We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Ranked #144 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Perfect hotel for the New Orleans experience. Yes (as other reviews have stated) - it's "old" - it's supposed to be. We had a street level suite with original pocket doors to close off the bedroom. Little kitchen and bathroom built into the back - but perfectly fine for our needs. The bedroom and living room were beautiful. Staff was great and unobtrusive. Leo was very helpful and usually nearby if we needed advice on anything. Great location - close enough to be near the action but just enough outside to be quiet. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Probably same room if we can get it. Loved sitting on the porch drinking coffee or champagne and watching all the people go by.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KentCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

The location was nice, interesting to be in the french quarter and was pretty calm for it's location. The price feels too high for what you actually get. The room had beautiful furniture but the bathroom was tiny and felt old and the bed wasn't very comfortable. The porch was nice to sit out on at night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasafrass7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

location is just fine - close just next to Bourbon street and almost in the very center of French quarter.
the hotel itself is extremely basic. the staff, whom u'll see only once - at the time of check-in (because they sit at Royal, 903 - the next building) - is quite friendly, but you should order taxi yourself (they'll write the phone number in a shirt memo, though - thanx at least for this).
the aircon outside the room is really noisy, so if you decide to stay here - ask for a room where you will not hear it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
905RoyalHotel, Manager at Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2011

905 Royal is a small hotel we try to give our guest help if they need staffis always there if your checking out very early in the morning we then give U the telephone # of a taxi . as of noise of a air unit outside i have no control over that. there is no noise in room no one asked to be moved to a different room .if there is a room avaliable we would do so .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here the week after Mardi Gras....

We were greeted at the gate by the friendly watchman/doorman, Mac. What a guy! He helped us in with our suitcases and was so friendly.

I lived in a Queen Anne Victorian in college and this place completely reminded me of it. Huge ceilings with an antique chandelier hanging over the very king-size bed.

The room was decorated nicely with antique furniture and included a spacious kitchenette with fridge, oven and coffeemaker.

The best part had to be the big front porch where you can sit and watch the revelers and tourists go by. You're a block away from Bourbon St and the noise. At night, you feel like you might just live there as Royal gets quiet and you can hear crickets chirping...

Fell in love with this place and it's now my go-to place to stay when I go to New Orleans....

Just great!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Jane and Joyce make every effort to see to your personal needs and comfort. The rooms take one back in time to the original styles and designs of the 1800's. A real connection to local residents, the 905 is a regular tour stop and the oldest hotel in the French Quarter.

My wife and I prefer to stay in the first floor rooms where there is a sitting room with TV, bedroom, bath and kitchen. The kitchen has a stove and refrigerator, sink, coffeemaker, etc. Plus there is a streetside private entrance (very good security system) and a covered balcony area with seating so you can watch passersby.

Quaint, cozy, and most of all: ORIGINAL. No plastic remods. Feels like my great Grandmother's place.

While there are more luxurious places to stay, if you want the real flavor and eclectic style of N.O. you have to stay here. It just FEELS like New Orleans.

The location is one block towards the river from Bourbon Street and smack dab in the middle of everything. Royal street is one of the nicest residential streets in the Quarter and you can walk back to your room and get some peace and quiet whenever you like. The French Quarter is always busy so we bring a small fan to turn on to make some white noise so we can sleep more soundly. Works great. You might not need it at the 905 but it's a necessity it if you stay on or near Bourbon Street, which is very loud all the time.

Parking tips: You can park right in front to unload and it's only a couple blocks to the secure riverfront parking area. Plus there are several public parking lots nearby. My strategy is to get there early, unload, and drive around for a while near the hotel. It's not too hard to find a parking place but be careful about where it is. Stay away from corner spots since streets are narrow and delivery trucks don't have the room to turn and they will hit your car. Take note of the signs. Tuesday and Thursday they clean the streets and you can't park in many areas when they do or they will tow your car. Once you find a spot don't move it since everything is walking distance. If you find a good spot and get a ticket it will cost $20, which is cheaper than the daily rate at most parking garages. Even if you don't get a ticket make sure to go online to N.O. traffic ticket site to check your license number for violations. Some local kids think it's funny to take your ticket and throw it away since the fine doubles every month it's not paid. You don't know you got a ticket but your fine is getting bigger.

We've been coming to the French Quarter for years and have stayed at many of the local hotels. The 905 Royal is our favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDSledgeLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I booked this hotel because of the incredible location in the French Quarter and because the rest of the city was sold out. At the time of my booking this hotel was #143 out of 151 hotels in New Orleans, so I was expecting a complete dive. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. We arrived in the evening and a gentleman met us as we got out of the taxi with our keys. The room we were in had a door facing Royal street on the 1st floor. Yes, the furniture was old. Yes, the decorations were old. Yes, it smelled a little musty. But it was a great experience. There aren't big frills like Room Service and Mini Bars, but there is a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, adequate shower and bathroom facility, beautiful antique decorations, and most of all a true New Orleans experience. The one staff member that met us was available when we needed him for an iron, directions, and general friendly conversation. I agree that if you're looking for somewhere fancy look elsewhere, but if you're interested in a room with charachter that is literally one block from Bourbon street and walking distance of everything you need, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csatlanta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Nine O Five Royal in October 2010 in a 2 bedroom unit that had a balcony that looked out on Royal Street. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to everything. Having a balcony to sit on for morning coffee or evening cocktails, it was a great way to view life in the quarter. Fun also to watch all the carriage drivers go by and spin their tales of the quarter, was great listening to the different stories they told of days gone by. The unit had 2 bedrooms, the front bedroom had a king bed and a small tv, the other bedroom had a queen bed, there was one bathroom off the second bedroom, small shower, but clean and serviceable, then a small kitchen with sink, fridge and microwave. It was not posh by any means, but clean and the maid service daily was prompt and accomodating and if you like old homes and the quirky features have, then this is the place for you. Great value for the accomodations and the location cannot be beat. There is a wonderful restaurant across the street from the hotel called Cafe Amelie, with one of the most beautiful courtyards in the quarter, and wonderful food as well. Definitely worth checking out.
To sum it up, we enjoyed our stay at the Nine O Five and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank island22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
619 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#51 of 166 in New Orleans
654 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#112 of 166 in New Orleans
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#84 of 166 in New Orleans
667 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,758 reviews
French Quarter
Soniat House
Soniat House
#99 of 166 in New Orleans
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel

Address: 905 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $239 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
905 Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing