We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #48 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“watch out”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

They quote one price and then jack it up on arrival and will only take cash for the upcharges.The staff then goes through your belongings and steals anything of value left in the room. We had some extra cash hidden inside an inside pocket of a travel case which was inside a suitcase under the bed. Guess what all of the money was gone.All I can say is please watch out.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rsorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RathboneGM, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Sorry about your experience from previous management, we have recently changed the entire management team as of October 22, 2010 and have hired all new staff. If you would like to give us another try, I will certainly do something to make up for the past experience. Take care and have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    108
    33
    24
    43
See reviews for
44
165
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

It was my very first time in New Orleans. We rented the Mardi Gras Suite and it was a wonderful experience. I loved the patio on the second floor. I watched Esplanade move along. Will come back. definitely will. I love New Orleans!

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jddotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I've travelled a lot, and I'm used to budget accomodations, but this place was unbelievably disgusting. There are so many observations I could make about the unsanitary and unsafe environs, but let me share just one special gem: When I told the front desk clerk that the blanket in my room was crusted with the jiz of a prior guest, he sarcastically asked me if I was looking for a job because they would love to hire me as a housekeeper. I think that one anecdote pretty much summarizes the level of cleanliness AND customer service. 'nuf said.

Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank grannygoesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RathboneGM, General Manager at Rathbone Mansions, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Sorry about your past experience, we have recently gone through an entire clean up of both properties and management has changed and all new employees were hired after October 22, 2010. I assure you that if you give us another try, I will do something for you to make up for your past bad experience with Rathbone Mansions. Take care and have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. Look forward to visiting again soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Me and about ten of my colleagues stayed here for business and we absolutely love the place.. Very well decorated, and the rooms are very large, not what you would expect from the out side..

When you walk in it takes on a whole new feeling.. You almost feel as if you are back in time, not to mention a visit from a friendly ghost encounter, very cool....

The pool was very nice and refreshing.. Location, location, location, close to all that you would want to see.. and yet far enough away not to be bothered from all the busy street noise.. I can’t wait to bring my husband back for a romantic weekend..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery AL
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have been traveling to New Orleans since I was a kids and I have stayed at a lot of different places in the quarter and around New Orleans and the Rathbone is my favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCBTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I have been to NOLA several times this year and each time stayed at either this Rathbone or Rathbone II. The current owner has lovingly put her time and effort in reviving the Rathbone's historic beauty. She has done a wonderful job and both places are VERY inviting and comfortable. I am looking forward to returning & staying here again!

It personally pains me to see the few negative reviews from the past, but I'd like to assure you that this is NOT the same place that I've been to recently, it is definitely a VAST difference from the image portrayed in the earlier year reviews.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPR-Gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#69 of 138 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#60 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#58 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Property: Rathbone Mansions
Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing