We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Decent hotel. Old factory building with NOLA style decor. Good breakfast and large rooms. NOT close to French Quarters by walk and had to take taxi everywhere. Some good restaurants in the area which are walking distance. Would stay again for conventions in the area but not for hanging out in Quarters.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    505
    122
    49
    24
See reviews for
455
381
62
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gwangju, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Dec. 14-18 in 2013. Staff members were very helpful, especially Abu. Wheels in my suitcase were jammed due to the anti-freeze material it picked up at JFK airport. Abu spent almost half an hour removing the anti-freeze material behind the wheels. Thanks to him, I didn't have to drag my suitcase on my way to home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklinville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stay at Hampton Inns quite frequently; the breakfast is pretty good and the rooms are clean. This one had someone staying there that was door slam happy quite early in the morning. I will continue to stay at Hampton Inns wherever they are available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Once again, I am pleased with the high quality Hampton Inn and Suites offers. When I travel for business, Hampton Inn and Suites tends to be my first choice and this hotel was not a disappointment. It exceeded all expectations.

I was in New Orleans for four days in April/May of 2014. I found a reasonable rate at the Hampton Inn and Suites and once I found out it was in walking distance of the French Quarter, I booked the rooms.

This Hampton Inn and Suites has a bit of a twist in that it is in a converted warehouse building and some of the rooms have the original brick walls and unique features due to the design of the original warehouse. My room had a long entry hallway and a brick arch entryway into the room. Additionally, it had extremely tall ceilings (14 ft?) which provided a different room than is the norm.

The breakfast was a consistent Hampton Inn and Suites quality which is what I was expecting.

The service was top notch. We arrived prior to check in time and they were able to get us in even though there was a big convention in town. When I let the front desk know that I would be back early, they ensured my room was the first to be cleaned. They also were always able to call a cab for us and set up an early morning car to catch our 6:00am flight out of NO.

If I am back in town, I will be staying here again.

Restaurant tips: Make sure to check out Cochon Butcher and Cochon Restaurant which are less than a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We went to a meeting in New Orleans at Convention Center! Great hotel for this... In front of convention center! Many restaurants around! Great bedroom and service! Only 10 minutes from French quarter!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel was great, staff was great. My only negative comment was the cost to park your car, even if you aren't moving it the entire stay. $33 per night. I found a parking area about 9 blocks away for $65.50 for 6 nights. Although that garage was a little spooky, my car was safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank KarenDelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great stay in converted cotton warehouse with a wonderful staff. Brags on the breakfast and how well maintained and organized so there was plenty all the time. Hot and fresh too. In a very good location as far as being able to walk to the things that interested us so we didn't need a car or taxi. Only negative aspect of the stay was the hotel pool which was outside and it is between 2 brick walls and doesn't get much sun to warm it and was not heated which made for very cold water. Also could use a window cleaner on the outside. Other than that "loved it" and would go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing