We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,133)
Filter reviews
2,133 results
Traveler rating
1,301
600
148
54
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,301
600
148
54
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted warehousefrench quarterfree shuttlecruise terminalgreat hoteldirectly across the streethigh ceilingscomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areavalet parkingattending a conferencewwii museumfull kitchenwithin walking distanceking suitesmall poolfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,864 - 1,869 of 2,133 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a one night trip to New Olreans. The Hotel is very clean, we had a suite and it was large. The staff was very very friendly. Walked from Harrah's to the hotel at 11pm on Sunday night. It is a bit of a walk but was safe. I would just walk along convention blvd. and not the side streets. The room was $90 and parking $27. The rates do go up and down depending on what is going on in town.

Room Tip: See if any suites are available and if a slow time you can get the suite for regular room rate.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites Convention Center was perfect for what we wanted for our pre cruise visit to New Orleans. We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 children) and we wanted to be close to the French Quarter to enjoy the sights - but not the sounds. We also wanted to be close for our cruise. We checked in on a Friday afternoon (we had flown in that day) We were greeted by very friendly staff. Check in was very easy and quick. They gave us a couple bottles of complimentary water and also offered us some take-out menus for dinner (it was pouring with rain and they thought that we might want to stay in) The following day we went down stairs for the free breakfast. It was exactly what we needed. They had regular cold items - cereal, fresh fruit, muffins, danish and yogurt. They also had hot items like oatmeal, bagels, toast, breakfast sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy. Along with juice, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The breakfast area was very big and even with all the precruise passengers there - we managed to find a table for the four of us - but still a good idea to get there early. After breakfast we inquired about transportation to the cruise ship terminal. I was a little nervous about this ahead of time as I was unable to find info about a shuttle etc. I read online it would cost $7 per person by taxi. After talking with the front desk they told us they would provide a shuttle free of charge to the cruise ship terminal and all we had to do was tell them what time we would like to go!! This was fantastic. The morning of our cruise we decided we wanted to go a little earlier to the cruise ship - so we decided to go downstairs and ask if we could get on a earlier shuttle - they said no problem - just see the driver outside. We went about 10:30am We were on within 5 minutes. The terminal is less than 5 minutes drive from this hotel. In case anyone is wondering (because I know I did) - you can not walk to the cruise ship terminal. The way the terminal is - it seems only accessible by cars and the drive to the terminal is mainly through the port. We were dropped off by the shuttle - tipped him $1 per bag (not necessary, but I would hope everyone would do this) and then he offered to pick us up when we return and told us where to meet him. Sure enough we we got back he was there - the shuttle was full so we had a short wait for him to return. We arrived back at the hotel and got our airport transportation to the airport. This hotel was terrific. The beds were very comfortable - which to me is one of the most important things. Everything seemed very clean - some things could probably be renovated - like the bathrooms - but overall this was a great value for money. As far as it's location - you can walk to the French Quarter - we did it and we had two children with us. We did use taxis to get to downtown - which cost about $10 - it was raining - so it was a no-brainer to us. We ended up walking back most of the time - which took us about 15 minutes - it was a great way to see the city. The do have a streetcar about 5 minutes down the street along convention center blvd - but we did not use it - we enjoyed walking and experiencing the city and the people. The people in New Orleans are amazingly friendly and genuine. We had a great time in New Orleans - and the hotel just added to that.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor second room from the elevator. It was nice and quiet. We had a view of the park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DestinationsCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely Nola decor
We stayed in the Old building section with the studio whirlpool tub suite and were thrilled. 12 foot ceiling, corner room with six 8 foot windows all around.... WOW.
A beautiful, block wide park right across the street. The staff at the front desk were excellent and friendly, as were the bartender, bellman, restaurant staff and security. The free breakfast was a nice plus.
We could not have stayed at a better place in Nola. In walking distance to the convention center
aquarium and mall. A short 6 dollar cab ride to bourbon st. and the french quarter.
Thank you again to all the staff.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old buiding on the upper floor facing the park
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernestsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved our stay at the Hampton Inn Convention center. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. Our room was in the warehouse building and gorgeous! It comfortably slept the 5 of us. We did chose to pay for valet parking; due to convenience. We used the fitness center which had elliptical equip, exercise balls, weights, treadmills, etc. We enjoyed the plentiful breakfast and belgian waffles; loved the afternoon cookies and the bar open from 5-10 was wonderful as well. Everyone was very accommodating, helpful, and greeted all of us with a smile. Our suite had two full sized beds, and a sofa sleeper. The kitchenette with full sized fridge and microwave was a plus! We also enjoyed the complimentary microwave popcorn. We were within a ten minute walk to Harrah's casino and many restaurants. We did order delicious pizza from Dominos-internet deal of 3 pizzas for 15.00. We also ate at the trolley stop cafe near the garden district(a short drive) which was delicious, diner style, open 24 hours and inexpensive. Thanks Hampton Inn for your hospitality!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the warehouse building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyeamdabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

On Sunday night we traveled back from a trip to Georgia towing a car on a trailer. It was close to midnight when we got there, and we were able to park the SUV with car in tow about half a block from the hotel. We were ready to leave by 8:00 the next morning, so we paid for no parking. The garage would have cost us $60. The room rate was under $100.00, and the service was just as good as the time before. The lobby is very attractive, and the breakfast is very good. The room was a little worn, but the beds were very comfortable. Christopher was on duty when we checked out, and he was so friendly. We will definitely stay there again on our way to Georgia to visit relatives. You can't beat the price or the service if you don't mind not being in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews