We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I felt very welcome and comfortable at this hotel. Nearest hotel to the convention center and less than $7 cab ride to French Quarter. Breakfast was much more complete than the simple continental breakfast offered at many hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at Hampton while attending a convention. Made reservations in early August for a late October event, but was unable to book for the entire convention. Location to convention center is excellent and most experience with staff was positive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The rooms were nice, but I had to check with the front desk 3 different times to get our billing straightened out. I heard that were several in our party who had problems with charges for rooms. It wasn't as close as we thought to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Eatonville_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel staff is not informed about local eateries and businesses. The front desk team seemed confused about providing any suggested restaurants or businesses. They seemed to not be able to handle a large group of people. Rooms are noisy! Not an enjoyable stay for us...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and guest service. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve. - Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center. It is literally across the street. The area is quiet at night (which is good if you are not here to party). Rooms are clean and big enough. All services are as expected in a hotel of this category. Free wi-fi!!! Quite speedy and stable. Thumbs up for the free breakfast. Great variety and good quality. Overall, no reason to give it less than 5 stars.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RanyDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was originally one of our many historical warehouses that was remodeled and became a beautiful quaint hotel. We booked both bridal suite for newlyweds and hospitality suite for wedding prep day for bride and bridesmaids. Both suites are large and kitchenette with full size refrigerator was perfect. Pool area depicted french quarter patio scene. Great location in NOLA, just loved our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this hotel almost 3 weeks prior to my trip, through Orbitz prepaid for 2 persons, 2 double beds. It turned out to be much too far to walk from my actual (oversold) conference hotel & no taxis available (paid a pedi-cab). Arrived late and got to my room to discover there was only bed. I did not travel with a family member, had a conference roommate arriving who I've never met in my life. I took the luggage back to the lobby and they said "Oh so sorry, we're oversold, we only have a room with one bed." I was speechless. Raised a fuss. Three people said, sorry, you can sleep on a couch. I took the luggage back upstairs. (Did I mention I'm recovering from a broken ankle? & the lay-out is weird so one has to walk all the way around the property to get to the room, and if you take the wrong elevator, you're out of luck) Got to the room, could not open the couch. They sent someone to help. Fine. No sleep, noisy hotel, people up all night. They moved us to a room with 2 beds the next night and promised to comp the first night. But that did not happen because booked through Orbitz, so I have to challenge the charge. It does have breakfast, nice enough decor, but is only convenient to Convention Ctr. - otherwise you need a cab.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoulfulNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to New Orleans. We do our very best to honor guest requests but clearly we fell short. I would love to speak with you directly to resolve the credit and to show our commitment to your satisfaction. Please contact me at 504-566-9990 or at Martinez@highpointe.com at your earliest convenience. - Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,593 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing