin with, and pay for a whole night even with only being there two hours....BUT to tolerate someone stealing.... DO NOT STAY HERE!!! STAY AT THE MIDTOWN....much better rooms and staff...they don't steal to my knowledge. The neighborhood is not the greatest. BUT IT IS SAFE AND SECURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND LESS EXPENSIVE. GAVE US A RATE OF 37.87 A NIGHT. I have never written a bad review for a hotel before, but felt compelled after the way I have been treated trying to sort this out amiacably..

Room Tip: Stay at the Midtown on Tulane. This is where we went. Staff is awesome and it is very secure although it is more inconvenient on location, take a cab or walk. Neighborhood is very misleading!!! Gave us a great rate and really worked with us. 37.87 a night....LOVED Them.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronianne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We are very sorry that you lost some beloved items, but you did leave them in a room for an hour. We can't be responsible for items left that way by guests. Anyone may have walked by at any time and taken your stuff...we have no way of knowing if the room was left open, which is most likely the case. You have to be responsible for your own things when you travel. Although we do often find things left in the room that we store for guests, and we try our best to get in the room as soon as the guest leaves, we only have one clerk on duty and she/he is not always able to get to the room immediately. Please understand that such an issue with left items could arise at ANY hotel, not just the Empress.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews