We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #44 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the historic Rathbone Mansion with my husband and my mother recently and had a very pleasant experience. We had a room with two queen beds, tv, microwave, and refrigerator, The room was plenty large enough for us and was decorated to period of style, If you are looking to stay somewhere high end, this will not be the place for you. However, if you are looking to stay at a nice, yet modest and affordable place this will be for you, There is a nice patio outside with a salt water pool and hot tub, The owner Pat was very friendly and accommodating and she even hosted a crawfish boil on a saturday evening. She invited everyone that was staying there and did not charge anyone for what seemed like and endless amount of food. That was a very nice thing for her to do. We also enjoyed wonderful home cooked breakfasts each morning prepared by Tonya. Tonya was also very helpful with giving advise on restaurants and attractions. She was especially helpful with giving the best walking directions to our destinations. We felt very welcomed and at home there the entire time as all of the employees were very friendly and helpful. This place is within a short walking distance to all of the action in the French Quarter. The day that we were leaving, we were expected to check out by noon, but since we had a late afternoon flight, Pat let us check out later and did not charge us extra. I chose to stay at the Rathbone Mansion because it was more affordable than most of the other places in the French Quarter and fit my budget. I can overlook the little expected imperfections because the people there made my experience great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    107
    33
    24
    43
See reviews for
44
164
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently stayed at The Rathbone Mansions in April 2014. We stayed at the mansion across from the main building. We arrived later in the evening and the directions on checking in after hours was very simple. We were fortunate to run into other staff employees to assist us. In minutes we were on our way checking out the neighborhood. The room assigned to us (305) was wonderful. It was not the Marriot or the Hilton, It was a room from as expected from a 150 year old mansion!! We felt like we had taken a step back in time. It was clean and very well kept. The morning breakfast served in the main house dining room is something we are still talking about... Pat the operating manager served up some of the finest Grits we have ever had! On the following mornings Tanya prepared from scratch some very fine southern breakfasts and dessert. The whole experience was like being invited to breakfast at a neighbors home sitting with a group of strangers from all over the world. Dining and swapping stories of our journeys amongst the other guests was a pleasant way of starting the day.
Some of the finer points...great hot tub and pool. Bus stops right at the front door. Fantastic tree lined street. Safe neighborhood...even in the wee hours! Just minutes to the French Quarter. Oh yes! It is haunted!!!
We will be back for our future stays. Thanks Pat and Staff for letting us into your home!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the main house if possible! We were very pleased being across the street. I suppose there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radgumb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We came there during opening times of the reception according to the homepage. Unfortunately no one was there but a (very kind) letter with all the descriptions and the key. And a note that we got an update to a suite. We were happy about that!

But then we arrived at our "suite". It was just a shabby stable next to the beautiful houses. Kind of a trailer you know from the movies. Ugly. But we had a reservation for one the beautiful buildings... But for sure, no one picked up the phone and after we left, because it was really to ugly to stay (also very dirty and smelly), we got no refund at all, not even a little sorry.

So watch out that you're no getting an "upgrade" because it isn't one...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I loved the charming wrought iron gate I went through to get to the lovely courtyard where my room was. The room was quite big, with 2 couches, a mini fridge, and a nice big king sized bed. My first day I was served bananas foster french toast, and from then on I was sold! Bonus, the bus stopped right out front, so I could be on Chartres and Royal Street in less than 10 minutes.

Great place to stay, I hope to go back as soon as possible! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traci o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

wow location great salt water pool good hot tub great rooms good has microwave fridge tv nice shower but bfast and owner so nice can walk everywhere will return praline cranberry pancakes eggs to your liking French toast that melts in your mouth helpful staff

Room Tip: ask for a room we had room 1 on the side to go to the pool very quiet nice side porch for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband, two adult children, and I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite in April 2014 for 4 nights. The suite was roomy and well appointed. The furnishings were relatively new, comfortable, and appropriate to the period mansion. We had a lovely, large balcony to enjoy, fully furnished with outdoor furniture and hammock. It was located close to the French Quarter (we walked there easily, a few blocks. There was a mom-and-pop grocery store two blocks away.

The innkeeper was warm and friendly. Though we were happy with the Continental breakfast advertised, the innkeeper also prepared a hot breakfast every day from scratch. It was delicious, and the perfect way to start to day of sightseeing.

With all those positives said, there are a few caveats. They advertise free parking; in reality, it's three spots down a narrow driveway. They were taken! We ended up parking on the street. While the suite was spacious, the bathroom was very small. There was a tub, but only a midget could soak in it - it was like 2-3 feet square. While the table tops and cabinet tops were clean, the floors had dirt and dust gathered in the corners. Our room was only made up once in the 4-night stay.

We arrived at 6 pm. I didn't think it was terribly late, but the office was closed and we were left to our own devices to find the room and figure out the parking situation. There were directions left in a lockbox on the side of the original mansion; but I was hoping for a warmer welcome.

The mansion was a great base for our trip, just wish it had been a little cleaner.

Room Tip: Get the 2-bedroom suite so you also have the incredible balcony!! Enjoy Pat's delicious breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the Rathbone in April 2014 for 8 nights..it is in a beautiful part of town (streets are tree lined),the city bus is literally out the front door and about 10 steps to the stop, French Quarter is well within walking distance; we called a taxi from the French Quarter after a particularly long day and it cost $6 (a bargain) and our tired feet really appreciated it.
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this isnt it but if you want to experience staying in a historical place, where you are served a delicious breakfast, they print your boarding passes, help you with attractions, have fun and lively conversations with Pat and Tanya and feel totally at home this is the place.
The pool and hot tub were wonderful also.
Our room and bathroom were clean (fresh towels daily and the old ones taken away) and they did not change the sheets unless you request it; there is a note to that effect when you arrive; all in all we will stay there again...thanks Pat and Tanya for all the hospitality; Jeanne & Gene

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#14 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Property: Rathbone Mansions
Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Rathbone Bed & Breakfast Inn is steps away from the French Quarter, where the cuisine, sights and sounds are part of New Orleans' unique culture. Our Guest House is a lovingly restored antebellum mansion, offering warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. Located on beautiful Esplanade Avenue, amongst the ancient Spanish oak trees and 19th-century Creole mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing