We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Overall Choice In the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
1 review
“Best Overall Choice In the City”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Best choice for a number of reasons. Location of this hotel was great because it wasn't too deep in to downtown area. Directly across the street from Convention Center and in close proximity to freeway. All staff member were extremely courteous from the curb to front desk and everyone in between.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Quaddus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    501
    121
    49
    24
See reviews for
452
372
60
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The checkin was quick and the cookies were excellent. The room was clean and seemed like new. The breakfast was a major disappointment. The bagel toppers were a turn-off and the cheese omelet was cheese in a tortilla - no eggs at all. Parking is a bit expensive at $29 per night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. Although I was glad to read you found our rooms to be clean and you had a good check-in experience, I understand that you were disappointed regarding our food selection. We are always listening to our guests’ feedback and I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve the quality and selection of our menu items. - Charlene Martinez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this nicely located hotel. This would be a great option prior to a cruise as its located close to the cruise ship pier.

The beds & pillows were extra comfortable. The rooms were clean & nicely decorated. The check in process was easy & well organized. Our grandchildren enjoyed a swim in the outdoor pool which also seemed clean with lots of pool towels available.

The complimentary breakfast was the most extensive that I've ever seen. So many choices of hot & cold items. The breakfast area was huge with lots of seating & attentive staff refilling the dishes as needed.

We would definitely return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hampton Inn in New Orleans is certainly anice surprise. Eventhough I know the chain from other places, this hotel is a pleasent surprise. The service is good and the staff is quite serviceminded and very kind. The rooms are nice are quite big. The beds are wonderful and we all slept fantastic. The bathroom is big. All in all everything worked perfect in our room. There are a lot of shops and restaurants in walking distane of the hotel. We will absolutely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I hadn't been to New Orleans in many years so I really wasn't sure where to book my hotel. I was looking for something close to canal street and the french quarter and I found this Hampton that was close to those areas. As soon as I walked into the hotel lobby I was immeadiately impressed!!
I was equally impressed with the incredible suite I was given. The convention center is right across the street and you are only located 5 or 6 blocks from all of the restaurants and shops. This is one
hotel I would definately love to stay in again!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms in the hotel are suites that would be my first choice even if it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hampton suites in New Orleans is a great place to stay while you explore the big easy. It is literally across the street from the massive convention center and it's a short walk to the trolley. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and plenty of stores and pharmacies. The bed sheets and towels were always fresh. My only complaint was that the rooms and beds were small. Instead of queen sized they were doubles so sharing a bed is really difficult if you have more than two people in a room. To end on the positive note, the pool, bar, breakfast services, and gym were all great. For breakfast, there's something available to appeal to everyone. The pool was small but the outside space around it was beautiful. The gym had several treadmills ellipticals and weights as well as a stock if medicine balls. The front desk even made cookies everyday. It doesn't get much better than that. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mp1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel, frendly and great service. Only complant is not much to do close to the hotel. No restaurant in hotel. Trolley station nearest hotel was closed, had a good walk to next trolley station. Beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdepuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
765 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing