We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Value, Perfect Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #26 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Value, Perfect Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Hotel Storyville was like a home away from home for New Year's. A college buddy and I took a road trip to NOLA for New Year's and the location of H.S. could not have been better. Right on the edge of the French Quarter everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Our booking was sort-of last minute so we just had to book a single bed suite, however the next day Barbara was let us move to a bigger suite that an earlier guest checked-out of. Barbara's hospitality during our stay was amazing, from giving us advice on places to eat, to giving us a late check-out on our last day. Our trip would not have been the same if it weren't for the hospitality of Hotel Storyville. I could not recommend Hotel Storyville more, I am already planning a trip back this summer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    39
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
90
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently had a wonderful vacation in New Orleans, owing in great part to the elegance and comfort of the Hotel Storyville. The room was spotless, comfortable and a great place to ride out the rarest of weather in New Orleans, an ice storm. The kitchen was user friendly and we were very cozy during this weather event. The innkeeper was friendly, accommodating and was available, as little or as much as was needed. We've been to New Orleans many times and have stayed at many hotels. However, we have now found our forever New Orleans home. Can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A nice break from larger hotels, Storyville is located at the "quiet end" of the French Quarter. Walking distance to jazz clubs and restaurants but far enough from Bourbon St. for some peace and quiet. My suite was clean and comfortable and even had a full sized fridge. Overall good value, clean and convenient. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daver504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was amazing the moment we walked Into the room. Great view of the court yard.
Very close to everything we needed and wanted. The staff were very attentive to our needs, it was a perfect stay. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harahan, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's unlike any hotel I have ever been to. It's more like home. The rooms are clean comfortable spacious with a full kitchen. A large balcony overlooking tree lined Esplanade Ave. is also a treat. The large courtyard in the back is an oasis in the midst of historic New Orleans. With it's large garden and covered gazebos it's the perfect setting for any type of event or a casual drink with friends or other guests. Would I visit again...I didn't even want to leave.

Room Tip: I liked the room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We did a great little stay-cation here and don’t think you could find a more perfect place. It’s relaxed. It’s charming. It’s unique. It’s comfortable. It has a fantastic location. The entire hotel has a beachy/nautical theme. Our room had a sailing ship motif that brought to mind New Orleans’s status as one of America’s great port cities. All the rooms are equipped with full kitchens, which allow for some of the comforts of home while on the road. What better way to celebrate the morning than by making a pot of coffee and taking in the beauty of Esplanade Avenue from your balcony? You could feel like you live in New Orleans here even if you don’t. I've paid at least three times as much for a four star hotel room in this city only to wind up in a postage stamp sized box with no character. Our room at Storyville was spacious and bright. There is a large backyard/garden area which we unfortunately weren't able to take advantage of because of the wintery weather. It was a five minute walk (at most) to the French Quarter and Marigny.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Storyville has one of the best courtyards I've seen around New Orleans. The room decorations are right on point. And it is in the perfect location, close enough to the fun of the French quarter but not right in the middle. It's great for a romantic getaway...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxcire03xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#58 of 140 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#14 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#7 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Property: Hotel Storyville
Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1947
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing