We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Hotel Storyville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #27 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Are you looking for a fun night on Bourbon or the more "locals" frequented Frenchman St? Maybe you'd like to stroll through downtown, or the shops on Canal? How about the French Market? You're only a short walk away from Hotel Storyville.

Nestled in the historic French Quarter, Hotel Storyville offers all the comforts of home and makes traveling feel like anything but... Upon my arrival Barbara the Hotel manager, greeted me with a warm smile and gave me a tour of the facility that included a spacious and inviting back yard complete with a patio perfect for lounging. As we made our way upstairs, I was shown the balcony that would prove to be the perfect place to sip my morning cup of "Joe" and people watch.

We opened the door to room which to my delight had been upgraded, free of charge. The room was clean, furnished well, and reminded me of my apartment in the Caribbean with its bright, warm, colors and ceiling fans. The room just begged for anyone walking in to "stay a while." Shortly after, Barbara threw some local knowledge my way and suggested places I might want to give a look during my stay. I would later meet the housekeeper (I regret missing her name) who was equally as friendly and welcoming.

If you're ever in town, Hotel Storyville is your home away from home. Don't forget to take advantage of the unique culinary experience while you're there . We're talking beignets, po boys, gumbo, and oysters like you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere. Come to Hotel Storyville and "stay a while."

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    42
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
98
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Situated on historic Esplanade Ave. between the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhood, Hotel Storyville delivers a clean, we'll appointed room in a great location, for an affordable price. Innkeeper Barbara Ann Locklear serves as a wonderful hostess and concierge, offering directions and advice on where to find the best food, music, art and entertainment. My wife and I visited for our 20th wedding anniversary and we could not have been more pleased.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pkelliott67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I traveled to New Orleans in late October 2013 for a business meeting. Went a day early to goof off prior to the meeting. I stumbled upon Hotel Storyville as I was trying to find a room for a 1 night stay on a Saturday night. I didn't realize until late in my planning that almost the entire city was booked up for a trio of professional conventions. Good thing I found this place.

First, I can't say enough good things about the owner, Barbara. From my initial inquiry until my checkout, she was pretty much always available to help. When I checked in she answered questions, made suggestions and had discount coupons just for hotel guests. Super nice lady and a great resource for NOLA visitors.

The hotel itself has been nicely restored. Very lovely NOLA architecture. Really nice, landscaped backyard and sitting area, too. I stayed in the studio on the first floor. Great space for a solo traveler. Room was plenty big, plus it has a coffee pot, refrigerator, and toaster oven.

I have never stayed in the Esplanade / Treme neighborhood before. If you want to have a real NOLA experience, this is definitely a place for you to stay. Obviously, Treme is where jazz was pretty much created. You are also within walk/bike distance of Frenchmen Street and the Faubourg Marigny. Both Frenchmen and the Marigny have great restaurants, bars, and music venues. These are places where locals hang out. Much preferable to Bourbon Street and other tourist dominated spots. You can also head over to Armstrong Park and Congo Square.

Word of advice: rent a bike. I rented from Crescent City Bike Tours on Rampart Street. This is a great way to get around, especially in the neighborhoods to check out music and bars.

Anyway, Hotel Storyville is a really nice place for you to lay your head while visiting one of my all-time favorite cities. Give Barbara a call. She will set you up for a great visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends recently. The hotel is gorgeous and huge, and it was a perfect stay. Barbara was sooo accommodating to our needs! She went out and got us essentials (beer) and cooked a shrimp boil for us all 1 night. It's close to Bourbon St., and every suite of 2 bedrooms has its own living room, kitchen, and bathroom. The backyard and tiki bar are awesome-- I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I don't like giving up this little secret. It may hinder the chances for me getting back there.BY FAR the best guest house hotel experience you'll have in New Orleans. That's all you get out of me and if it's booked next time I want to visit. I may be knocking on your door to sleep on the floor.LOL. Charles Tucker tuckertransmissions.com Madisonville, Louisiana.

Room Tip: Stay out of mine.I like'em all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckertransmissions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently organized a bachelor party for 13 people and didn't want to do the traditional splitting-hotel-rooms situation. I found Hotel Storyville through some fortunate googling, and Barbara the innkeeper was so, so sweet and accommodating in helping to plan our trip. The house and backyard are absolutely beautiful and unique. Each room has it's own feel and the backyard is spacious and well suited for outdoor hanging out. We stayed for two days and honestly it didn't feel like enough time. Barbara organized a shrimp boil for my group as well which was perfect. I was a bit concerned beforehand about how far the walk would be to the bars on Bourbon Street, but the walk was far closer than I expected and the experience and space was definitely worth the short walk. Overall, I would highly recommend to people looking for a location for a group event and also for individuals or couples looking for a more local experience in New Orleans. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for a bachelor party this past weekend and it was great. Barbara is super accommodating and even cooked dinner for us one night (shrimp boil complete with beers, corn, sausage and more).

Would definitely recommend for a group!

Only drawback was lack of a real common room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Rathbone Mansions
#50 of 138 in New Orleans
356 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
656 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
292 reviews
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#21 of 138 in New Orleans
499 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Property: Hotel Storyville
Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing