We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
JACKSON, United States
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hampton Inn. the attendants were very friendly, rooms nice an clean, as well as the bathrooms, even in the lobby. The pool area was attractive an clean..they even had ice water outside & towels..the lobby even served iced water & cookies serving when we arrived. the contential breakfast was the best that i have eaten in a hotel with contential breakfast, with good hot coffee also served. Everything was very fresh an contantly served. We didnt have to ever wait on anything as i have at other hotels. The hotel rates were good for the great service myself and my husband recieved. the air conditioning was great. I Like the they have refridgerators an micro-waves, where as the Hilton that some of my family reunion guest are staying in the coming weeks do not for as much as they are paying..I was there for a class reunion and all of my classmates felt the same as my self. oh i forgot to mention that i had a nice view from my window. the lighting was grate, i love plenty of light n my bed room for reading. oh and the bar was great with great drinks, u buy one and get one half off. with my compmentary card. my classmates and i took lots of pictures in your very beautiful lobby. all an all i am ready to come back to new orleans, i rode the train there an also enjoyed that ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    516
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
469
385
63
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at Hampton Inn convention center in NOLA 06/24/13 to 06/28/13 for convention. Nice southern style atmosphere in Lobby and room. Front desk and concierge friendly and informative. Buffet hot breakfast every am a great time saver and start to a busy day whether in town for conference or sight seeing. I found the room to be clean, quiet and comfortable with view of park. drawbacks were no hot tub or full service restaurant and approx. 1 mile walk to French Quarter. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for warehouse wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at Hampton Inn's quite often all over the USA (gold hh member). And this Hampton is just across the street to the Convention Center. We were staying with 5 colleagues and so we had 5 rooms. There are certainly difference: some were not well maintained and cleaned, where other rooms seem to be just new. I was lucky I think. So no complains from my side regarding the room. The complaint that we have was that the waitress at the bar was too busy chatting all the time with other guests and kept us waiting when we were waiting to order at the bar. To make sure that she received a tip she just added the "large group" invoice line of 18%. For your info, we were just in the bar with 3 persons. She did not do any good job for that, we were always expected to pick up our drinks at the bar. After making my colleagues aware of that behaviour, some were checking their previous bills, they did not notice that 18% was added by her and added their own tip (another 15% on top of that!). That is just not OK.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GerardV754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliciadhoffmann, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay. We are currently looking into the situation and would love to speak with you directly about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at 504-566-9990 or martinez@highpointe.com. I look forward to speaking with you.
- Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was here for a conference and related project this past week. I tend to stay at Hamptons when I travel with family on vacation trips. But for this business trip, I had a miserable stay. This hotel did not have the amenities I need for a business trip (my company booked us into this hotel to get a low group rate).
The lobby and common areas and even the hallways are lovely, updated. Even the hallways are cheery and light. Once you open the door to the room, it all changes. My room (Room 757) was dark, dingy and depressing. The window had a thick vinyl curtain with no privacy drape. So I had a choice of either having natural light and no privacy or no natural light and privacy. It seems very strange that they would not have a privacy drape as well as the heavy vinyl curtain , just to save on lighting costs. Since I had to leave my drape closed the whole time, I had my lights on all the time. It contributed to a claustrophobic and depressing environment. The carpeting is old and dated as are the furnishings. The carpet is damp due to the humidity and is uncomfortable to walk on barefoot. There is no desk which makes it awkward for a business traveler. And the lighting is dim too. Strangely, they had a post-it note on one of the bed headboards that read "The bedding is fresh and clean" or to that effect. I thought it was strange that they have to point that out. The bathroom was clean but definitely in need of renovation. Lots of mold on the grout, wallpaper peeling away near the ceiling. The bathtub was circa 1990s and very dated. The towels are damp due to the humidity of the region. But I talked with others staying at other hotels who did not experience damp towels. I could not get a hot shower even though it was later in the day. Also, the air conditioning is noisy and runs constantly. There is no thermostat control. The one thing that they did get right was that there were many power outlets on the night stand and on the table.

Finally, I discovered 3 large cockroaches in my room on my 2nd day. I flagged down the housekeeper and she vacuumed them up but it was very unpleasant to know I could be seeing more of them. I was not feeling well that day and just hoped there would not be any others. I did not have the energy to be packing up and changing rooms or having a bunch of people coming in and inspecting, although I would have gladly checked out and moved down the street to the Marriott or Hilton. Are cockroaches common to hotel rooms in New Orleans?

I had an early flight out on check-out day and asked the night before, if they could order me a cab to be ready at 4:00 AM. When I didn't see one out there, I asked the person at the front desk and she said, "well go look out the window, I'm sure they are there.". I did, and it wasn't. Getting a cab at that hotel is not easy because the entrance is on a side street off the busy street. And I did not feel safe walking in the evening in that area.
This Hampton Inn is not set up to be a business hotel: no restaurant on-site or even closeby. If you miss the free breakfast in the morning, that's it for food. And it's a 3 block walk any to any place that serves food. The closest one I found was at the Marriott Hotel that had its own Starbucks and restaurant.
I don't have a problem with Hampton Inns, but will not be back to this one.

Room Tip: I took the advice of another reviewer and asked for a room in the newer refurbished tower, but it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I got a special deal to stay in this hotel for 2 nights half priced and I am so glad for chooseing it before our cruise. The building was nicely renovated from a old brick warehouse. The spacious lobby was so beauifully decorated with classic furnitures, fresh flowers and high ceiling fans. Totally a Hilton style. The 4th floor double queen bedroom was a perfect size for 3 of us., which is right across the Convention Center Blvd. But no noise at all. The beds were extremely comfortable I wish I could take them home! The large bathroom is Hilton standard size with large counter, shower/bathtub. The shower was powerful like massage. The tasty full breakfast buffet was really really good with lots varity of cold/hot items. They even got boiled eggs, hot otameal, etc. Hot items does get change the second day. Unlimited juices, coffee and fruits through out the day. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It only took us less than 20 mins. walk to the cruise terminal. Saved taxi cost. But it's also 20 minutes walk to the French Quarter just to let you know. It's safe to walk at night in this area. Will definately stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivoryfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far the best service I have received at a hotel in New Orleans. I actually live in the city, but needed a room during my transition from moving and for a event that was close to the location. I even extended my stay because I was so satisfied. Definitely would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for a one night visit to NOLA. We arrived at 9:30 AM and planned to park our car at the hotel and do our sightseeing and check-in later since the check-in time was 3:00 PM. The valet "Eugene" was very nice and suggested I go to the check-in desk to see if a room was ready. I did not think they would as I travel a lot and never had a room ready at 9:30 AM. I was surprised that although the room they originally had reserved for me was not ready, they put me in a room that was ready and allowed me to check in. The room was a suite with a small living room with a sofa, chair, desk and tv separated from the bedroom. The bedroom had another tv and a very comfortable king bed and with all clean linen to include the duvet. There was also a mini kitchen with full size fridge, sink, coffee maker, and microwave. The hotel is a bit of a walking distance from the French Quarter, about 15 - 20 min walk, but is doable. I have 2 bad feet and was able to make the walk. There is free wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was great with many hot items like waffles, biscuits and gravy, sausage patties, cheese omelets, and oatmeal with various toppings. There was a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, pastries and hard boiled eggs. The only thing that was a small negative was that my son likes to swim and the pool is very small, but he was too tired to swim anyway. Highly recommend this hotel for the value, location, and all the amenities you receive for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
852 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing