We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My teen daughter and I stayed at this hotel the night before getting on a cruise out of New Orleans and also for the night after the cruise. This was a perfect hotel for us in every respect. I've stayed at hotels of all levels and this was one of the cleanest I've ever been in. Usually even in very clean places you find something here or there that could be better, but not at this one. It was spotless.
The front desk and bell staff were also some of the friendliest, most helpful and efficient I've ever met. They helped me not only to get exactly the room type and location I wanted twice, even in a full hotel over Spring Break, but also with checking in my luggage, map and tourist info, and providing me with some necessities I had forgotten. They did it all with a smile and genuine friendliness. They even called to tell me when my room was ready after I checked in very early after getting off the ship.
The free breakfast is very good with extensive choices and three of the make-your-own waffle irons so you don't have to wait too long. There is plenty of seating too. The rooms are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable, even for me with neck problems. There is lots of hot water and nice products provided in the bathrooms, even if the showerhead and counters were placed very high for two 5'1" women. The hotel is in a renovated warehouse and while the rooms are standard Hampton Inn, the rest of the place has a lot of character.
It is easy walking to the French Quarter, Garden District and trolleys. The ships dock across the street behind the convention center and there is a shuttle but we took a cheap cab ride to get over there more quickly. There are usually cabs waiting at the entrance. I also chose this hotel because of the 100% non-smoking policy. There is a very small pool, suitable for taking a dip but not for lap swimming.
This is not a resort but is a wonderful, comfortable place to stay while in New Orleans for business or pleasure. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler. There's nothing not to love.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators. There are two elevator banks and the tile floors in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    524
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
476
388
65
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Usually I take an instant like or dislike to a hotel room. My room at this Hampton Inn was an exception - pleasant, small, worn in a few spots, but 100% comfortable. What I DID fall in love with was the attached remodeled warehouse in which reception, the concierge, and the breakfast services all were located. With its high ceilings, old windows, and plantation feel, the warehouse was a charming and unexpected treat for a Hampton Inn. Same thing for the entry way to the hotel. Tropical look & feel. It was a delightful change from the driveways in front of most Hilton properties.

OK, this is a convention hotel. And I was attending a convention. So all in all, perfect fit. The property is in a quiet section of town right across the street from the convention center, an easy 10-minute walk to the French Quarter. There's a charming little park right across the street in which you can run laps, skipping the indoor health club. And the stairway inside the building is well lit and makes a perfect stair climbing activity, if you need to walk off some calories. Would I book here again? Yes.

Room Tip: I'm a fan of the top floor and my room had a view of the charming park across the street. Thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHM008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had 2 nights here and just loved it. The hotel and the rooms are beautiful, because they're not your typical chain hotel. The building is an old warehouse. This means high ceilings and large windows. Our room had a view towards the French Quarter, so we could see the light at night. The staff are wonderful from check in to the valet. Every employee we talked to were interested in us and willing to help. We ended up having a 45 min talk with one of the valets about his life, which had brought him from a part of the old USSR through Europe including Denmark to Canada and then NOLA. The location is great. It's an easy walk to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk is almost across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room in the restored part, not the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Hampton Inn is like no other you've been to. One half (where check in is) is an old converted warehouse - the other side is newer construction. We stayed in the older side and it was great. The rooms are huge and our room had a king bed in a separate bedroom - the living area had a refrigerator, stove and microwave. The staff was friendly and helpful. Don't expect to walk to the French Quarter unless you have your hiking shoes on as its quite a trek. But taxis are plentiful and not expensive. We were going on a cruise and drove, and the Hampton is almost right next to the cruise terminal. As other reviewers have noted, the parking rate is high and there really is no where else to park (across the street are some parking spots but they were always filled). However, you do have in and out privileges. If you are attending a convention at the center this is the place to stay. When return to New Orleans will stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the old, renovated warehouse part which is the side where you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezzy_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,973 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at almost every Hilton property in New Orleans and excepted a normal hampton property I was presently suprised. From the minute you walk in this hotel was excellently restored. Upgrade yourself to a suite with beautiful 30ft tall windows and large rooms with a small kitchen area. Its close to some of the best restaurants in the city, and far enough away from the quarters to not have to deal with all the tourists. Short walk to St. Charles street, plenty of street parking that is free from 6pm to 8am which works perfect for anyone working.
Only complaint is there is no restaurant. That is the only thing this Hampton is missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence,ma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for one night while touring the South with my college age daughter. This is an exceptionally nice Hampton Inn is in a beautifully restored building. The French Quarter a 15-20 minute easily doable walking distance. Most impressive was the staff. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Eddie who valet parked our car. Christopher at the front desk was incredibly helpful. All in all, this was the best hotel experience of our trip and would strongly recommend this hotel. HI should be very proud of their staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, hotel staff were more than accommodating. They made sure our every need was addressed and satisfaction achieved. Hotel is strategically located close to fine restaurants, shopping, casino and the French Quarter. A complimentary hot breakfast with a large selection is also offered daily. We had the great fortune of being upgraded to a beautiful king suite, which included a full kitchen (with a dish washer), dining room table and chairs, a sitting room, and a VERY comfortable king bed. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for accommodations that are in a safe part of town, close to many attractions and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing