We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hampton inn I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicest Hampton inn I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This place had a lot of character, since it was a converted warehouse. Great price, great rooms, overall a good place. The crowd got a little loud, but I guess that's what you should expect for a Friday night in new Orleans. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    513
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
469
384
62
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Liked the look of this hotel--not your typical Hampton. Room had peculiar smell. Developed intense cough while staying there 2 nights, which disappeared the day after my stay. When I got home, my clothes held that odor. I suspect the room was full of mold, which may be a common problem in New Orleans. Regardless, I wonder how long it had been since the AC filter had been cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osprey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraBartlett, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites, New Orleans Convention Center Hotel and the inconvenience you encountered. I would like to get in touch with you and discuss your concerns with your stay. Please contact me at 504-566-9990 or email at mwakefield@highpointe.com .

Thanks and I look forward to talking to you soon.

Michael Wakefield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from Sept 16-18(checkout on 18th). We liked the hotel and location and the staff were awesome(and friendly!!!!). They went out of their way to make sure we received what we needed.

My one complaint(and the reason I didn't give an excellent) was that there was an outdoor concert going on across the park from the hotel that was VERY loud. It actually went on from 5:45pm-3am with an intermission from 8-11pm. The vibrations from the bass could be felt the entire time the concert was going on. After going talk to the front desk around 2am, they informed my husband what was going on and said there was nothing they could do about it. If we were to stay here again, I'd ask for a room on the back side of the hotel(not facing the park).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel(not facing the park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtrip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The rooms were great, the staff was helpful, breakfast was a good, warm, continental, & the location was walking distance to the Riverwalk. Things to be aware of: 1. Because this hotel is in an old warehouse, it is very noisey. You hear every door open and close, people in the halls.... 2. You CAN walk to the French Quaters, but it is a pretty good hike! Look into public transportation to save some $$ to get around and see the sights. *Taking a taxi to and from the airport is cheaper for 2 people than taking the shuttle!!! That was a suprise to me!*

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tecumseh oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We drove to New Orleans the last weekend in August to go out on a cruise. We reservered our room over the internet, selecting the "PARK, STAY AND GO PACKAGE". It included valet parking, which we thought was a great deal. To get to the French Quarter and Boubon St. is about a 15 to 20 minute walk. Our room was clean and comfortable and nicely appointed. We gave the hotel an excellent rating because we thought that from the room to the provided breakfast , and to the staff that we interacted with that it was all a notch above the standard Hampton Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed there over Labor Day Weekend. Had a great going thru shops in French Qtr around Mardi Gras

We especially enjoyed the tour to Mardi Gras World. The many parade floats are made

here. Tour last 1 1/2 hr but you can wonder back thru the Warehouyse to have longer

looks Anyone who has been to New Orleans would really like the place.

The Hotel is really nice, First Rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I travel all over the world and I have to tell you that the Hampton Inn at the Convention Center in New Orleans is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been in. I was in room 214 which had spacious ceilings and looks like this hotel was built out of a old warehouse. The place is a delightful place to stay.. A short cab ride to the French Quarter

Room Tip: Awesome Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing