We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly folk”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #49 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly folk”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Mz.Pat is a hoot. Breakfast was delish.I was here on a girl's trip to Essence Festival .It felt like I was visiting family.not very fancy but our room was clean and well attended to.It was kinda nice being in a quaint French quarter neighborhood. It was a short taxi ride to Bourbon st. Better with a car.I would definately stay here again but on a romantic vacay.

Room Tip: Outside rooms face the courtyard but the stairs are a beast with luggage and cocktails
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onejazzysis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    108
    33
    24
    43
See reviews for
44
166
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's been years since I've stayed at a B&B and my husband never has stayed at one before so we weren't quite sure what to expect. We both appreciate history and love New Orleans so when we decided to make the drive and spend a weekend in the city, I threw out the idea of staying at a local B&B.

Initial thoughts: Driving in, if you're coming from East I-10, you'll most likely get off at St. Bernard Ave. If it's your first time visiting, please note that New Orleans is full of history and most areas are very established and older. Visually, you may feel uneasy but it's really not an area to be concerned about. Once you get to Esplanade, the area is actually quite beautiful and peaceful (depending on the time of year ;) ). It's a divided street that is very Garden District esque and only a few blocks from the tourist filled French Quarter attractions. My husband and I walked everywhere and left our car parked in an approved spot on Treme St next door to the main mansion. As with any city, please pay attention to the street signs identifying where parking is permitted. As a general rule of thumb, don't block driveways (even if it's the driveway in front of one of the Rathbone Mansions and definitely do not park on another residence's paveway - you will get towed). The only Rathbone parking to my knowledge is the parking immediately behind the main mansion near the pool and outside deck.

The Room: We stayed across the street in the salmon building on the third floor. You are given the code to the front door so you may come and go at all hours as you please. Once we got up the stairs, we were winded and hot (there is not a hallway window AC unit on the third floor). As soon as we got in the room, it felt cool and comfortable. We started to make ourselves at home - such a difference from the 'posh' hotels that we normally frequent. Each room is different and has character. Our room had a microwave, AC unit, Kitchen sink, mini refrigerator, 1 Queen size bed, a bathroom, two couches, TV, and storage dressers. We had several storage spaces that looked like something from 'the people under the stairs' but it made the room that much more interesting and intrigued the history buffs inside of us both.

The Staff: Absolutely incredible. Again, this was my husband's first time staying at a B&B and my first time since childhood. There were cookies and candy everywhere and breakfast was delicious! We had Dirty Rice and Eggs our first morning and French Toast the second morning. Don't be shy, walk right up to the kitchen doors and the lovely Mrs. Tanya will greet you with a friendly smile and whip you up something yummy! Don't forget to clean up after yourselves though. You don't have to wash your own dishes but be polite and put your dirty dishes in the specified areas near the kitchen. The seating is limited and you're sharing a table with strangers but, keep in mind, you do have some things in common. Strike up a conversation and get comfortable. If all else fails, ask your new neighbors about themselves and where they're from, what their plans are for the day, etc. My husband was a little uncomfortable with this on day one but really warmed up to the idea by our second day.

Overall, this LGBT friendly B&B was exactly what we pictured and more. It was quaint, peaceful and was a great change of pace from the Waldorf Astoria's, Hyatt's, W's, Hilton's, etc. The amazing staff is what ultimately made the difference for us. They helped make it a genuine 'Nawlins' experience. We can't wait to come again!

*Disclaimer - Depending on the time of the year, I can't promise it will be quiet. We will be coming back for Decadence weekend and, one year, we'll make it back for MG at Rathbone. Something tells me the Rathbone knows how to celebrate. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My 3 year old and I stayed at the Rathbone. Our room was on the side of the Main House... at first I was a little leery of the area because of the I10 and Claiborne exchange. No fears though after arriving at the Rathbone. It was a great location: sort of central to most things, the Quarter, the Metairie cemetary (angel sclptures), the Garden District, the Algiers ferry... we had a great time!

Breakfast was great, always something offered besides cereal, yogurt and toast. The hostesses were wonderful ladies: cheerful and full of answers to any question about the area.

Although wi-fi was available, I had continual trouble connecting and staying connected...

The only drawback was a lack of close proximity restaurants for evening meals with a toddler. [Do NOT order from Dominos... my 2 entrees were overdone and dry, but that has nothing to do with the Rathbone.]

We enjoyed our stay and the people we met.

Room Tip: With kids, staying at the main house is a plus: it is close to breakfast and the pool is located jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kekedee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed in Rm 302 7/11,12.
This is a really nice B&B in New Orleans "proper". The street they are on, Esplanade, is lined with beautiful buildings.The buildings are very old. 1846, 1850....but they are maintained nicely. The architecture found on both the interior and exterior are such a great pleasure to view. You feel like your staying in a museum. The room we had was a King Suite, provided as a free upgrade due to availability. During our stay, there was some alterations being done to the exterior of the building, but this did not cause any issues for us. The workmen were quiet and respectful of the guests. There is a beautiful courtyard with a pool and hot tub to the rear of 1244, but we did not use them during our visit - maybe next time!
The walk is a few blocks to the French Quarter. About 5 blocks to Bourbon Street.
There is a significant walk to the section of Bourbon street most people want to visit, where most of the activities occur. This may be very important to some folks. It was inconsequential for us, we enjoyed the walk early in the day and purchased all day transit passes for $3 per day, so we had little to no difficulty travelling the city. if you go to Bourbon street and party really well (hehe), you may want to jump on a rickshaw bicycle that are all over the place and available for a modest fee from that area back to the mansion. Also kind of cool to ride in one of those things! We kinda liked the idea that we went "home" at the end of the day...it was quiet and felt quite safe at the mansion.
The king size bed we had in 302 was so comfy I want one of my own! The room could have easily accommodated an additional bed. The space was incredible! There was a writing desk and a kitchen as well as a pantry and plenty of storage for clothing in the beautiful antique dresser. There was at least a 40 inch flat screen tv in the room with HD programming available.
The ac was individual to the room and worked really well, along with the overhead ceiling fan it was quite cool even on the warmest of the two days when it hit 92.
The food served at breakfast was individual custom omelets or a " breakfast bake" that was a casserole made with eggs, sausage, etc and was quite tasty. The breakfast seemed to be complete with fresh OJ, community coffee, various breads and cold cereals. We weren't very hungry, but we still ate WAY too much :-). It was all so good and fresh - and hey - we were on vacation!!!
We are looking forward to returning to Rathbone for the comfy accommodations and excellent service. We felt like we were visiting family. You will too! Don't hesitiate..Set a date - go to the Rathbone when visiting NOLA. Enjoy!

hey - grab the cookies on the way out the door for a snack later while your out! They are yummy!

Room Tip: Call and talk to the proprietor directly as far ahead of your date as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanRoxygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My Husband and I loved our stay. We had a great room that was a quiet retreat after our busy days. Only minutes from Frenchman, The French Market and The Quarter it was really convenient to everything. Tonya the amazing breakfast lady serves up great coffee, a delicious breakfast treat, and advice for your day. Also they leave baskets of cookies around the property. It is located on a tree lined street that makes walking around easy and scenic. Next time we will bring our family. Just know that if you arrive after the office closes everything will be waiting for you in the box.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

i just left new orleans this was my first trip to new orleans. Pat and Tonya was wonderful we felt right at home. we had no problem with our room it was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. we enjoy the hottub and pool area, great location unless u don"t like to walk, everything is walking distance. Pat was very helpful. I will see u next year Pat and Tonya thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delois1cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

First, let me say that the general manager, Pat, was very accommodating to my wife and I. Knowing that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, she upgraded us to the Louis Armstrong Suite, which was a nicely appointed 2 bedroom suite on the second floor, looking out over Esplanade Ave. with a very lovely balcony and a terrific hammock. We both enjoyed the breakfasts, including a variety of breads, teas, cold cereals, oatmeal, fresh strawberries, yogurts, with a special entree cooked every morning by Tanya. I loved the salt water pool and heated Jacuzzi (I wish it was a little hotter in the mornings) after my runs around the neighborhood. My wife & I liked the neighborhood with all the other old & elegant homes lining the street and was an easy walk for us to the French Quarter. Always awaiting you were special treats in the main house front parlor after you returned from a day of exploring. We had a fabulous experience and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
230 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#88 of 138 in New Orleans
277 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#39 of 138 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#55 of 138 in New Orleans
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Property: Rathbone Mansions
Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing