We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great convention hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the convention center. It is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly. There are no safes in the room, but the front desk staff was more than happy to store valuables in the manager's office (probably safer that way). Our room was in the newer section and faced the interstate, but there was very little noise. We did not use the air conditioner at night, but it might be considered noisy. The price was the lowest of any of the other convention hotels, and the location and comfort of the hotel make it a terrific value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    524
    125
    49
    25
See reviews for
476
389
65
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I like the Hampton Inn & Suites brand because it's consistently clean, quiet, comfortable and business-friendly. The New Orleans Convention Center property is really nice and the pool area is beautiful. There is a large lobby with comfortable chairs and a larger than average breakfast area so it doesn't get too crowded. This is close enough to the French Quarter and business district without being too noisy or rowdy. They also host wedding receptions and other events. Overall, it's a definite 5-star property in my book, without paying the 5-star price. I really like their 100% satisfaction guarantee and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

this hotel is a great choice for a convention - being right across the street allowed us to run back during breaks, get up at the last minute, still eat breakfast and make it over there! Also brought our box lunches back one day and ate in the lovely courtyard. The lobby area is unique, breakfast was good, and plenty of tables. Wireless was good.

I'd definitely recommend the historic warehouse building - stayed there a few years ago and was impressed. We were in the other tower this time and it was pretty disappointing - small room, one small window and the room was overall just quite "worn" - some peeling wallpaper here and there, scuffs on all the walls and corners.

But the location and amenities for the price can't be beat! We walked to the French Quarter and it was no problem. The Sun Ray Grill nearby was also great -good food, and we actually ate there twice one day.

Room Tip: get a room in the historic warehouse building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel was nice, the service was above average, the breakfast was good, the location was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54321Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just spent three nights here. If the logos were absent, you wouldn't know it was a Hampton Inn. This chain normally has clean, comfortable, functional, but simple properties. This particular property is much more substantial in its services and decor.

This renovated warehouse offers an interesting change from cookie-cutter hotels. They did a great job modernizing it without destroying its original look. The large, high ceilinged lobby is a nice place to sit and read or meet friends. Also, there wasn't obnoxiously loud music blasting, making it peaceful and relaxing.

Pros: Friendly staff. Spacious and clean room, with high ceilings. Our requested rollaway waiting for us in the room. A huge breakfast area with many tables (often a problem at other hotels). A better-than-average breakfast buffet that was constantly refreshed. An on-site bar. Plentiful cabs (we didn't have a car). Nice neighborhood; despite its neat but somewhat gritty appearance, there are lots of little nooks and crannies to explore. A shower with ample water pressure and hot water, which can be problematic at older hotels in New Orleans. Upon check-in, we had to initial on the contract that we would comply with their no-smoking rules, which I appreciated, being allergic to smoke.

Cons: Very few...I was surprised that since the hotel had a nice lounge, and offered in-house catering for events, they would have food service available for guests but they didn't. There were bar-and-grill places nearby for a simple meal, but were really smoky. We had a partial kitchen, (no stove or kitchen sink, but a counter, microwave, fridge and basic eating utensils), which was handy, but a serrated knife would be helpful. We had bought fruit and cheeses and found it hard to assemble a platter using what was basically a butter knife. Lastly, either there were guests who disregarded the smoking rules, or the ventilation system had issues, but several times the smell of stale smoke was in the room. If it was a guest belligerence problem, I guess the hotel can't do much about that.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shortysnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage,IN
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

First of all, you must request the old building...very cool and unique. I would not have been as happy with the regular building at Final Four Weekend prices ($329 for standard-4 night min---ouch!) Our room was spotless...grounds clean...no strange smells! Bed was awesome--14 foot high ceilings and old warehouse windows were just cool. I was scared reading reviews about NOLA hotels, but we were thrilled with Hamptonn. Just a half mile to HArrah's, and 1.2 mile walk to beginning of Bourbon Street. So, close enough to all the fun, but away from the craziness when it was time to sleep. Free breakfast was nice. Parking is $30...wish I would have just parked at garage 1 block away for $12 a day. I would like to visit NOLA again when not so crowded, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request old building...and look online for floor layouts...rooms ending in 01 & 02 are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosierref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed one night and were very pleased with the hotel. Our double queen bedroom was large, nicely decorated, and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the bath was large.

One problem we encountered was trying to unload our car with three buses on the street in front of us. It appeared that they had unloaded the luggage, but they continued to sit in front of the hotel. I don't know how much blame the hotel deserves, but there was poor planning on the part of someone.

The young lady at the desk told us we could park on the street because meters are not checked between 6:00 pm and 8:00 am. (She also gave us a room far away from the young people who were checking in.) While we drove around the block waiting for the buses to move, we saw lots of metered parking in well lighted areas. We finally were able to park directly in front of the hotel in a parallel space. My husband went out the next morning and fed the meter until we checked out, and it was significently less than the thirty dollar valet parking fee.

It was very crowded at breakfast, and the attendants did a fabulous job of replenishing items on the breakfast bar. The food was very good with lots of variety. If it hadn't been raining, it would have been pleasant to sit in the pretty courtyard near the pool to enjoy our meal.

The business center was well equipped, and there was also a seperate area dedicated to printing boarding passes.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again. The rate we paid was very inexpensive for the quality we received. It isn't near the French Quarter, but if you have a car, this hotel is an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing