We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Orleans hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Beautiful building, convenient to Convention Center. Staff was very friendly and helpful, from initial reservations to check in and out (particularly Katie and Christopher). Excellent breakfast buffet, good variety of hot and cold items - even a grab and go breakfast for the early morning sessions. Rooms were spotless. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevators - could hear people & elevator noise from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaCinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    505
    122
    49
    24
See reviews for
455
381
62
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I reserved a room at the hampton just for a night out and was I suprised! Everything was perfect this hampton is fantastic. Its not your average hampton its everything you'd expect from a hampton and so much more. I made a mistake when booking my reservation and staff especially ms. Katie were so helpful and accomodating. A very kind lady made small talk with me in the lobby and asked about my stay boy was I shocked to find out I was speaking to the manager charlene. This hotel really is the finest example of old new orleans charm and southern hospitality. I will return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of a tour of Texas & Louisiana. The reception & breakfast area was very welcoming and there is a small shop selling a variety of snacks & drinks.

Room was clean & comfortable with free wifi. As the layout of the hotel is quite confusing it can be quite a long walk from your room to get out of the hotel. With this in mind it would be helpful to sell bottled water in the vending machines rather than having to trek to reception.

As a previous review has mentioned, Mulate's (a 10 minute walk) is definitely worth a visit and we had a great meal - you should try the blackened alligator! It tastes like chicken!

However the best thing about this hotel are the extremely helpful & friendly staff. Unfortunately I had a medical issue whilst staying and would like to thank the concierge for his help with this and putting me at ease during a worrying time, especially not being used to the US medical system. He recommended a local urgent care clinic and called ahead to ensure I could be seen, before getting a taxi for me. On arriving back at the hotel the reception staff made a point of asking how I was and if there was anything they could do. The next morning the concierge also went out of his way to check on me.

This personal touch was very much appreciated and is what makes the hotel stand out from all the others.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chumps77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over a weekend. The price was very reasonable for downtown New Orleans. This is a very nice Hampton in with a lovely courtyard/pool area. We enjoyed a hot breakfast each morning and the attendant was super nice. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was great to have a fridge and microwave in the room. The room was clean and comfortable . We felt safe in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnfromBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great rooms-Jr Suite is huge and easily sleeps four. You can walk to Emeril's and Cochon easily. French quarter is a quick cab ride (5-9 dollars). Breakfast is the usual Hampton Inn fare, but it's included. In a very expensive city, this hotel is a bargain. The pool and courtyard are lovely after a day of people watching.

Room Tip: Jr Suite if there are more than two in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzhrmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed several days at this hotel while visiting NOLA. We thought it was very charming; loved the brick ambience. Rooms were very clean and the beds/pillows very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was just perfect and a real plus for this facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The poolside courtyard was wonderful for enjoying quiet conversation and coffee in the morning before heading out to see the sights. The internet was just OK. The biggest downside was the fact it was a long walk to the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. We didn't mind it because the weather was beautiful and we like to get at least some exercise while we explore the culinary delights of this wonderful city. We also stayed on the well-lit streets at night so we felt safe enough. All in all, I would recommend this hotel, especially if wanting to stay near the Convention Center area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanS54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I was recent here for a stay for an event.. The hotel seemed to be a perfect business hotels, but a personal stay for a wedding it was a logistical nightmare waiting for our valeted car and driving around the hotel.

The Internet wasn't bad, the rooms were comfy, and the lobby was very clean and inviting. Again, the location is great if you're doing business at the convention center or a cruise night. The are warehouse district is about 10 min walk to Canal and 17 mins to Bourbon street.

The hotel does meet my expectations and I would recommend this hotel to any business person or budget minded families. My rating is based on my individual experience, will come here again to see if it improves. I hope to visit when the potholes outfront are fixed and there aren't any football games on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastball16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing