We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a basic budget hotel. I fail to see how it can have a 5 star rating. The breakfast, whilst complimentary, is awful so you really need to go out of the hotel for all meals, which can be inconvenient at times. The rooms are ok but somewhat dated and all the trims are cheap - paper cups, plastic shower head with mouldy shower curtain, shampoo that does not work (not sure how they managed this one), dodgy air con that either freezes or melts you etc. The staff is mixed with a couple of very friendly and helpful staff and a couple of rude, unpleasant and unhelpful staff.

The hotel is ideally located for the convention centre but not convenient for the centre of town. This hotel is well suited to the budget traveller who only wants a bed, tv and shower. If you are after a proper hotel experience you should try the Hilton Riverside which is a real 5 star.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimbomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and feel our ratings do not coincide with your experience. We are looking into the room you stayed in to ensure all amenities are up-to-date and in proper working condition. – Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    432
    106
    42
    23
See reviews for
361
300
50
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here for a 5 day conference in June 2013. The entire staff was very accommodating especially Darrell Jontera , who repeatedly went out of his way to make this stay an enjoyable one.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone with a meeting at the convention center

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitengalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really good place. You have to go at Rio Mar.
If you want a burger just go to Dino's.


A must go is Mila, fabulous restaurant beside the renaissance.


I spent one week in NOLA and I really enjoy it.



Thanks

P

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed at the Hampton Inn Convention Center the last 2 years as I attended conferences at the Convention Center. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful from the front desk & bell staff to the housekeeping personnel to the concierge. The free internet is great. The free breakfast offers many choices and is re-stocked continuously. The hotel has a bar that is quiet and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious.
This hotel is extremely convenient for attendance at convention center events. It is close to public transportation and many nice restaurants are within a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridgewood NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Hampton Inn Convention Center over 8 times mainly for Business and found that they are Helpful, Efficient and Customer Centered even if an issue is Raised that needs some attention.The Complimentary Breakfast is excellent and Open for Guests at
6 AM- Coffee even earlier.the Historic Building is unique and I have Stayed in both the
More Modern and also the Older Warehouse Converted High Ceiling Larger rooms.
It works/Its convenient/Pool is in the center of a Private courtyard quiet sitting area.
If you doing a Conference session at the Convention center across the Street- its a big Plus to walk over and from the center on Breaks for Smaller Meetings at the Hampton.
Great Staff./The trend I have seen is they all work hard to please the visitors.give it a try for your first stay- its all a short walk or Cab to the french Quarter or Museums/Sites.Rverwalk is across the Street and close to the Cruise Terminals on the Berths adjacent to the RiverWalk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed in the older section of the hotel - it was a two room large suite, 37 square meter area and a full kitchen. High ceiling (15') - nice and enjoyable. 10 minutes walk to the ferry crossing and the riverside area. 1 minute from the convention center. 15 minutes walk to the French Quarter area.

Room Tip: I selected Room # 218. Select from the older wing - i believe that has bigger rooms and higher ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abusabiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I generally like Hampton Inns and this particular franchise. Internet availability without extra charge and the included breakfast are real plusses and I find that the chain tries hard, although it could be argued that the value for money quotient has slipped over the years. The staff mostly tried to be helpful and friendly but I suspect they have developed a front desk problem.

When we checked in, the reservation for one of our party had been mislaid & there were some anxious moments while the front desk guy (who was trying hard) found him an alternative. So far so OK, but then when I went up to my room I found that it was already occupied. After beating a hasty retreat, I was further concerned by the attitude of the front desk person, who didn't seem as concerned as I would have expected. I got the sense that this was a not unprecedented event.

I had another occasion to interact with the front desk on a booking issue and found that individual barely competent. They need to look at aspects of this operation as we also had some problems with housekeeping (incidentals not being replaced).

This is not a bad hotel, the upgrades they implemented a few years back are still looking good and it has a good foyer and a (generally) friendly staff. I was also impressed to see the attention that was being paid to the effectiveness of the breakfast delivery.

Internet service was spotty and unreliable, which was a disappointment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RayHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center is one exceptionally surprising choice! The Hotel opened in March of 2000 and is located directly across the street from Hall E of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and minutes from the French Quarter. The hotel features a beautiful renovation of a 1900’s classic New Orleans warehouse, and all efforts have been made to showcase and preserve the original materials of the building, including the hardwood floors, hand-hewed beams, exposed bricks and the unique tower section. In the evenings, guests can enjoy the charm of the building in our Warehouse Bar or relax by the newly renovated pool courtyard.The Hotel offers a complimentary On the Run hot breakfast buffet, high-speed Wi-Fi, complimentary access to the Business Center and Fitness Center, Clean & Fresh bedding, flat screen televisions, microwave and mini-fridge in all standard guest rooms and full kitchens in all suite guestrooms. The Hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing