We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the stay, Tips on getting to the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Liked the stay, Tips on getting to the French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night with 2 young kids over the weekend. We were able to change our stay from a Friday to Saturday on Thursday without a charge, despite that being within the cancellation penalty 72 hour window. I appreciate that, it's just good service.

The staff were all very nice to us, from the valet to the front desk and the breakfast people. I also appreciate that.

The rooms were a little small for Hamptons, but typical of bigger cities like New Orleans. I thought the breakfast was not very good, myself, even by Hampton standards, but I see a lot of people on this site did like it. Maybe I caught it on a bad day. It certainly wasn't awful, and they had a great selection of breakfast cereals.

I want to let people know about our experience getting to the French Quarter. I think that will help some folks. First off, if you want to drive, the valet parking is unlimited in and out, so that helps, but keep in mind that parking in the Quarter is scarce and expensive. We chose to take the Riverfront Streetcar. First thing to know is that the so-called John Churchill Chase Station on the NORTA schedules and on Google Maps does not operate right now. It looks like this is just right across the street from the hotel (but on the other side of the Convention Center). For whatever reason, the current last stop on the Riverfront line is the Julia St. station on the north end of the Convention Center. This is decent walk from the Hampton. The streetcar costs $1.25, cash only and no change provided, so come prepared. Also important to note: when you are in the Quarter and want to take the Streetcar back to the hotel, make sure you get on the Riverfront Line. There are Canal St. Line cars also heading south on the same track up to Canal St. and it's really easy to get on one of those if you are not paying attention (which we did). These will not take you where you want to go.

In all, if you are going to be doing a lot of stuff in the Quarter and want to have the hotel be convenient, you should stay over there. We wanted to save money, so we chose this Hampton. I think it was fine, but the streetcar is not a super way to get back-and-forth. I'm sure this place is awesome if you are going to something at the convention center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrogSqueezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    502
    122
    49
    24
See reviews for
452
373
61
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for Mardi Gras. The hotel is close enough to Lee Circle to see all the parades, hop on the streetcar uptown, a short walk to the casino and the red streetcar into the French Quarter. Room 525 had a great king bed and pull out couch. There was a small kitchen with glasses, plates, flatware, a fridge and microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was a little tired with peeling wallpaper, but the hot shower made up for that. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Holly and Aurelia took very good care or our car and room. The breakfast attendants(sorry I can't remember your names!) were awesome. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unique Hampton Inn, historic renovated building. Breakfast was very good, and the rooms were very clean and quiet. The valet staff were very cheerful and helpful, even though the hotel was full from Mardi Gras, and they were very busy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammoe326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment we walked in until we checked out the staff treated you like a special guest! The staff want everyone to enjoy their stay in the Big Easy! It was Mardi Gras, the lobby was decorated for the occaision which made you feel part of the festivities. And, a great way to spend Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Converted warehouse I believe with very high ceilings and windows in the room. Extra large room with nice furnishings. Parking is expensive (valet only) during special events. Also require early checkout 11am. But overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordwill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very comfortable beds clean room smaller than most we stayed in (on tour) Breakfast was very nice in a comfortable area.Location was not as good for the French Quarter. (about 15-20 minutes) depending on how fast you walk. Staff were frienfly and helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. We stayed in the warehouse side with a nice view of a park and the downtown off in the distance. Comfortable bed and spacious room. The Front Desk employees were very friendly and helpful. When visiting the French Quarter during the day, we walked a few blocks down to the RiverWalk (Julia Street) and took the streetcar. A little inconvenient. The streetcars come by about every 20 minutes. A taxi at night cost $7.00 to get to Jackson Square in the Quarter. Took a creole cooking class in the RiverWalk which I really enjoyed. The chef was very entertaining and we got to eat what was cooked (shrimp creole, red beans and rice, and Bananas Foster). Several nice restaurants in the area. Enjoyed a cinnamon King Cake from Rouses Grocery. We bought two to take home with us. We had a great muffaletta take-out from Verti Marte deli on Royal Street. Would definitely stay at this Hampton again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the front of the hotel (park view). Try not to get the rooms facing the Interst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing