We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$105
$99
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal St Charles Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton New Orleans Riverside(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
$158
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of $244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$163
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$141
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
27
38
35
31
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
35
31
150
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 281 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel if you would call it one was AWEFUL the rooms are not fit for stray animals. The night we stayed, it was ROBBED! Yes thats what I said. Not safe, not clean, very loud and inconciderate guest. Nice employees, I feel for the employees, but they need employment too. Think twice before staying at this "hotel".....

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank unhappy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We do have security cameras on the premises and the hotel is locked at night. The violator was prosecuted. Unfortunately that isn't something we had control over. We apologize that you were there for that horrible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel when we were travelling around America, we wanted somewhere central and cheap so decided to book the Empress!
Its quite out-dated and old fashioned, but our room was ok, nothing special at all, but it had everything we needed. The bathroom was VERY small, but it was ok as there were only two of us and we were only staying for a couple of nights. One night we were woken to the sound of an argument in the corridor outside our room, luckily it didnt effect our sleep too badly.
We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. There was a free parking lot outside which we left our car at during the entire trip which was very useful (our car was fine, despite the fact that the hotels in a supposedly rough area).
The location was ideal for us, a few minutes walk from Bourbon Street, the French Quarter, lots of bars, restaurants and shops. In fact the hotel is situated perfectly- its close enough to the hustle and bustle of Bourbon street yet far enough away when its bed time!!

Overall, I would reccommend this hotel to travellers and young people who are just looking for a place to sleep. Despite our mainly positive experience I would'nt really reccommend it to families with kids, as there were a couple of undesirable guests around. Its a no frills hotel, and you really do get what you pay for- as long as your not expecting 5* luxury this hotel is fine!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katherine--xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Our neighborhood is right in the back of the French Quarter. It is not one of the more dangerous neighborhoods of New Orleans, but we ask that all guests have awareness. New Orleans is a city, after all. If you are coming back very late, take a taxi. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

For $100 a night, you would expect a little more.... My wife and I slept in a twin bed with the 12 inch TV dangling on the ceiling just above the foot of the bed. The restroom.... well it had a public toilet appeal to it. Had to use your foot to force the toilet to flush.

Not cool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RedstickNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We never claimed to be the Hilton. If you paid 100 dollars it was surely on a special event weekend where the rest of the city was charging twice, thrice, or even quadruple our prices. We are glad you were able to find a hotel like us who could accommodate you for such a low price. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place is at the hood of new orleans. I was dissappointed coz when I checked in they ask me for a $10 deposit then when I get to the room it was so hot coz they did not turn the AC on and the room is small, the tv is very tiny, they only give you 1 towel and 1 face towel. The horrible thing is that when its time to check out, you better check out before 12 noon or you won't get your $10 deposit. One more thing, dont leave even just one small stain on the towels and sheets or they are going to charge you for it! What a dissappointment that they would rather charge you for the towels and sheets than try and make you come back for the next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dejavu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

We do charge for absolutely ruined linen. We feel that there is no reason to destroy our linen unless you do so out of spite. We do offer any guest who ruins linen the opportunity to clean their own linen before they leave, at which time they will not be charged. We do not find this unreasonable. We are sorry you feel differently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I were in town for the Essence Music Festival and selected the selected the empress hotel for the great cost and close proximity to the french quarter (just a two block walk). I have read reviews prior to making reservations, but the nightly rate was too good for me to pass up.

We arrive, the exterior looked pretty decent, as did the lobby. While going through the process of checking in, we were told that there was a $10 deposit required of all guests- the deposit is to ensure compliance to hotel rules. I was a bit turned off by this surprise fee (as it was not mentioned to me during previous communications with staff), but I could understand why such measures were necessary. On to the room -

It'll help for you to know that it was 96 degrees (F), with a heat index of 110 degrees. On the second floor, where our room was located, there is NO A/C in hallway - they also keep the balcony doors open around the clock, so there's never any real relief when the weather is on "Hell".

We enter our room - it was even more unbearable than the hallway! There is a small a/c unit of prehistoric design, which is immediately turned on upon our entry. The accomodations are meager; small room, possibly 10ft X10ft, equipped with a small bed, chair, nightstand, portion of rug, a mirror and then the bathroom. My boyfriend and I decide to give the a/c a chance to work while check out the city and, much to our dismay, the clerk informs us that THE A/C IN NOT ALLOWED TO RUN WHEN NO OCCUPANTS ARE IN THE ROOM. <-- In 100 degree heat!! We later found out that throughout the day, front desk clerks enter each room with the sole purpose of turning of a/c units! And forget the fact that it takes at least 2hours of constant running for even the most minute of temperature change to occur!

Further exploration turned up dirty pillowcases; The toilet lever was ghetto-rigged ( you had to lift up and rotate level for 10 seconds or so before the commode flushed); The tub had a slow drain - I mean, this place was just awful.

They don't have an ice machine - instead you must purchase ice from the front desk - $5.00 per bag! Laughable!

And this, this takes the cake - after a night of partying, we return to our room, I enter the bathroom to find a COCKROACH crawling along the perimeter of the bathtub!

As for the other guests we encountered during our stay - "unkempt" is perhaps the best term to use. Dressed in dingy wear, hair untamed and in need of washing....they rent our rooms by the hour. I can just imagine how much of their business comes from the patronage of prostitutes.

If you're only looking for a place to secure your luggage and are willing to lower your standards in regard to service, then this place will address your needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room on the first floor. At least there will be A/C in the hallways~
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

There are a lot of falsehoods in this review. We charge .25 cents per bag of ice. We do not have hourly rentals. A/Cs for non extended stay guests are able to be left on. We are sorry you were not aware of the actualities of the stay. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews