We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for business. Be careful visiting on a football game and bringing a car.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for business. Be careful visiting on a football game and bringing a car.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I was recent here for a stay for an event.. The hotel seemed to be a perfect business hotels, but a personal stay for a wedding it was a logistical nightmare waiting for our valeted car and driving around the hotel.

The Internet wasn't bad, the rooms were comfy, and the lobby was very clean and inviting. Again, the location is great if you're doing business at the convention center or a cruise night. The are warehouse district is about 10 min walk to Canal and 17 mins to Bourbon street.

The hotel does meet my expectations and I would recommend this hotel to any business person or budget minded families. My rating is based on my individual experience, will come here again to see if it improves. I hope to visit when the potholes outfront are fixed and there aren't any football games on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastball16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    515
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
469
384
63
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour of Texas and Louisiana.
When we arrived I was a bit concerned as it wasn’t very central, was a 30 minute walk into the French Quarter and it didn’t do evening meals. Also the area seemed a bit dark…..

However, we soon realised that one probably doesn’t want to stay in noisy central New Orleans. Party cities are great but living in the middle would be somewhat sleepless!

This is a FABULOUS hotel, well appointed and comfortable and no complaints whatsoever.
Our room was great with a massive bed and a fridge (bliss) a beautiful bathroom with loads of fluffy white towels and a super little hairdryer.

It was quite a walk to the room down long corridors but worth it!

Regarding location, we realised that we could walk along the Convention Centre Avenue which is right next to the hotel into town and we passed a Cajun Restaurant called Mulate’s. Well we decided to go in without having a clue what we would find or eat – and it was one of the best evening meals ever! It was a huge restaurant almost like a ‘hall’ with a live jazz band and loads of fabulous wall paintings. I LOVED IT!!!
I had a Cajun surf and turf which was just amazing and served with all kinds of little extras including proper vegetables and the best tasting ever ‘double baked potato’ which I am certainly going to try to recreate at home! My husband who normally doesn’t like fish had grilled catfish with Cajun rice (he hates spicy things normally) and he loved that too!

I would go back there every time if I ever went to New Orleans again (which I would love to do even though we rarely return as there’s a lot of world to see) it was one of the most unforgettable holiday meals EVER.

The Riverwalk streetcar runs close to the hotel, stopping by Mulate’s at Julia Street and this goes right into the centre of New Orleans for 1 dollar 25 cents (exact cash only!) and you can also change at Canal Street onto the other streetcar line. A great and easy way of getting into central NOLA and not the $15 of a taxi!

The walk along Convention Centre Avenue is actually well lit and there are quite a few ‘tourist police’ about so we felt very safe.

We also ate beigants at the Café du Monde while we were in New Orleans and we did the evening paddle steamer cruise with dinner and a jazz band – another fab meal with brilliant music and great facilities. Another memorable night out in New Orleans.

Hampton Hotel and Suites has one of the nicest lounges I’ve seen, very comfortable and opulent and also provides free coffee all day and evening long.

There’s a complimentary breakfast which lacks much fruit but great waffles (make it yourself) and a varied hot service plus the usual pastries, toast, juice and choices of coffee.

A really fantastic place to stay in New Orleans which actually guarantees you will get quality sleep in this noisy, lively fabulous city.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We checked in and had a short wait since we were arriving at 11AM and the room was not ready. They stored our luggage and advised us of a few places to go and get lunch. They called when the room and we were treated to a HUGE Suite in the warehouse section of the hotel. It was decorated with a New Orleans flare such as the original warehouse windows & curtains that were probably 15 feet feet tall. The bed was a four poster Queen Ann bed with wonderful sheets and duvets. Original brick walls, full kitchen minus and oven. Very Clean. We were given an upgrade into a room which also had a large whirlpool bath. It was convenient to have breakfast every morning as part of your stay. Fresh fruit, danish, bagels, premade omelettes, sausage and fries home fries, cereals, make your own waffles - Not a gourmet breakfast but we used every monrning for a week.

We were there on business - so we chose it because it was soooooo close to the convention center. But if plan on going to the French Quarter - bring your sneakers or comfortable shoes.

I would stay there again with no questions asked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, GA.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had a wedding in our family and stayed here last week for 4 nights. We LOVED it! Our family who stayed at the nearby Courtyard Marriott and Springhill Suites wish they had stayed with us. Great location between the Garden District and French Quarter, very safe area with lots of restaurants close by close to the Riverwalk. Smallish with a cozy lobby, great for hanging out with our family with a bar nearby. Free warm cookies in the afternoon, given a voucher for a free drink, free BIG breakfast. Very nice, helpful staff . We also did not use the hotel parking as there was convenient street parking. Nice rooms with comfy luxury bedding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Just across the convention center, it was so convenient to catch early morning lectures. If I needed a break, it was so easy to just cross or walk thru the park.
The breakfast buffet was so filling to last me till midafternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sslitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights....the front desk and valets were amazing. The free breakfast was yummy. Would definately stay again. Actually planning a visit in February. Next time we will bring kids...so we will see how kid friendly they are.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandi986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Otherwise, I would skip this hotel. Stayed 4 nights for a conference and while there were several nice qualities to the hotel, I couldn't get over the smell of must/mold everywhere. The first room I was given had a very strong musty smell with lemon cleaner over it- they were very responsive and did give me an alternate room which had only a faint smell. The entry way on the side had similar odor- I suspect it is just a very old building? Unfortunately someone vomited in the hallway one night so this also added to unfortunate odors everywhere though not the hotels fault- one man was spraying the hallway the next day trying to cover it up so they tried. Since it is at the end of the convention center I also did not feel as safe as I would have liked walking alone at night so if you are a female alone you might pick something towards the other, busier end.
Having said that, and if odors do not bother you, then it is a fine place to stay- comfy beds, large clean bathroom, and free breakfast which was not great but edible and convenient for conference. Loved the small outdoor courtyard in the evening as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingagain08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene M, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. I understand the freshness of the room was of concern during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our hotel's priority; therefore, I have brought your comments to our hotel team to resolve this situation. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing