We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I know why it's a top New Orleans Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I know why it's a top New Orleans Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Researched for a few days on the top hotels in New Orleans according to TripAdvisor. This was was rated #11 at the time, and was the highest rated in our budget. Somehow we got this room for $99 a night (from hotels.com). I've gotten much less for a lot more - so that price was a deal to me!
Here's what we liked:
-Yes, parking in New Orleans seems to be an issue, and unfortunately yes the hotel does charge for parking ($33 each day). HOWEVER, their staff was not rude whatsoever about us wanting to find another parking option. We lucked out by finding an open spot on the road the hotel was on the night we arrived, Parking in metered spaces is free from 6pm-8am in New Orleans. We arrived past 6pm so we didn't even have to pay until the next morning. If you are wanting to sight-see and not come back to the hotel every two hours, I HIGHLY recommend doing the paybyphone.com option. Set it up once with a credit or debit card, pay for your spot with the unique street number and by ID'ing your car's plates, and never touch the meter. We were in the middle of the French Quarter when our parking would expire (I was notified via text!) and I quickly repaid on my smart phone, got it done in 30 seconds, and we went back to shopping. There is a 2 hour limit so every two hours you'll have to pay again, but for us it was amazing to just pay the $3.35 for every 2 hours and forget about it. I know this isn't technically part of the hotel, but I would encourage you not to let the parking price deter you from this awesome place.
-You can easily walk to the streetcar stop at Julia St. and be in the French Quarter (buy the $3 day pass so you can ride as much as you want), yet our hotel was always quiet because it was away from the hustle and bustle
-Staff was extremely helpful. Bellmen remembered us and asked us about our day when we arrived back each night.
-Free breakfast was AWESOME. Have something different each day. Since we'd have to move our car and drive for a while to find any breakfast close, it was perfect knowing we could just go downstairs. Was never crowded, was constantly being restocked by very attentive staff.
-Was a little worried about how small the pool looked in photos, and while it isn't the biggest pool I've ever been in, it never ended up being a problem.
-Taking the advice from other reviewers, we asked for a room in the older part of the hotel so we could have the warehouse feel. Did not disappoint. Great view of the park, high ceiling, old windows, brick wall on one side. It was a unique room unlike most from a chain hotel.

If you want to stay in the middle of everything, this hotel isn't for you. However, if you are coming for a leisurely visit to New Orleans, don't want to spend an arm and a leg and yet still want to feel like you're staying in luxury accommodations, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for older part or warehouse part of the hotel. Ask for a park view on a higher floor. Also do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JHLumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    431
    106
    42
    23
See reviews for
360
299
50
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fabulous well-run property with huge loft-warehouse style rooms and beautiful huge lobby with outstanding free breakfast. Location is great for conventions and walkable to French Quarter in good weather. Close to Butcher, Cochon, and great warehouse restaurants. Parking fee like everywhere in Warehouse district is steep. Very friendly & helpful staff. Best Hampton I've ever been to, and many of them are quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank JoniVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my first trip into New Orleans and had the pleasure of staying at the Hampton Inn Convention Center. There were several family reunions in so the staff was extremely busy but it did not take away from the experience. Chris (I think that was his name. Afternoon desk Supervisor?) Was very helpful in pointing us to the street car and giving us a little history lesson as well which is always welcome. Curtis, in valet, was prompt and always willing to help. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had booked a few Hampton Inns and found that we had to change our plans for this one, so I was horrified to discover that we had a 90 day cancellation period. At first Reservations were going to hold us to a one night cancellation fee and we asked to speak to the manager. He said he'd get back to us as he was swamped with work, so we thought that would be the last we would hear. Within an hour, Jack had left a message to say it was all cancelled with no charge!! Big shout out to Jack - that's the sort of customer service that keeps me coming back to Hampton Inn. Sorry I can't review the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzaaustralia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The rooms are much too outdated. I had a friend come over briefly and even she was set back on the lack of everything. There really is a potential to this place but I do not believe anyone would invest in it. The ONLY pro to this hotel is that it is the closest one to the convention center. Otherwise, you should stay elsewhere because there are many more hotels in the area not too much further away. This is actually away from everything else in NOLA.

Room Tip: Choose a good room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnaff9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to share your experience with us. I apologize that the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this visit. We have plans in the near future to provide continued improvement to the property. I am confident that this progress will help make the Hampton Inn and Suites your hotel of choice in the future. I would love to follow up with you for any other suggestions for improvement. Feel free to contact me at any time to discuss your stay in further detail. I can be reached at (504)-566-9990 or by email at Martinez@highpointe.com . We do hope that we have the chance to wow you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First time in New Orleans and our stay at the Hampton Inn was convenient to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk. Great breakfast and staff were very friendly. Did not have time to get to the swimming pool but it looked very inviting. The weather was very hot and muggy but the air conditioning in the hotel was just right to cool down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slidel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Staying at the Hampton was a pleasure. Will stay again when in the area. great breakfast also! Helpful and Friendly staff. Clean rooms and walking distance to the french quarter and riverwalk, aquarium, steamboat rides and great restaurants

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing